Book Notification

Blackbird Sisters Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Blackbird Sisters Mysteries Books

How to Murder a Millionaire (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Girls Don't Wear Diamonds (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Some Like It Lethal (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cross Your Heart and Hope to Die (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mick Abruzzo's Story (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Have Your Cake and Kill Him Too (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Crazy Little Thing Called Death (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Melts in Your Mouth (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Slay Belles (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Way to Kill a Lady (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Little Black Book of Murder (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mick Abruzzo: The Second Wire (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Little Night Murder (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lady Be Good (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bye, Bye Blackbird (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mick Abruzzo's Story is a prequel short story in the series.

Blackbird Sisters Mysteries is a book series written by Nancy Martin who is the winner of the Romantic Times Magazine “2009 Lifetime Achievement Award” for mystery writing. The series consists of around ten book titles which have been published from the year 2002 up to date with another upcoming novel set to be released earlier this month.

Blackbird Sisters Mysteries is an interesting story about the Blackbird sisters who were set to inherit money, assets, and other properties from their parents only to be disappointed in the end. The parents who are former tax-evading millionaires manage to flee with the Blackbird sisters’ trust funds and end up leaving a great amount of debt in the form of tax bills for them to pay.

Having never worked for even a single day in their lives, the heiresses are forced to get jobs for the very first time so as to survive in the hard economic times. They later team up to solve various mysterious murders and crimes that come their way. Nora, who later becomes an assistant to a newspaper columnist, ends up encountering dead bodies during her daily work routine.

A description section on some of the book characters found in Blackbird Sisters Mysteries

Nora Blackbird

Nora Blackbird is portrayed as the main protagonist throughout the book series. Being a former socialite, the down-and-almost-out former debutante looks for a job and becomes a Society page columnist. Nora is the sister to Emma and Libby, who together make the Blackbird Sisters family. Her investigative abilities are evident throughout the story as she is determined to solve the murders occurring in the upper class.

Nora is also depicted as manipulative and unforgiving when she constantly torments and try to blackmail Michael Abruzzo due to his tainted past. The widowed lady is also the one who is left to bear the $2 million tax bill left by their parents.

Emma Blackbird

Emma, who also happens to be a member of the Blackbird Sisters, is a sexy, fiercely independent and hard-edged lady who actively seeks to get what she wants. She is also the one who inherits the priceless art collection that is left by her deceitful parents.

Michael Abruzzo

Michael, who is the son of a rumored New Jersey crime boss, is a macho, hunky guy who comes from the wrong side of the law. In fact, this might be the only crime he is guilty of. Although portrayed as a bad boy at the start of the Blackbird Mystery Series he is later shown to be quite caring, supportive among other positive traits.

Libby Blackbird

Libby Blackbird is a flaky down to earth mother of four kids. She remarries after her first wife dies due to the blackbird curse that haunts her family. She is a nudist yoga enthusiast who also happens to be a key member of Nora’s crime fighting and murder solving team.

Novels in the Blackbird Sisters Mysteries

“How to Murder a Millionaire”

Before getting to discuss the relevant details about the real story behind the novel, it is important to note that How to Murder a Millionaire has managed to win the RT award for the Best First Mystery making it a must read book title in the series. How to Murder a Millionaire is a story about Emma Blackbird who also happens to be the main protagonist and how she gets her first job.

After being left with the family farm and over 2 million dollars in tax bill debt, Nora decides to look for a job in a local newspaper firm going by the name “The Intelligencer” which is owned by an old family friend by the name Rory Pendergast who is not only an established millionaire but also a respected art collector.

Things get a little disturbing on her first day at work when she is covering a party in Rory’s home only to find that her host had been murdered in cold blood. Detective Bloom, who considers her connection to the upper class as an inevitable asset in solving the case unofficially enlists her to help in solving the case.

Michael Abruzzo who is rumored to be the son of a New Jersey crime boss gets smitten by Emma Blackbird and decides to do everything in his power to earn her love and trust. For instance, he manages to get the police involved when he realizes that Nora is in danger, although this puts him in the scrutiny of the police. Despite being born in a crime family, Michael claims to be making his own way in the legitimate business world. How to Murder a Millionaire is a carefully crafted story filled with unexpected twists and turns geared towards introducing the main characters while solving the murder at hand.

“A Crazy Little Thing Called Death”

A Crazy Little Thing Called Death kick-starts on a high note as the reader is introduced to potential wedding plans. Michael the reformed crime boss proposes to Nora Blackbird who agrees to marry him despite his tainted past. Nora seeks on a spiritual like journey to help him survive the Blackbird curse that has been responsible for taking away all the men who have had the honor of marrying each of the Blackbird sisters.

This issue is not to last as some heartbreaking news eclipses her superstitions. Nora and Libby have the chance to attend a beach memorial for Penny Devine, who is an ex-Hollywood starlet and daughter of the Philadelphia Devines. During the event, they stumble upon a decapitated arm that is believed to be Penny’s. What is even worse is the fact that her family is eager to declare her dead, although there is no sufficient evidence that the arm is hers or that she has really died.

Nora becomes the main suspect when it is revealed that she has inherited Penny’s extensive couture wardrobe, making it fundamental for her to find out the truth whether Penny Devine is really dead or if she just pulled a disappearance stunt as she always does in order to clear her name. Her findings later come to amaze her and all the parties involved.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Blackbird Sisters Mysteries

Leave a Reply