Book Notification

Body Farm Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Body Farm Books

Carved in Bone (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flesh and Bone (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil's Bones (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bones of Betrayal (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bone Thief (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bone Yard (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bones of Avignon / The Inquisitor's Key (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cut to the Bone (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Breaking Point (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Without Mercy (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Body Farm Short Stories/Novellas

Madonna and Corpse (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jordan's Stormy Banks (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

If you love to read novels, this will blow off your mind completely.The Body Farm (Series by Jefferson Bass) is one of the highest rated series of fictional novels. It covers the time duration from 2006 when the first novel of the series was written to 2013 when the latest one was written. For lovers of thrill, suspense and unpredictability, this will definitely enter their records of the best reads. This article reviews the novels in the series.

1. Body Farm Number 1: Carved in Bone

The story kicks off in Cooke County where a mummified body of a woman who had been dead for thirty years has just been found in a cave. In order to solve the mystery, a well known anthropologist – Dr. Bill Brockton, is called upon to help in conducting the autopsy. This sets the stage for revelation of secrets, conspiracies and historical feuds.

The setting of the novel is just perfect for thrill and constant anticipation. Cooke County happens to be a tightly closed society which is not so welcoming to outsiders. Dr. Brockton finds himself in an unfamiliar territory characterized by constant danger, hostility and enmity that has been ignited by his investigations.

2. Body Farm Number 2: Flesh and Bone

In this novel, Dr. Bill Brockton finds himself at the center of controversy just after discovering a piece of land known as The Body Farm where bodies are dumped and left to decay. The unfolding of events start with two investigations; one concerning the murder of a man whose body was found while tied on a tree and dressed in women attire and the other one concerning child pornography. Dr. Brockton is still engaged in trying to solve the mysterious murders using his experience and expertise in anthropology and with the help of Jess Carter when he is linked to the murders after his truck was taped entering the Body Farm. His life transforms from a hero to the perceived killer who almost everybody in the county wishes to see dead or rotting in prison.

3. Body Farm Number 3: The Devil’s Bones

Dr. Bill Brockton is preoccupied with trying to establish the effects of fire on cadavers and limbs in a bid to solve the mysterious death of a woman. In order to do this, he burns two cars at the hilltop of Knoxville. One of his partners in trying o solve the murders – Jess Carter, is murdered by her associate and lover; Garland Hamilton. Brockton is somehow associated to the murder and left to be the prime suspect when the real murderer escapes from custody. This series of events lead to legal, ethical and historical battles that put Brockton at the center. Immediately after it was established that Hamilton was the killer, his remains are discovered, thus presenting Brockton with another mysterious death.

4. Body Farm Number 4: Bones of Betrayal

The novel kicks off with the discovery of a man’s body in a pool in Oak Ridge, Tennessee. Brockton, being the anthropologic expert in the region is among the professional who are involved in trying to investigate the death. Revelations link the dead man to the Manhattan Project which was responsible for the creation of World War II atomic bombs over 6 decades prior. This revelation becomes the center of Brockton’s investigations as he (again) attempts to dig deep into history in order to get a clear understanding of the Manhattan Project.

5. Body Farm Number 5: The Bone Thief

Just like previous Body Farm novels, this one also starts with a dead body. Due to the need of confirming a paternity test, a body which had been buried some time ago has to be exhumed. Brockton plays an instrumental role in this process but what he discovers gives him shock waves.

The exhumed body is evidence of a black market which deals in human body parts. This discovery lands Brockton a contract with the FBI as one of the investigators into the black market. Caught in between heartless and ruthless grave robbers and his desire to offer the dead justice, Brockton has to risk it all in order to stay alive as one of his associates loses arms in the line of duty.

6. Body Farm Number 6: The Bone Yard

By the time of this sixth novel of the series, Dr. Brockton’s expertise and experience has earned him quite a reputation. This is why he is called upon to help in investigations into a case where human remains were found in Florida Boy’s Reform School – Sunshine State. In order to establish how the remains ended up in the yard, Brockton has to work in collaboration with Angie St. Claire who has had first hand experience with tragedy herself.

This novel is actually based on true events that happened in Florida and is therefore very interesting for lovers of history.

7. Body Farm Number 7: The Inquisitor’s Key

Dr. Brockton nurtures a protégé – Miranda Lovelady who does so well in her forensics and anthropologic spheres to the point that she is left to take the lead in very important tasks. One such task is conducting an excavation exercise beneath the Palace of the Popes in Avignon, France. In the process, she discovers a stone chest with inscriptions claiming that the bones held therein belong to Jesus Christ of Nazareth. Dr. Brockton joins her and sparks a series of revelations that ignite exchanges among scientists and Christian believers.

8. Body Farm Number 8: Cut to the Bone

This is the latest novel of the series. It revolves around Dr. Brockton’s ambition to revolutionize modern forensics amid heated political temperatures involving Arkansas Governor Bill Clinton and Tennessee Senator Albert Gore. With experience in mass murders and mysterious killings, Brockton finds other bodies in his present locality of Knoxville at the University of Tennessee which have some resemblance with some of the ones he had discovered in the past. They have been marked and buried with specific designs as if to send messages to some people. In order to establish this, he has to trace the patters of the murders and attempt to reveal the faces behind them.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Body Farm

Leave a Reply