Book Notification

Boris Starling Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Messiah (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Storm (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vodka. Boris Starling (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Visibility (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stay-Behind Cave (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Law of the Heart (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Cold War, Warm Hearts (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Unconquerable: The Invictus Spirit (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Official History of Britain (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Boris Starling is an award-winning journalist, novelist, and screenwriter with more than eight crime fiction works to his name.

He published “Messiah” his debut fiction work in 1999 and has since gone on to pen more than half a dozen works in addition to his many nonfiction works too.

Starling has since had many of his novels make the New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling lists.

The author made his fiction writing debut when his English teacher noted that the short story he penned was very intricate for an eight-year-old.

It happens that he had copied most of it from the work “Prisoners of the Sun” by Herge the Belgian cartoonist. After he was severely reprimanded, he made it his mission to learn how to write stories.
In his teenage years, he attended Trinity College Cambridge where he got his History degree. Following his graduation, he worked for several Fleet Street publications before he was employed by Control Risks.
Control Risks is a company that provided risk assessment for companies with regard to political upheaval and terrorism and offers services ranging from kidnap resolution to confidential investigations.

Since Boris was such a reader most of his life and always had a vivid imagination, it was only natural that he would then gravitate toward creative pursuits.

In 1996, he went as far as the semi-finals of “Mastermind” the BBC Quiz show before dropping out.

After several years of trying to make it in the publishing world, he was sitting with friends one evening following a game of football when they started talking about the many book ideas they had.
Starling remembers thinking that out of all his friends, he was probably the only one that could get published and redoubled his efforts.

At this time, he was still working as a political risk consultant which took most of his time. He decided to go part-time for about half a year as he penned the manuscript for his debut work “Messiah.”
He is also the creator of the BBC1 franchise “Messiah,” which aired for seven years, and has written screenplays for productions in the United States and the United Kingdom.
Boris is also a regular writer for several newspapers and was a writer in residence at Thomas Hardy’s “House Max Gate.”

Boris Starlin currently makes his home in Dorset England alongside his interior designer wife and their children.

His elder sister is the author of “The Journal of Dora Damage,” which was posthumously published in 2007 in the US and the UK following her demise.
Starlin inherited male pattern baldness fromhs granfather and very little of his prodigious height.

When he is not writing his novels he is a keen sportsman, even though he is now old enough that experience and enthusiasm usually trump pure skill.

Boris Starling’s novel “Messiah” is set in May 1998 in London at a time when the city is suffocating from a historic heatwave.

It is at this time that a sui generic and mysterious killer begins his quest for murder as few in the police force are able to find any relationship between him and the crimes and between the crimes themselves.
A century after the city was terrorized by Jack the Ripper, they now have to deal with a furtive killer who takes out people in very violent ways.

He always leaves a silver spoon in the mouths of his victims leading the police to believe he is targeting the rich in society.

Red Metcalfe is the Superintendent investigator charged with resolving the murder mystery. He is a reputable man with a knack for cracking such cases but this may take him back to his past, which happens to have all manner of secrets.
It makes for a masterpiece that provides moments of terror and suspense in an exciting, haunting, and audacious thriller.

“The Law of the Heart” by Boris Starling is a work set in modern-day North Korea that follows a tour guide named Min.

She has never been more committed to representing the country in the best light despite its many shortcomings. She has never been one to question the status quo and is a true believer in its ideals.
On the other hand, is a man named Theo who designs award-winning roller coasters but now needs a change. It was at this time that his boss asked him if he would be interested in working in North Korea.
While he initially had his misgivings, he ultimately decides to take the job.

A few weeks earlier, Min and her work partner had been sanctioned for allowing tourists to behave disrespectfully while on a fashion tour.

As punishment, they have been assigned to watch and report on all comings and goings of Theo who is working on the design of the coaster at the nearby theme park.

Theo and Min ultimately come to know each other and surprisingly come to a very good understanding. They cannot believe that the other understands their deepest motivations, their dreams, and their hopes.
Full of intrigues in roller coaster design, fascinating history, and beautiful North Korean landscapes what’s not to love?

Boris Starling’s novel “Vodka” is a story set in the Soviet Union at one of the worst times in the country.

It is a time of great uncertainty as the Soviet Union is about to collapse and Russia is dealing with all manner of organized crime.

On the other hand, are political forces determined to modernize Russia and intend to do so by privatizing most of the Russian industry

It is in all this chaos that the privatization ward of the International Monetary Fund Alice Lidell finds herself alongside Lewis her husband.

Vodka which is one of the most fundamental businesses in Russia is chosen to be the first in the drive for privatization.

But she will be going against a major crime lord in Moscow named Lev who own Red October one of the largest vodka factories.

He is fighting the crime syndicates from Chechnya for control of the business and none of them seems to have ever heard of the word moderation.

In addition to trying to untangle the intricacies of privatization, there is also a series of child murders that may just be connected to the war between the Chechens and Lev the crime lord.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Boris Starling

Leave a Reply