Book Notification

Booktown Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Booktown Mystery Books

Murder is Binding (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bookmarked for Death (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bookplate Special (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chapter and Hearse (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sentenced to Death (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Half Shelf (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Not the Killing Type (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Book Clubbed (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fatal Chapter (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Title Wave (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Just Clause (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Poisoned Pages (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Killer Edition (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Handbook for Homicide (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Deadly Deletion (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Clause of Death (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Questionable Character (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Controversial Cover (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Booktown Mysteries is a book series that is set in Stoneham, New Hampshire, a place where the streets are lined with bookstores but paved with murder. A city slicker called Tricia Miles moves to Stoneham where she finds many friendly faces. She then decides to open a mystery bookstore, and that is when she encounters friendly competition. However, things take a nasty turn when she discovered Doris Gleason murdered in her cookbook store, the apparent victim of the sharp end of a knife. That’s when she realizes that the atmosphere is cutthroat as opposed to being cordial.

This situation is what sets the scene for the first book in the Booktown Mysteries series, and that novel is called Murder is Binding. It seems that Doris had recently bought a rare cookbook and someone was determined to get it at all costs. The locals start to speculate that the person who could have such a motive is Tricia. She is therefore forced to try and absolve herself of the murder, and so she borrows a leaf from one of the many mystery books that she has put on sale to try and find the person responsible for the murder of Doris.

One thing that is striking is the fact that Trisha the main character is not very likeable. She comes across as rude and that can put off some readers. Even through a sarcastic character is an interesting one, Trisha can sometimes be quite annoying. In fact, you can find yourself relating more with her sister, and maybe she should have been made the main protagonist. Apart from that, special mention should be made of the fact that the author has incorporated some references to other mystery authors who blazed the trail for future writers.

For instance, there’s a cat called Miss Marple, and if you have read other mystery novels, you will know exactly who wrote about that feline. Another good thing about the book is the fact that it oozes an element of simplicity and innocence. This means that you don’t have to think too hard in order to follow the events, and the story itself is not one that would leave you with a heavy heart. Even though a murder has happened, you don’t get the feeling of cruelty or injustice. You can therefore get lost in the wonderful and cozy world of Murder is Binding.

This story is an excellent cozy mystery that is full of excitement, twists and turns at every corner, and very interesting adventures. If this first book is anything to go by, readers should anticipate an amazing journey as they delve into more mysteries by the author. The books in these series are excellent if you want to curl up in your armchair, or sit by the fireplace having the time of your life as the author takes you on a wild ride. This is a fun and light novel that makes you anticipate what the author has in store for her readers.

The second book in the Booktown Mysteries series is called Bookmarked for Death. In this story, we discover that the once struggling town of Stoneham, New Hampshire is now enjoying a renaissance, which is due to the efforts of booksellers such as Tricia Miles. Her bookstore is a good place for you to find a nice mystery that you will love to read-or solve. Tricia’s bookstore is celebrating its first anniversary, and so she decided to have a bestselling author called Zoe Carter hosted at her store signing books for her fans.

As is normal with cozy murder mysteries, things take a nasty turn when Zoe is discovered dead in a washroom. It doesn’t take long for police officers and reporters to start asking questions. The only suspect at this juncture is the author’s assistant cum niece. To compound matters, there’s a sheriff who proves to be more of an obstacle than a solution. This means that Tricia has to step in and try to solve this murder mystery. The good thing about the second novel is that we see growth in the characters, and this is especially true of Tricia’s relationship with her sister Angelica.

In the past, the two sisters would be fighting constantly but now they do it on very rare occasions. They also start to develop a kind of friendship, which is a nice thing to see. We also get to meet some secondary characters, including Mr. Everett and Ginny. The author has also done a good job of coming up with a plausible plot. The story flows smoothly and the killing and subsequent events are placed realistically across the storyline. The setting of the story being a touristic town with themed bookstores is also a nice touch.

Unlike book number one where Tricia is forced to conduct her own investigations since she’s the number one suspect, this time she investigates the mystery because of the incompetency being exhibited by the sheriff. Tricia therefore spends too much of her time moving from one place to another trying to solve the mystery. Her justification was the fact that the police will not be able to solve the mystery in the manner that is required, and even if they did, they will take a lot of time to do it. So Tricia assumes the role of the lead investigator and she continues sleuthing like she did in book number one.

As with the first novel, the author does a good job of keeping the reader in suspense right up to the very end of the story. You will not be able to guess whodunit, and there are twists and turns at every corner. There are many suspects in this mystery and readers will find themselves engaged in a guessing game trying to figure out who the real killer is. Readers will find that this book is quick to read, and it is also a fun book that anyone can enjoy. All in all, the author has an excellent way of writing, and she has also done an excellent job of increasing the pace and flow of the story in her second novel.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Booktown Mysteries

Leave a Reply