Book Notification

Bree Barton Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Heart of Thorns Books

Heart of Thorns (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tears of Frost (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Soul of Cinder (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Zia Erases the World (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Bree Barton is a writer based in Los Angeles. When she is not lost in whimsy, she works as a dance teacher to teen girls and a ghostwriter. She has an Instagram and a YouTube with the name Speak Breely, where she uploads hilarious videos of her melancholy doggy. Bree does not much care for corsets.

Her YouTube videos help her be a goofball, and since she was once an improv comedian and actor, the videos help her express that side of herself.

Bree began writing when she was only in the third grade. She had always loved escaping into stories, and when she started arranging words on a page for the first time, she got hooked on it right away. She wrote her memoir while in the fifth grade, a rather short memoir, as she was only ten years old at the time. The next year, she wrote a story about a group of girls who were enslaved that flee from an evil kingdom and make their own magical coven out in the woods.

“Heart of Thorns” came to be because of a novel that never saw the light of day. It was a sci-fi/close to dystopian, so fantasy was something that offered an appealing change of pace. She got the idea of a physical magic where you could ever so subtly tweak a person’s body by things like touch and proximity. Then Bree met her editor, who had been developing an idea about magicians that was able to manipulate any person’s blood. The two just clicked.

Mia Rose was always brilliant and headstrong, but had some kinks that required ironing out. Bree felt like she unlocked her character when she figured out she was a know-it-all, one that doesn’t really know it all. A lot of Mia’s arc is recognizing the lies she has been fed, acknowledging that she has been a pretty bad feminist, and locating a better way.

Early draft readers found Mia to be obnoxious. It cut Bree right to the core, because without a likable protagonist, there is no novel. Her challenge was to make her less obnoxious, but still retain the fiery and opinionated sides of the character. It was here that she doubled down on how much she really loves her sister. Mia emerges out of the revisions with a single goal: protecting Angelyne at any cost and not whine about her boo-hoo circumstances. The devotion that Mia has for her sister is so crucial to Bree that she is unable to remember the novel without this aspect.

In the first two drafts of her novel, there were no gloves, no Gwyrach, and no Hall of Hands. No half-human, half-god mythology. And men and women could both have magic. All of the things that make the backbone of her book did not exist for an entire year.

Everything snapped into focus for her during the 2016 presidential election. Things like a ruthless dictator, sealed borders, violence against women and the other marginalized groups. It was here that the novel began taking on the fierce feminist elements like it exists now. Bree also drew on her travels through Peru, England, and Ireland. At times, she felt like her “world building” was like a three-prong process. Read the news, then shudder in horror, and turn it into a fantasy novel.

She got the job as a ghostwriter after having an early life crisis wondering how she would pay her bills. She queried some alumni from her college and asked them if she could shadow them, a guy who ran a ghostwriting company offered her a job.

It is a job that has put many tools in her writer’s toolbox. How to meet a deadline and finish a manuscript, things like that. It was a great part for her bio as she queried agents. The last thing she wants to do some days, however, is write her own stuff for three hours after spending that amount of time for somebody else. Learning to strike the right balance has been an always changing process, one that she does not always get right.

Bree writes young adult fantasy, her first novel was released in the year 2018, and was called “Heart of Thorns”. The book is published by Katherine Tegen/HarperCollins.

“Heart of Thorn” is the first novel in the “Heart of Thorn” series of novels and was released in the year 2018. Inside the ancient river kingdom, where bodies are the instruments of war and touch is a battlefield, Mia Rose has pledged her own life to hunting down Gwyrach: women that are able to manipulate breath, bones, flesh, and blood. The same women that killed her mom without one scratch.

Mia’s dad announces an alliance with the royal family, and she is required to trade her trousers and knives for a sumptuous silk gown. Mia, who is determined to forge her path forward, plots out a daring escape. She could never predict the greatest betrayal possible. It comes in the form of her own body. Mia possesses all of the same magic she has sworn to destroy.

While she attempts to untangle the secrets from her past, Mia has to learn to trust her own heart, even if it should try to kill her.

“Tears of Frost” is the second novel in the “Heart of Thorn” series of novels and was released in the year 2019. Mia Rose has come back from the dead. Her body is numb and her memories are hazy, but she is not going to stop searching. Her one hope to save the guy she loves and the sister that destroyed her is to locate the mom she will never forgive.

After her mom betrayed her, Pilar goes on a hunt of her own, so she can seek the one person that is able to exact their revenge. It all goes according to plan until she winds up colliding with Prince Quin. Mia killer his sister.

While Mia, Quin, and Pilar forge some dangerous new alliances, they become bewitched by the snow kingdom’s promise of true freedom. But nothing really is not like it seems under the glimmering ice of the kingdom.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Bree Barton

Leave a Reply