Book Notification

Bob Skinner Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bob Skinner Books

Skinner's Rules (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Skinner's Festival (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Skinner's Trail (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Skinner's Round (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Skinner's Ordeal (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Skinner's Mission (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Skinner's Ghosts (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murmuring the Judges (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gallery Whispers (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thursday Legends (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Autographs in the Rain (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Head Shot (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fallen Gods (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stay of Execution (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lethal Intent (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead and Buried (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death's Door (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aftershock (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fatal Last Words (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Rush of Blood (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grievous Angel (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Funeral Note (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pray for the Dying (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hour of Darkness (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Hint of Death (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Resort (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Investigations (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Game Over (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
State Secrets (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Skinner's Elves (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Brush with Death (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Case (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bad Fire (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Roots of Evil (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Open Season (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cage (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Scottish author Quentin Jardine has been creating his well received ‘Bob Skinner’ books for a number of years now to much acclaim. A well established author, his writing is known for its populist and ever accessible appeal. This is especially the case with his Bob Skinner novels which focus themselves on the eponymous detective chief constable based in Scotland. Working Edinburgh, the senior policeman is a strong protagonist with a sturdy set of roots based within his Scottish heritage. With over twenty-four books in the series so far, it’s been a long-running franchise that’s gained a huge following over the years. This has allowed the detective himself to develop over the duration of these many novels.

The books themselves follow the conventions set within the police procedural and crime genres, yet they update it to focus around Scotland. They’re also made relevant to the many contemporary issues facing the police today, something which the readers have come to appreciate. With more novels set to come from Jardine in this series, it looks like he doesn’t have plans to stop anytime soon. With them look set to continue into the foreseeable future, it looks like there’s a lot of life yet for this particular detective.

Skinner’s Trail

Originally published by Jardine in 1994, this marks the third book in the Bob Skinner series, as it features the detective really coming into his own here. Already with two cases behind him, this shows him already well established with a well thought out arc presented behind him. As a way of further enhancing his world too, it really works in developing the character of the now familiar protagonist. Not only that, but it also allows readers easy access for those looking to break into the series for the first time, or anybody that simply wants a casual read of a good solid mystery.

Set in nineties Scotland, it really is a book of its time, whilst still being accessible today just as it ever was. Oblivious to his home-life, Bob is a methodical detective that can instantly see what’s going on with any given case as he studies every single detail, but he can’t see what’s happening right under his nose. This causes him too have little personal life, thus allowing some fairly major twists occurring when he least expects it. Bob Skinner may be an extremely diligent and hard-working intelligent individual, but he’s not without his faults that could lead to his downfall. Following the birth of his son it’s a joyous occasion for Bob Skinner as he brings a new life into the world, but no sooner than he’s born there’s a murder in Edinburgh of the most gruesome kind that’s occurred in one of the more affluent suburbs. Found knifed within his luxury villa, the owner of a chain of laundrettes, pubs and saunas located throughout the entire city is discovered dead. There is some suspicion within the police force though that this could be a front for a major drug distribution network though. Moving between the north of Spain over to Scotland and back again, Skinner is sent on a trail as he uncovers the truth behind this mysterious death.

Will Skinner be able to solve the case before it’s too late, or will the killer be able to escape evading justice in the process? Can Skinner protect himself and will he have time to focus on his family now a new life has come into the world? What will become of Bob Skinner and what is truth behind this shadowy business as he soon embarks on Skinner’s trail?

Gallery Whispers

The ninth book in the by now much beloved and highly familiar Bob Skinner series, it was initially published in 1999 to a warm reception. With the character already firmly established by Jardine, this is well grounded as a story helmed by an author who is confident with his material. Providing another mystery, it works as a story for both fans of the series and newcomers alike.

Following on from the eighth novel this sees Bob Skinner this time tackling a terrorist threat in what is to be his ninth installment. Not only that, but there’s also a serial killer on the loose threatening the safety of many innocent lives as well. Heading for Edinburgh and the conference featuring the Heads of Government that’s expected to converge there, the terrorist has one thing on his mind; destruction. It’s now up to Skinner to get on the case and follow the trail, otherwise he could be faced with a major catastrophe of international proportions. Meanwhile there’s an apparent suicide, as a woman who was terminally ill is discovered dead, but it soon transpires that she may have been killed leaving mercy killer at large. This all builds leaving a case that takes some personal significance for the detective as he tries not to let his emotions cloud his judgement.

Will they be able to find the terrorist and neutralize the threat he poses not only to Edinburgh, but to the state of international security as well? Can Skinner overcome his own inner more personal turmoil and deal with the case in hand? What will become of them all as they listen to the secrets held within the gallery whispers?

The Bob Skinner Series

This is a series that’s been going on for some time now, with numerous novels to date as the character of Bob Skinner shows room for more novels yet to come. Originally appearing in 1993, Quentin hoped he’d have mass appeal beyond the borders of Scotland appealing to readers all across the UK. Not only has he achieved that, but he’s also managed to gain international recognition as well. Coming about due to Jardine believing he could do better than some of what came before in the crime genre, he set about creating a character that was to become a firm fixture on the literary scene. This is a trend that shows no signs of abating as he plans to continue the series for as long as possible with plenty more yet to come.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Bob Skinner

Leave a Reply