Nick Petrie Series

Brad Strickland & Thomas E. Fuller Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mars Year One Books

with Brad Strickland
Marooned! (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Missing! (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Marsquake! (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Pirate Hunter Books

with Brad Strickland
Mutiny! (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Guns of Tortuga (2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Heart of Steele (2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Ghost Finds a Body (2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dancer in the Dark (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Thomas E. Fuller was a popular American writer, actor, and playwright, who was famous for writing thrillers and suspense novels. He was particularly well known for his collaboration with Brad Strickland, with whom he wrote a couple of widely successful book series. Fuller was born in Jasper, Alabama on October 3, 1948; and died in Atlanta, Georgia on November 21, 2002. Today, he is remembered through his works and has a lot of respect among his fans. A popular series written by Brad Strickland and Thomas E. Fuller is known as the Pirate Hunter series. It is comprised of a total of 3 books released between 2002 and 2003. Each book of this historical fiction series is set in the late 1680s and revolves around the adventures of pirates. The central characters of all the three books include Davy Shea, Captain Philip Hunter, Uncle Patch, and Jack Steele.

Authors Strickland and Fuller have set the stories in the Carribean waters and have described a war on the water between pirates and the Royal Navy of England. The 1680s Carribean is shown as a lawless region and hotbed for pirate gold, spies, and sailors. It is also shown that at that time, there was a very thin line between privateer and patriot. Davy Shea is introduced as a 14-year-old orphan. He is new to the dangerous world of pirates and sailors. Davy Shea comes to meet uncle Patch, who is a disreputable naval surgeon and a complete stranger to him. He requests uncle Patch to hire him as his apprentice. Patch seems reluctant at first, but later allows him to work under his guidance and help him in taking care of the wounded and sick. Patch is asked to take up a new mission and join the British war frigate HMS Retribution, which also has Philip Hunter on board. Both Hunter and Patch know each other very well and have been friends for a very long time.

Patch takes Davy Shea along with him as his assistant. While on the frigate, the captain shows the brutal side of his nature. He does atrocities on the crew and keeps everyone on their toes. When the brutality of the captain grows too much, a mutiny takes place on the ship that headed by Philip Hunter. The mutiny ends in failure and everyone involved in it get death sentences, including Patch and Hunter. Davy Shea seems desperate to save Patch and is willing to do whatever it takes. He joins the group of rebels and escapes from the ship along with them. Later, the group turns into a band of pirates. As Hunter and Patch are saved from hanging, Davy wonders whether the two men have turned against the king or a larger plot is being worked out, which is way beyond his level of understanding. This sequence is one of the adventures depicted in the series. Davy, Hunter, and Patch go on to engage in several other adventures as they move through the dangerous waters surrounded by pirates on all sides.

An interesting book of the Pirate Hunter series is entitled ‘The Guns of Tortuga’. It was released in 2003 by the Aladdin publication. This novel opens by depicting that Philip Hunter takes the role of the Captain of Aurora and sails in search of a pirate named Jack Steele. He keeps this search undercover and spends months out in the sea to locate Jack Steele. After 5 months into the search, Captain Hunter heads his ship to the Tortuga island in order to carry out repair work on the ship for the damages that it incurred during its last battle against a Spanish ship. Davy Shea, who has turned 15, has now been accepted by the crew of Aurora as one of their own. He continues to help uncle Patch in the surgery department of the ship. Captain Hunter assigns a special mission to Davy Shea.

When Hunter learns that the captured officers of the British Navy are held on a nearby island and given ill-treatment, he decides to rescue the officers from captivity. Captain Hunter doesn’t bother about the blowing off of the cover of Aurora. Being a young servant boy, Davy Shea can easily pass through the various groups of pirates thriving on the Tortuga island. So, Hunter sends him to find out the location of the captured officers. During this risky mission, Davy Shea uncovers many deceptions and secrets that shroud the beautiful island. Shortly after, he also comes to know that much more is at stake than just the lives of the few captive soldiers. The crew on board Aurora makes a plan to form new alliances and face the enemies in a face to face battle. Captain Hunter leads the crew on this mission with assistance from Patch and Davy Shea.

Another exciting novel of the series is entitled ‘Heart of Steele’. It was also published by the Aladdin Paperbacks in 2003. This book begins in the year 1688 and depicts that Aurora and its crew are still looking for the real pirate king Jack Steele. The ship is still undercover and is under the command of Captain Hunter. Davy Shea becomes a full member of the ship’s crew. He carries out multiple tasks along with assisting his uncle with surgeries whenever required. Patch becomes surprised to see that the number of casualties has increased to a great extent in the recent time. Hunter continues with his obsession to find Jack Steele as the pirate king has been plundering ships and destroying isolated towns in a deadly manner and leaving the blame on Hunter. So, Captain Hunter wants to catch Jack Steele and prove his innocence before the Royal court. When Hunter becomes aware that the deadly Red Queen has been put into the harbor, he decides it is time to face the pirate kind in his own den.

Hunter tries to make more allies and attack Jack Steele with full force in order to make a lasting attack. He wishes to launch a surprise attack on the ship of Jack Steele so that he is unable to retaliate and surrender to him. This novel received great support from the readers in all parts of the world. They liked the work of Thomas Fuller and Brad Strickland and appreciated their efforts in coming up with such an exciting story. The critics wrote nice words for the engaging characters in various literary journals and also praised novel’s storyline and plot setting. Even the fellow authors spoke highly about this book and praised both Fuller and Strickland. All these factors led to the tremendous success of the book as well as the whole series all across the globe.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Brad Strickland & Thomas E. Fuller

Leave a Reply