Book Notification

Bonnets and Bugles Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bonnets & Bugles Books

Drummer Boy at Bull Run (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Yankee Belles in Dixie (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret of Richmond Manor (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Soldier Boy's Discovery (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blockade Runner (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gallant Boys of Gettysburg (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Battle of Lookout Mountain (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bring the Boys Home (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Encounter at Cold Harbor (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fire over Atlanta (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Gilbert Morris began publishing his “Bonnets and Bugles” series in the year 1995, when “Drummer Boy at Bull Run” was released. The first three books came out in this year. Four books alone were released during the year 1996 alone. The series ended in the year 1997 after the release of “Bring the Boys Home”, the tenth novel of the series. Another three books were released in this year.

The series is based around Christian faith. It is from the genres of young adult, historical, Christian fiction; it is meant for kids ages nine to fourteen years old.

The series is set during the American Civil War. Leah Carter (who is thirteen years old at the start of things) and Jeff Majors (who is fourteen years old at the start of the series) are the main characters in this series. They are friends that get separated when Jeff joins the Confederacy (as a drummer boy with the Confederate soldiers), while Leah helps her dad distribute Bibles to the soldiers of the Union.

Jeff and his clan fight with tragedy that comes from within and fight their own war of their faith. At the same time, Leah and her family find some comfort in the truths found in the Bible.

The series follows these two kids, their families and friends while they see hope and some of God’s grace during the four year long war.

“Drummer Boy at Bull Run” is the first novel in the “Bonnets and Bugles” series and was released in the year 1995. Jeff and Leah share a sad goodbye with each other when the Civil War separates these two friends. They vow to stay friends forever, despite the sides they are on in the War, and vow that they will see each other through each of the battles, on the field and off of it.

The story shows what life was like during this time and what it is like to serve in the Civil War. Fans of the novel found this to be an interesting Christian perspective provided from two young persons. It also showed the different choices the families and friends had to make during this time, and the author shows both sides of the war here. The novel has some vivid imagery and the events are portrayed in an interesting way.

“Yankee Belles in Dixie” is the second novel in the “Bonnets and Bugles” series and was released in the year 1995. Leah and her dad head off to Washington, D. C. to share with the soldiers the Gospel. Jeff joins them for a short time, traveling into Union land to search for his dad, that has been captured. Leah and Sarah (Leah’s sister) have to head down south to Richmond to take care of their ill uncle Silas. Leah also has to defend her sister against charges of treason.

These books are full of adventure and something that are worth reading. Whether you want to learn more about the Civil War, or you like the Christian element, these are some interesting reads. Fans of the novel find this to be an interesting story, and the longer the war goes on and the more one of Leah’s relationships split apart. The series is a unique read, and you do not need to be Christian to enjoy the books in the series. Readers enjoy reading these books, finding themselves wondering what they themselves would do if they were in these characters’ shoes.

“The Secret of Richmond Manor” is the third novel in the “Bonnets and Bugles” series and was released in the year 1995. The Civil War burns on, and Leah and Silas move into a house that some townspeople believe is haunted. What she finds is something much more scary, and something that strains her faith and makes her relationship with Jeff that much stronger.

These books never do disappoint readers, they keep on coming and they are always entertaining. Fans of the novel found this to be yet another stellar read from this series. This allows readers an insight into what it would have been like to live during these times. It also shows how the Civil War divided the country, not just on a large scale, but with different people’s relationships with other people.

“The Soldier Boy’s Discovery” is the fourth novel in the “Bonnets and Bugles” series and was released in the year 1996. Jeff sees one hardship after another during his service as a drummer boy. This is during his problems with faith, and his meeting some Christians in ways that he does not expect to. Leah gets some unexpected attention of her own in the form of a Union prisoner that is young and has escaped.

Some liked how the story never slows down, it always entertains. Fans of the novel like the way you get to see different points of view on how these people feel about the army. This is an absolutely lovable series that some readers cannot get enough of this cast of characters. Gilbert Morris does a great job keeping the historical details accurate the entire way through. Readers hope this series keeps on going, as readers have been hooked since the start and cannot tear themselves away to read much else.

“Blockade Runner” is the fifth novel in the “Bonnets and Bugles” series and was released in the year 1996. An escaped Yankee prisoner, a wealthy Southern boy, and Jeff (who is jealous) are all trying to get Leah’s undivided attention at the moment. A gorgeous spy for the rebels, a sea captain that runs blockades, and a gunboat that is in pursuit, not to mention Scripture coming down like a hammer hitting a nail. All of this adds up in the ongoing story of Leah and Jeff during their time in the Civil War.

Fans of the novel find these books to be a much more fun way to read about some of the things that the North and the South went through during the Civil War. They are full of some interesting characters to boot. While reading, some were always wondering if Jeff and Leah would be able to make up and stay friends before they get killed somehow, something that made it hard for them to put the book down until they had finished reading.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Bonnets and Bugles

Leave a Reply