Book Notification

Book of Deacon Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Book of Deacon Books

The Book of Deacon (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Great Convergence (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Battle of Verril (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rise of the Red Shadow (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book of Deacon Anthology (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The D'Karon Apprentice (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crescents (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Entwell Origins: Ayna (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stump and the Spire (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Adventures of Rustle and Eddy (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Halfax (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Coin of Kenvard (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book of Deacon Anthology Volume 2 (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Book of Deacon” series written by author Joseph Lallo is a trilogy of epic fantasy novels that is about a young woman who is named Myranda Celeste and her quest to see the war being fought on her planet end. At first, she is a only pacifist, but soon realizes that she has something that she has to fight for. Myranda finds that there may just be a way to end the whole war; something that she would like to see happen. She is an outcast, due to the fact that she does not fight for the Northern Alliance side. There are both novels and short stories to the “Book of Deacon” series. Joseph Lallo self-publishes the series himself, and edits most of the series himself too.

The series started and ended in the same year of 2012. The books in the series have seen release in other countries around the world.

Each book in this series is part of one big story that Joseph Lallo is telling here, making it vital for readers to read in the order that they were written. Each of the novels ends on a cliffhanger. Although, according to Lallo, “Jade” (which is a short story) should be read at the end of the trilogy.

“The Book of Deacon” is the first novel in the “Book of Deacon” series written by Joseph Lallo and was released in the year 2012. This is the story of Myranda Celeste, who is a young woman that has been orphaned by a very long war (one that has lasted about a hundred years now); it also sees her find some priceless cargo that a soldier has dropped. This happens when she is given bad directions to go somewhere and ends up in a wasteland that is frozen. She heads for some light that she sees, and gets the help that she needs. This find is going to change her life, and will see her go on a big adventure that involves soldiers, warriors, rebels, and wizards. Beasts, too, noble and monstrous alike. Each step is going to bring her closer to what her potential is, to the war, and the fate of her world.

Fans of the novel found that this story takes a little before it gets going, but when it does, it really moves and keeps you glued to your reading device the entire time. Fans found that the characters are well drawn, feeling that each one has shades of gray about them, and are not just pure good or pure evil. This is a great set up for the series, as it opens up questions about these people and the story that will be answered in later books. Some liked that the first book was free, as it gave just a taste for readers to know whether or not they would like to read more. They do. Some liked that the series does not have a lot of proofreading errors, like a lot of these self-published books do nowadays. This book has a great world that fans would like to explore more, and a interesting system of magic.

“The Great Convergence” is the second novel in the “Book of Deacon” series written by Joseph Lallo and was released in the year 2012. Myranda wants to see the war end, it is a war that plagues her land, so she wants this more than anything. Now she has some knowledge of magic to go along with this yearning for the war to end. She sets out to find and bring together the five that are fated to be heroes (they are known as the Chosen). Does she have the ability to survive the tests that are ahead? Even as each warrior brings them a step closer to the peace that she wants?

Fans of the novel felt that the pace does not let up, and you keep on flipping the pages, after being pulled into the story that is being told here. Some felt that the novel has a twisting and turning plot that keeps you wondering what will happen next to these characters. The perspective here shifts, and some feel that Joseph Lallo is good at doing it without making things confusing, and that is saying something because there are no real breaks or chapters. He also seems to be great with developing his characters; there is a lot of growing with these characters. This is a story that will have readers wanting to continue reading the book, until they have finished it, some even finished the entire thing in the span of an afternoon. Some found that this series is even kid friendly, something that is a plus for some parents.

“The Battle of Verril” is the third novel in the “Book of Deacon” series written by Joseph Lallo and was released in the year 2012. The Chosen and Myranda are about to face their greatest challenge yet. Time is growing short and the Generals have been getting desperate. Neither the heroes or the foes they fight will stop until things are finished; this includes through defeat and victory, betrayal and reunion. Is it going to be the end of times or just the end of the war?

Fans of the novel found that this is a great way to end a series. Fans are so invested, that they feel that they are right along side as the heroes fight to win the war. It is a book that is full of characters that are just like real people. There is something here in the book for everyone to enjoy. Some feel that this is a unique read, and not just another run of the mill fantasy story. Some were glad that the romance that was going on in the book was kept in the background, and did not become the focus. Some felt sad that the series was coming to an end, that this was a great novel, but there will be no more to look forward to. It is great to see the change in Myranda, as she goes from someone just trying to survive to being quite the force to reckon with.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Book of Deacon

Leave a Reply