Book Notification

Breanne Randall Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of BreanneRandall Standalone Novels

The Unfortunate Side Effects of Heartbreak and Magic (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Breanne Randall is an American author of paranormal romance books and a freelancer writer. She holds degrees in English Literature, Religious Studies, and Psychology, all earned with honors. Her writing has graced the pages of national magazines like Fit Pregnancy, Parents, Good Housekeeping, Family Circle, and more. She also regularly contributes to websites like Disney Family, Bustle, and SheKnows.

What sets Breanne apart is her love for exploration and travel. Having visited over forty countries, she infuses her stories with the enchantment and rich cultural experiences she has gathered from her global adventures.

Breanne resides in the quiet foothills of Northern California with her husband, two daughters, and an assortment of farm animals. Beyond her writing pursuits, she can often be found exploring her property in search of hidden fairy portals or hosting extravagant tea parties for her stuffed animal friends. When not writing, you will find Breanne watching Doctor Who, Harry Porter, and pretty much anything featuring science fiction and fantasy elements. She also loves exploring theoretical physics, RPG, and Elon Musk.

In this enchanting tale, The Unfortunate Side Effects of Heartbreak and Magic, Breanne Randall skillfully paints a vivid picture of a small town and its captivating side characters. The main characters come to life profoundly and authentically, drawing you into their world.
Meet Sadie Revelare. She has always been willing to accept the curse of four heartbreaks that come with her magical abilities. She believes it’s a price worth paying. However, when her grandmother receives a cancer diagnosis with only weeks to live and her first true love, Jake McNealy, comes back to town after a decade, Sadie’s carefully constructed life begins to unravel.

As the news of her grandmother’s impending passing sinks in, Sadie’s alienated twin brother, Seth, makes a sudden return. He carries with him hidden familial secrets that could threaten Sadie’s world. Their grandmother has been the bedrock of their family for generations. With her imminent departure, Sadie questions whether she has the strength to hold her magic and family together.

As feelings for Jake rekindle and her grandmother’s health deteriorates, Sadie confronts the prospect of enduring her last heartbreak. She faces a pivotal decision: is love more important than magic?

Throughout this captivating story, you’ll follow Sadie, a witch, as she navigates her complex and heartwarming relationship with her twin brother. He had left without saying goodbye years ago, leaving her to grapple with the unfortunate side effects of these heartbreaks and her magic. Her dependable grandmother, who practically raised the twins, is her solace, but when her brother returns, her grandmother brings distressing news.

At the end of each chapter, you’ll find delightful recipes for baked goods, sauces, teas, and more, all with a touch of magic and coziness.

The romantic subplot, while cute, remains a subplot and doesn’t overpower the story’s more profound themes. The story delves deeply into themes of friendship, family, and, most importantly, personal growth.
The characters in the story are a joy to read about. Sadie and Raquel shine as the reader’s favorites. Observing Sadie and Seth’s unique bond warms the heart, especially for those with a twin connection. Sadie’s journey through grief, complex emotions toward others, and self-discovery captivates readers and makes her a compelling character. Her emotional and challenging path elicits laughter and tears throughout the book.

The beautifully described setting immerses readers in the story’s world, making you feel like walking alongside the characters and experiencing the scenery.

This story is a tapestry of family, community, magic, heartbreak, grief, forgiveness, letting go, and moving forward. It weaves these elements into a captivating and beautiful narrative, making it an ideal read for the fall season. If you’re a fan of “The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake” and enjoy stories that evoke a sense of community, like “The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches,” this warm and witchy novel will surely delight you.

If you’re seeking a lighthearted, bubbly love story, “The Unfortunate Side Effects of Heartbreak and Magic” may not be the right choice. Instead, you might want to explore “The Modern Girl’s Guide to Magic” by Linsey Hall. This debut novel takes a different path, delving into the world of witchcraft and the protective barriers we construct on our hearts to preserve our unique magic.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Breanne Randall

Leave a Reply