Book Notification

Blessings Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Blessings Books

Bring on the Blessings (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Second Helping (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Something Old, Something New (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Wish and a Prayer (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crystal Clear (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heart of Gold (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Your Love (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stepping to a New Day (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chasing Down a Dream (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Time Sweeter (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
On the Corner of Hope and Main (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Christmas to Remember (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Beverly Jenkins, an award-winning author, specializes in 19th century African American life and to this day, has published over thirty novels. She was named one of the Top 50 Favorite African-American writers of the 20th century and has claimed many awards.

Ms Jenkins is known to have the ability to send her readers through various events and eras with just the power of her words. She feels devoted and opinionated and has immense respect for her fans, giving her an even larger chunk of motivation each time she begins writing a new novel.

Jenkins says she didn’t begin to write romance with the goal of it revolutionizing the industry. She feels her fans may see the romance as the very heart of her novels, but for her, it’s all about tthis history itself.

“I want all my readers to learn something, even if they don’t realize until after they’ve closed the book! Little by little, I’m trying to forgot the pieces back in the history quilt.”

She is a USA TODAY bestselling author and one of America’s premier historical romance fictional writers. Bring on the Blessings, was her first faith-based, women’s fiction novel that was published in 2009. Bring on the Blessings is the first book in her Blessings series.

Bring on the Blessings – Blessing Series Novel Book 1

Bring on the Blessings was Jenkins very first Blessing series novel. This novel speaks of Bernadine Brown, who isn’t sure what blessings could come her way. She discovers her husband in a compromising situation with this secretary. There is also a large sum of money, $275 million that Bernadine received in their divorce settlement.

The novel goes on to tell the story of Bernadine finding a historically black town in Kansas that is in financial stress, making her want to reach out and help. After purchasing the town, she helps with constriction development on Henry Adams, which was built following the Civil War. She also develops a plan to help underprivileged children from around America. The arrival of these children in her town, brings through a varied yet touching array of challenges and rewards for Bernadine as a person.

With clear reference to history, African-American life as many of us do not see it, and the pure properties of humanity such as faith, family and love, this novel speaks volumes but touches your heart at the very same time.

Bernadine as a character is extremely strong-willed, motivated and most definitely independent. She does not look for a masculine pillar of support, instead she strongly believes in getting herself out of the mess with little help. Her state of wealth and background is seen as just advantages to her situation, however when push comes to shove she is jumping on problem solving in her own way.

The narrative flows superbly and the dialogue is believable, crisp and to the point. The transition of writing style when looking at historic concepts versus 19th century concepts are beautifully translated in this novel. Character development makes you feel almost like you can touch them, see them and hear distinctive voices when reading.

Look forward to being rather alarmed and pleasantly surprised as you continue reading, with the pace of the book changing as per the narrative. The change in pace gives you feelings of hope and ambition – an absolute pleasure of a read. The story is unique, enjoyable and fresh. While reading Bring on the Blessings, you also become more familiar with Kansas than you ever thought, become a part of family dynamics, historical struggle and a generally heartwarming story.

A Wish and a Prayer – Blessing Series Book 4

A Wish and A Prayer is the fourth book in Jenkins’ Blessing series. As all the previous Blessing series novels, it picks up where the last one ended off. Bernadine continues to harvest the town of Henry Adams with her large bank balance, heart full of ambition and her line of staff.

Character development is almost immediate as Jack waits for Rocky to give him a chance while his son, Eli waits for almost the same from Crystal. Crystal seems to be rather intrigued by bag boy Diego July and of course, this stirry story is rather a page-turner. Preston develops quite a large part of the novel as he grows his relationship with his foster parents, Colonel and Sheila Payne, but also has the opportunity to find his biological family.

Jenkins throws you right into the storyline and while you are so immersed in all the characters of Henry Adams, you don’t even realize just how much you learn from the novel. The history in this novel will make you want to go back and re-read Shakespeare just to understand distinctive elements in the story. History lessons are so well intertwined in Jenkins’ novel that you learn about Henry Adams with such realism that you will want to go there one day.

Her extraordinary characters are quirky and quickly developing, making you feel like you are part of this community in Kansas. The writing style also makes you feel like you are watching a continuous series, that just doesn’t seem like it will ever end. For this exact reason, we can only wonder just how many more Blessing series novels there will be. But for now, the key is to embrace what there already is and see if the world is disrupted, set right or just lurking with more to come in Henry Adams.

An absolute masterpiece to the Blessing series, A Wish and a Prayer was nominated for a 2013 NAACP Image Award.

Beverly Jenkins – The Blessing Series Extraordinaire Novelist

Looking back on the Blessing series, it is clear that Jenkins has accomplished so much in the resent two decades alone. Her look on history, African-American life, community development and just the pure pleasure of family and friends touches most hearts. We can just imagine what Jenkins plans on releasing in the years to come. As a historic and romance novel reader, we can only wait for Beverly Jenkins continue weaving her quilt and giving us absolutely stunning reading pleasure.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Blessings

3 Responses to “Blessings”

  1. Mary R Lewis: 2 years ago

    I thought the latest blessing book was due December ,20022, Will there be another blessing book? I love that series. Beverly you are an awesome writer. Keep them coming.

  2. Barbara Carroll: 3 years ago

    I have read all of Beverly Jenkins blessing novels. I would really like to read “A Christmas to Remember” My eye sight is failing (that come with age) and I am in my eighties. I hope I can get a copy soon. I have read some of her other books, truly enjoyed them but the Blessings Novels are my favorite.

  3. Brenda Gale Matthews: 3 years ago

    I have read all the books except the last two.I enjoyed reading them. I found myself relating to life’s experiences and events that were taking place. I laughed,cried,rejoiced and praised God along with the residents of Henry Adams.


Leave a Reply