Book Notification

Bloody Jack Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bloody Jack Books

Bloody Jack (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Curse of the Blue Tattoo (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Under the Jolly Roger (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Belly of the Bloodhound (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mississippi Jack (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Bonny Light Horseman (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rapture of the Deep (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wake of the Lorelei Lee (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mark of the Golden Dragon (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Viva Jacquelina! (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Boston Jacky (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wild Rover No More (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Written by American author L.A. Meyer, the ‘Bloody Jack’ series is a popular line of book set within the young adult historical genre. Based around an orphan named Mary Faber, they chronicle her progress from 19th century era London as she joins a street gang. After the leader of the gang is murdered, she takes his clothes posing as a young boy, before embarking on a sea voyage aboard the ‘HMS Dolphin’.

She soon gets nicknamed ‘Bloody Jack’ after killing a plunderer who boards their ship and attempts to kill one of her crew-mates. Following her life on the sea and beyond, the series charts the life and times of this young heroine as she progresses into adulthood. Proving popular with his audiences, Meyer has produced eleven books so far with more expected to follow soon, as the series will continue into the future with rumor of a film in the pipeline too.

Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary ‘Jacky’ Faber, Ship’s Boy

Originally published on June the 6th, 2012, this novel helped introduce the character of Mary ‘Jacky’ Faber onto the literary scene. With L.A. Meyer wanting to reach a young adult audience, he presents this in an easily accessible yet relatable manner. Starting with Faber’s land based adventures, she soon moves onto her sea based voyage.

Starting out on the mean streets of London, Jacky Faber is a cocksure yet charismatic young girl who, after being orphaned, is forced to fend for herself. Having been orphaned through the plague, Jacky is no stranger to tragedy with a keen eye for adventure and an even keener eye for riches. After the leader of her street gang is killed she takes his clothes and, cutting her hair, assumes a new identity as a boy. Hiding her ability to read she signs up to board the HMS Dolphin, as she takes to the seas for adventure. With her ship pursuing deadly pirates, she quickly becomes adept in the ways of the sea and fighting. Skilled as a sailor, she manages to hide the fact that she’s actually a girl, as she gains the respect and admiration of her fellow crew-mates. The only thing is, if they found out, then she’d be done for and her life on the ocean would come to an end.

Featuring tales of derring do and excitement at sea, the story runs in the vein of many a traditional sea-faring yarn, but what it does it does extremely well. Telling the story of how the plucky heroine comes to be known as ‘Bloody Jack’, it shows her running to the rescue of her crew-mate killing the pirate threatening his life in the process. Giving her this title, she’s then respected as she is feared, despite her secret that remains hidden from the others. Using humor that can sometimes go slightly darker in tone, it still manages to remain accessible to a wide-ranging younger audience. This is what has kept it so popular for such a long time, with many young readers finding much to relate to in this strong and positive female role model. Amidst the swashbuckling and all the action is a well meaning story of strong morals, loyalty and companionship. Will Jacky ever be able to reveal her secret and be accepted for who she really is on her own terms? Can she stay on the open seas living the life of adventure that she’s always dreamed of up until now? What will become of her and can she survive the challenges that await her as the ship’s boy?

Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Misadventures of Jacky Faber, Midshipman and Fine Lady

Carrying on directly from the last in the series, this novel from Meyer continues the adventures of Jacky and her life on the seas and beyond. First published in 2004 on the 1st of January, it was to become part of what was to be a well established series by now. Further building his beloved heroine, it was to chart the continuing progress of her life this time beyond the sea.

After her departure from the HMS Dolphin, Jacky Faber is heading for her most challenging ordeal to date; finishing school. Heading for the Lawson Peabody School for Young Girls within the heart of Boston, she is to use the money from the last pirate haul to help finance her education. An elite institution of the highest order, she’s to remain there as she trains herself in the fine art of becoming a lady. Problems inevitably arise though when she finds that her coarse crass streetwise manner hasn’t prepared her for the rigmarole of upper class society. Not able to manage it, she’s constantly at odds with the school, continually fighting against it all unable to make the most difficult transformation for street urchin pirate fighter to lady. Needing to learn delicate arts such as embroidery, manners and the French language, she finds it a lot harder than she ever imagined.

Dealing with this installment using good humor and a light-hearted tone, Meyer takes the character of Jacky forwards as he establishes another dimension for her. Facing this particular challenge shows her humanity, as she’s forced to confront certain aspects of herself that she hasn’t done perviously. Through it she grows as a person into a more fully rounded character that audiences have come to love and relate to. Not forgetting to have fun though is what really brings Jacky to life as a person, as she never forgets who she is or where she came from, despite wherever she’s heading to. Will she able to become refined in her quest to become a lady making her way in the world? Can she abstain from mischeif and adventure, as the restrictions of upper class society become to stifling for her? What will become of Jacky as she goes from midshipman to fine lady?

The Bloody Jack Series

With a potential film in the works it’s easy to see why this series is so beloved by many. Although Meyer has stated he’s going to be finishing shortly, there’s been plenty of life in this series so far. Having created a well established and fully rounded character, this series has provided a strong role-model for generations to come.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Bloody Jack

One Response to “Bloody Jack”

  1. Cheryl Delisle: 8 years ago

    As an adult I love this series and was sadden to hear of Mr. Meyer’s passing.


Leave a Reply