Book Notification

Books of Mortals Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Books Of Mortals Books

By: Ted Dekker, Tosca Lee

Books of Mortals by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee
Authors Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee pen the “Books of Mortals” series of novels. The books are from the genres of inspirational and dystopian science fiction.

The series began publication in the year 2011, when “Forbidden” was released. The same day “Forbidden” was released, a prequel novella, called “The Keeper”, was released; it was released exclusively to e-book and is meant to be read first before “Forbidden. The third and final book in the series, called “Sovereign” was released in the year 2013.

While the books stand on their own, all are seamlessly woven together to make a single epic thriller.

The series is set in a world where everybody is dead, as the result of a brutal war that almost wiped out all of mankind.

“The Keeper” is the first novella in the “Books of Mortals” series and was released in the year 2011. Out in the wastelands of Russia, a guy named Talus has a secret so horrible it is going to cost him no less than his entire life to share it. It is so horrible that he has to share it so that he can find some folks that will help him protect the very knowledge that is going to one day save all of humanity.

He has chosen a pair of brothers, both of whom are hermit monks, to come along in his quest. Time is short, however, and no one man is ready to get the news that Talus has to share with both of them. That they both are already dead.

This short story does a great job of introducing the reader to this new world that Dekker and Lee have created. Fans enjoyed reading this and found that this did a great job of making them want to read the novels in the series.

“Forbidden” is the first novel in the “Books of Mortals” series and was released in the year 2011. Twelve hundred years back, during the Age of Chaos, life as people knew came close to being annihilated by zealotry, hatred, ambition, and war. From the aftermath of almost destruction came a message of hope through the establishment of a new order. It was one that elevated control and knowledge above the volatility of expression and emotion. No longer would the world suffer from the effects of greed, or malice, or passion. Strong and mitigating emotion just exists in historical memory.

Rom comes across an ancient journal through odd circumstance, and his world becomes shattered. He discovers that humanity long ago stopped feeling any emotion except for pain, and that it exists today in a living death. Taking a terrible risk, Rom exposes himself to a vial of blood that has been folded into the older leather inside the journal. His change is a fearful one and is fraught with mind-bending emotion. A formerly pious observer of the Order’s passionless statues, he gets filled with some uncontrollable impulses. Now he is filled with love. He is terrified, undone, and alone in this dead world.

Fans enjoyed all of the well drawn characters who are brought to life vividly, and they got hooked to the story being told rather quickly. The authors do a great job of bringing this fantasy world to life, and do a fantastic job of exploring their unique setting. The emotional experiences in the book are vibrant across the entire board.

“Mortal” is the second novel in the “Books of Mortals” series and was released in the year 2012. Centuries have gone by since civilization’s brush with apocalypse. Every single one of the world’s largest threats have been silenced. The is absolutely no war, no anger, and no hatred. There is just perfect peace, as well as fear. A horrible secret was guarded closely for centuries: each soul that walks the earth, though appearing to be totally normal, is really dead, long ago genetically stripped of their real humanity.

Nine years after Rom Sebastian, an unlikely hero, first found a secret and consumed the ancient blood potion to bring himself back to life. Surviving against some impossible odds, Rom has gathered up a secret faction of followers that have taken the blood, too. These are the first Mortals in a world that is dead.

The Order has raised up an elite army to pursue and crush all of the living. Betrayal and division threaten to ruin the Mortals from the inside. The last hope left for humanity is teetering on the brink of annihilation and nobody knows the real path to survival.

“Mortal” is a story that is grand in scope, and pits forces of both evil versus good in a gripping and captivating novel. Each of the scenes is painted in crisp and vivid detail. The plot twists and turns, making you wonder who is good and who is evil.

“Sovereign” is the third novel in the “Books of Mortals” series and was released in the year 2013. The alliance of Rom’s followers is in disarray. The epic battle with The Order leaves them scattered in resolve and strategy during their struggle to become really alive and free.

Just 49 really alive followers are still loyal to Rom. This measly band has to fight to survive while The Order focuses on their entire annihilation. Despised and misunderstood, their journey is going to be one of desperation against a new and more intensely evil Order. While the hand of this evil is raised up in order to strike and destroy them, they have to rely on faith in the abiding power of love in order to overcome all and take them to sovereignty.

Readers found this to be a wonderful conclusion to this great series of books. The authors penned a gripping, gorgeous, authentic depiction of life in its dirtiest parts without giving over to defeat or hopelessness, even when confronted with certain death. Things like unity, triumph, and deep wisdom thrive through all of these pages, despite all of the overwhelming moments of darkness and fear that surround all of the characters.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Books of Mortals

Leave a Reply