Book Notification

Bloodhound Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jo Beth Sidden "Bloodhound" Mystery Books

Death in Bloodhound Red (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House on Bloodhound Lane (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Brace of Bloodhounds (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blind Bloodhound Justice (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ten Little Bloodhounds (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Bloodhound To Die For (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

Bloodhound series by Virginia Lanier

Author Virginia Lanier penned the “Bloodhound” series of mystery novels. The series began publication in the year 1995, when “Death in Bloodhound Red” was released. Virginia was 65 years old when she published this novel, which was also her first. The series concluded in the year 2003, when “A Bloodhound to Die For”, the sixth book of the series, was released. This was the same year Viriginia died at the age of 72 years old.

Jo Beth Sidden, the star of the series, is a bloodhound trainer that has a talent for harrowing search-and-rescue missions. She has a bad habit for back talking deputies that refuse orders that come from a woman. In her time, Jo has seen her share of trouble: an abusive ex with a horrible temper, moonshiners that poke their guns at her head, and corrupt cops.

“Death in Bloodhound Red” was nominated for the Macavity, the Agatha, and the Anthony for Best First Mystery Novel in the year 1995.

“Death in Bloodhound Red” is the first novel in the “Bloodhound” series, which was released in the year 1995. Jo Beth has been suspected of murder and finds she is treading a quagmire that is as treacherous and thick as the Okefenokee Swamp. If she is unable to prove her innocence, she could lose the thriving business that she loves, not to mention the independence and freedom she has fought her entire life for.

Virginia penned a unique tale here about a strong heroine, in Jo Beth Sidden. She is classy and brassy and sassy; she is a great lead character. It is great to see Jo Beth stand up to her good ol boy of an ex-husband in the book. It is a fast paced, fascinating tale and provides a look into a world that anyone who has never lived in the rural southeast are able to imagine.

“The House on Bloodhound Lane” is the second novel in the “Bloodhound” series, which was released in the year 1996. Jo Beth is under a lot of stress which comes from her trying to quit smoking, the corrupt cops that she works with, and the paroled ex-husband that has attacked her twice already. None of this is going to stop her and her blind bloodhound from working the most important rescue attempt of her career.

Each of these tales is a layered, rich, complex tale that involves crime. The mystery in this stands out, and propels the book that much more. Readers cannot get enough of Jo Beth in the book, who is such a strong character, yet is still real and with flaws.

“A Brace of Bloodhounds” is the third novel in the “Bloodhound” series, which was released in the year 1997. Jo Beth, a hard-boiled Georgia peach, has got a nose for sniffing out trouble that rivals even her beloved bloodhounds’ olfactory prowess. Her current caper has her trying to dig up dirt on what could be an insidious crime ring’s marijuana field. Trouble is, one of her buddies has unwittingly become a part of their shady dealings and Jo Beth has to help get her out of it.

If that wasn’t enough for her to deal with, Bubba, Jo Beth’s violent ex, is bugging her again, and Jo Beth knows that if he is able to catch her, there will be hell to pay.

Wading through all of this deceit and danger, Jo Beth knows that she is better off with drooling, droopy-eared hounds at her feet than with a gun in her hand. Man’s best friend is working for a woman at the moment, and with the bloodhounds out on the hunt, it is a frantic chase at a fast pace down a murky trail of clues.

Another enjoyable and fast paced read from this series. It is great to read books about a character such as Jo Beth Sidden. She is filled with flaws, some of which, she is unaware of. These are some fun characters, and it keeps many readers coming back for more of these books.

“Blind Bloodhound Justice” is the fourth novel in the “Bloodhound” series, which was released in the year 1998. Jo Beth is sniffing out trouble with the help of her bloodhounds. In this adventure, Jo Beth is asked to look into a nanny and child being killed decades ago. The man that was convicted of the crimes, who strongly proclaimed he was innocent, has just gotten out of prison. The local sheriff is concerned about the effect his return is going to have on the community.

It is up to Jo Beth and her just as feisty bloodhounds to seek out the truth.

This book is yet another fun read in a superb series that ended before it had a chance to fully get going. Virginia takes you to the setting of the series, describing the swamp well. She even does a great job of describing the Bloodhounds. It is fascinating to read about the training of the Bloodhounds.

“Ten Little Bloodhounds” is the fifth novel in the “Bloodhound” series, which was released in the year 1998. There is a ton of excitement at Jo Beth’s kennel. There is a full litter of ten baby bloodhounds due any day now. Pressed for time, Jo Beth still agrees to help out a friend, finding a wealthy, reclusive matriarch’s lost cat.

Quickly afterward, her client winds up murdered. Now, Jo Beth is hunting down a killer. There is a bunch of suspects to pick from, as well. All of whom are potential heirs to the matriarch’s money. The faster Jo Beth is able to solve the case, the faster she will be able to get back to her dogs and start getting her life back in order. She is in for a surprise, as well as a fight that she is never going to forget.

The book provides a beautiful portrayal of the human bloodhound relationship, and moved some readers to their very core. Jo Beth and this world is one readers care quite a bit about and it is a nice place to visit for a bit.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Bloodhound

Leave a Reply