Book Notification

Bob Drury Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Fatso: Football When Men Were Really Men (With: Arthur J. Donovan) (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Incident at Howard Beach: The Case for Murder (With: Charles J. Hynes) (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mafia Cop (With: Lou Eppolito) (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rescue Season: The Heroic Story of Parajumpers on the Edge of the World (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Halsey's Typhoon (With: Tom Clavin) (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Stand of Fox Company (With: Tom Clavin) (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Men Out (With: Tom Clavin) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Signature Wound: Hidden Bombs, Heroic Soldiers, and the Shocking, Secret Story of the Afghanistan War (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Heart of Everything That Is (With: Tom Clavin) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
War, Sports...and Butterflies: The Greatest Hits of Bob Drury (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dog's Gift: The Inspirational Story of Veterans and Children Healed by Man's Best Friend (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lucky 666 (With: Tom Clavin) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Valley Forge (With: Tom Clavin) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood and Treasure (With: Tom Clavin) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Hill (With: Tom Clavin) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Throne of Grace (With: Tom Clavin) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Bob Drury
Bob Drury is an American journalist and writer.

Bob attended high school in Newark, New Jersey. He went to Fairfield University in Connecticut where he majored in English. After school, he moved to Cape Cod where he held an assortment of jobs, which included working on a painting crew and on this commercial fishing pier.

Bob started his writing career after he heard about this publication opportunity as he played for the Cape Cod Basketball League. For his very first story that was published in the Cape Cod Standard Times, he earned just $20. He kept writing for this local paper, where he covered town council meetings.

He moved to Harrison, New Jersey later, where he continued to work for various magazines and papers. He interviewed Richard Belzer, an actor and comedian. Around this same time, he also worked as a film can carrier.

Then he wrote for the sports column at New York Post. First, he wrote about covering the sports games that nobody else wanted, however this eventually led to bigger sporting events with the New York Knicks, New York Jets, and New York Giants. He was eventually made a columnist at the Post.

Mike McAllory, who was Bob’s close friend and a former Post contributor, urged Bob to leave from the Post, like he did. Bob would eventually take the man’s advice and joined Sports Magazine and worked on some freelance crime stories for Daily News. Right around the late 80s, he got hired by Newsday, which is the same paper that McAllory wrote for.

Bob has been the author, co-author, or the editor on nonfiction books. A few of his subjects include the Cosa Nostra and the National Football League.

Bob has written for numerous publications including: Men’s Journal, The New York Times, GQ, and Vanity Fair. He’s a foreign correspondent and contributing editor for Men’s Health.

Over the course of his writing career, Bob has reported from places like Belfast, Iraq, Darfur, Liberia, Haiti, Sarajevo, and Afghanistan.

“The Rescue Saga”, one of Bob’s books, was adapted into a documentary by the History Channel.

“The Last Stand of Fox Company: A True Story of US Marines in Combat” is a non-fiction book that was released in 2008. The Korean Peninsula, in November 1950. After General MacArthur ignores Mao’s warnings and pushes his UN forces deep into North Korea, his 10,000 First Division Marines find they are surrounded and hopelessly outnumbered by 100,000 Chinese soldiers close to the Chosin Reservoir. Their only shot for survival is to fight their way south through the Toktong Pass, this narrow gorge which is going to need to be held open at all costs.

The mission is handed off to Captain William Barber and the 234 Marines from Fox Company, this brave yet undermanned unit from the First Marines. Barber and his men climb the seven miles of frozen terrain to this rocky promontory that overlooks the pass, where they’ll endure four days and five nights of almost continuous Chinese attempts to re-take Fox Hill.

Amid all of this relentless violence, three-quarters of Fox’s Marines get killed, captured, or wounded. Right as it starts to look like the outfit is going to get overrun, Lt. Colonel Raymond Davis, this fearless Marine officer that’s fighting south from Chosin, volunteers to lead this daring mission which cuts a hole in the Chinese lines and it also relieves the men of Fox.

“The Last Stand” is a gripping and fast paced account of sacrifice and heroism in the face of impossible odds.

This book won the Marine Corps Heritage Foundation’s 2010 General Wallace M. Greene Jr Award for nonfiction.

“The Heart of Everything That Is: The Untold Story of Red Cloud, An American Legend” is a non-fiction book that was released in 2013. Red Cloud (the great Sioux warrior-statesman) was the only American Indian in all of history to defeat the US Army in a war, which forced the government to sue for peace on his terms.

At the peak of Red Cloud’s powers the Sioux were able to claim total control of one-fifth of the contiguous United States and the loyalty from thousands of fierce fighters.

However the fog of history has left Red Cloud oddly obscured. Now, thanks to the rediscovery of one lost autobiography, and some painstaking research by a couple award winning writers, the tale of our nation’s most successful and powerful Indian warrior can be told finally.

“Blood and Treasure: Daniel Boone and the Fight For America’s First Frontier” is a non-fiction book that was released in 2021. The explosive true saga of the legendary figure that was Daniel Boone and the bloody struggle for America’s frontier.

It’s the mid-eighteenth century, and in the 13 colonies founded by Great Britain, anxious colonists are desperate to conquer and settle North America’s “First Frontier” beyond just the Appalachian Mountains commence this series of bloody battles. These violent conflicts are being waged against the Native American tribes whose lands they covet, the French, and lastly against the mother country itself in an American Revolution which is destined to reverberate all around the world.

This is the setting of “Blood and Treasure”, and the guide to this epic narrative is Daniel Boone, America’s first and arguably the greatest pathfinder. Not the coonskin cap wearing caricature of pop culture but the flesh-and-blood frontiersman and Revolutionary War hero whose explorations into the forested frontier beyond the great mountains would become the stuff of legend. Now, thanks to painstaking research by its two award winning authors (Bob Drury and Tom Clavin), the tale of the United States’ brutal birth is told through the eyes of both the larger-than-life and ordinary women and men, red and white that witnessed it all.

This fiery and fast paced narrative, fueled by contemporary journals and diaries, newspaper reports, eyewitness accounts, is this stirring chronicle of the conflict over America’s “First Frontier”, which places the reader right at the heart of such a remarkable epoch and its gripping stories of sacrifice and courage.

“Blood and Treasure” was an instant New York Times Bestseller and was a National Bestseller.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Bob Drury

Leave a Reply