Book Notification

Brady Coyne Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Brady Coyne Books

Death at Charity's Point (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dutch Blue Error (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Follow the Sharks (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Marine Corpse / A Rodent of Doubt (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Meat (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vulgar Boatman (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Void in Hearts (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Winter (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Client Privilege (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Spotted Cats (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tight Lines (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Snake Eater (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Seventh Enemy (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Close to the Bone (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cutter's Run (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Muscle Memory (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scar Tissue (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Past Tense (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fine Line (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow of Death (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nervous Water (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out Cold (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
One-Way Ticket (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hell Bent (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Outwitting Trolls (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Brady Coyne/J.W. Jackson Books

By: William G. Tapply, Philip R. Craig

Brady Coyne is the main character in a series of novels written by a bestselling American author of outdoors & nature, mystery and thriller novels, William G. Tapply. Coyne is a lawyer and a sports fisherman based in Boston, Massachusetts. He gets involves in much trouble and sometimes related to his field of legal practice. The first book in Brady Coyne series is Death at Charity’s Point first published in 1984. The author described Coyne as a lawyer with Boston Brahmin clients- who wanted to keep the cops out of their cases. Just like his creator, Coyne is an avid fisherman. Death at Charity’s Point, William Tapply debut mystery novel won the Scribner Crime Novel Award.

Death at Charity’s Point (1984)

The first book in the series introduces the readers to a man by the name Brady Coyne- a man who the idea of being a private lawyer to New England upper crust never struck his mind. However, after working for more than ten years for Florence Gresham, he has built himself a reputation for discretion that the wealthy men cannot resist.

He is fond of his client- Mrs. Gresham and he has seen her through her first son’s death while in Vietnam and her husband suicide. However, Coyne has never seen his client crack until when her second born son, George jump frogs into the sea at Charity’s Point.

The cops conclude that the young man killed himself, but Mrs. Gresham believes that her son, unlike his father would never take commit suicide. As Coyne investigates into the, “sin-free” world of the upper-class preparatory history teacher, he discovers dark secrets- and even though George Gresham may not have been suicidal, it does not mean that he was not a man in trouble.

First published in 1984, Death At Charity’s Point is the novel that introduced Brady Coyne, a Boston based attorney. His creator, Tapply would later write another 27 books in the series with Outwitting Trolls published in 2010, marking the last book in the series. This is a great series, medium-boiled featuring a likable lead character and well-woven plots.

Unlike most lead characters, Brady Coyne was nearly fully developed by the time he debuted. In his daily office work, he is assisted by a small and one-man firm secretary by the name Julie. More by accident than design, Coyne has a client list that consists of mainly the elderly and wealthy people. He does a lot of estate planning and will and spends most of his time guiding his clients and also giving them personal service.

Besides being a lawyer, Coyne is a dedicated sports fisherman who loves sneaking out of the office to spend his afternoon on some river somewhere. He is in his mid-30 when he is first introduced and doesn’t age much as the series progresses. He is a divorced man with two sons, but his relationship with his children and his ex-wife is somewhat awkward.

He is probably not a bon vivant cook while creating Brady Coyne; the author decided since there were so many gourmet cook characters in crime fiction and thus he had to go in the opposite direction. Therefore, Coyne eats mostly at places like Burger King, and when dining at home, his favorite meal is the Dinty Moore Beef Stew. Unlike a prominent Boston Private Investigator, not a single person will get a decent recipe from Coyne.

This being one of the best crime fiction series, even the business of his elderly clients often at times leads him into big troubles- as such is the case at hand in this first book. A rich client, Florence Gresham has had two sons. The first born is missing and presumed dead, and Mrs. Gresham wants Coyne to investigate and find out whatever happened her son. At first, the protests claiming that as an attorney, he is not the right man to make such an investigation, but his client insists.

No sooner than Coyne begins investigating when his clients only other son divers off a cliff and dies. George Gresham was a mild-mannered teacher at a local school, and when his body is discovered, his death is ruled out to be a suicide. However, Mrs. Gresham does not agree that her son committed suicide and therefore he demands Coyne to investigate.

What follows next is a solid mid-1980’s mystery novel- it is a great novel, one that showcases the signs of the famous author first book.

The Dutch Blue Error

In the second book in order to solve a murder, Brady Coyne must locate a copy of the world’s rarest stamp. The world’s most precious stamp is a small paper square with different edges, dark blue in color and bearing a portrait of a long-dead king. Even though it does not appear like a big deal to Coyne, this stamp is known as the Dutch Blue Error, and it is one of its kinds- a valuable artifact worth millions of dollars.

This piece of the priceless stamp is the prize possession of Ollie Weston, a wheelchair-bound banker and for the sake of its value, many good men will die.

A collector contacts Ollie Weston with claims to have found a second copy of the stamp, a claim that if true would ultimately ruin the value of the stamp. In attempts to curb any changes that would alter the value of his stamp, Weston sends his personal attorney, the kind-hearted Boston lawyer Coyne to buy the rogue stamp for $250,000 but before the deal is complete, the collector is murdered, and the copy of the stamp disappears.

To find the stamp, Coyne must find the killer, but that must involve risking another of his valuable possession: his life.

Follow the Sharks

For almost two years, Eddie was on his way to becoming one of the most famous Red Sox pitcher the world has ever seen. Then one day- he went from pro to ineffective which forced him to quit the majors before he hit the prime.

The Boston based lawyer met Donagan months before he turned pro and stayed friends with him even as he drifted into depression, disappearing from his family for days.

Finally, Donagan family is tossed into crisis when his son E.J. leaves and never returns. Later the family gets a ransom demand call, and Coyne agrees to handle the case. His investigation results in him to discover that E.J. has problems that stem from the father- a man with a dark side that no talent could overcome.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Brady Coyne

Leave a Reply