Book Notification

Brenda Chapman Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Anna Sweet Mysteries Books

Publication Order of Hunter and Tate Books

Publication Order of Stonechild and Rouleau Mysteries Books

Cold Mourning (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Butterfly Kills (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tumbled Graves (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shallow End (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bleeding Darkness (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Turning Secrets (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Closing Time (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Running Scared (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hiding in Hawk's Creek (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where Trouble Leads (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trail of Secrets (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Winter's Grip (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Second Wife (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Chances (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Cold Canadian Crime(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Brenda Chapman is a Canadian author of fiction. She is an accomplished writer from Ottawa that has over a dozen novels published in the mystery genre for both adults and young adults. She is always in the middle of writing mystery series.

Her first novel ever published was titled Running Scared. It was released in 2004 and features the 13-year-old character Jennifer Bannon, who is struggling with feeling responsible for her father’s absence and hoping that he’ll come back one day so that they can all be a family again.

She is the author of the Anna Sweet Mystery series. This fun and exciting mystery series kicked off in 2013 with the publication of the debut novel My Sister’s Keeper. These mysteries are novellas that are great for anyone that loves books in the mystery genre or just wants a decent quick read. Published by Grass Roots Press, Brenda Chapman followed up this great debut novel with The Hard Fall.

That book was followed up by To Keep a Secret, A Model Death, No Trace, and the last book in the series Missing Her. Of these books, No Trace and My Sister’s Keep were shortlisted for an Arthur Ellis award. No Trace and The Hard Fall both were shortlisted for a Golden Oak Award. The series concerns the exploits of Anna Sweet, who used to be a cop but now has taken a turn as a waitress.

She is also the author of the Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery series. This mystery series is written for adults and they are full of details and police procedurals. The series started off with the 2014 publication of the first novel, Cold Mourning. That was followed up with Butterfly Kills, the third book Tumbled Graves, Shallow End, and the fifth book in the series, Bleeding Darkness. Cold Mourning was shortlisted for a crime novel of the year Arthur Ellis Award.

My Sister’s Keeper is the first book in the exciting Anna Sweet series. See what other readers have enjoyed so much about this dynamic mystery series from celebrated author Brenda Chapman! Anna Sweet is the main character in this novel, and she used to be a cop but now she works as a waitress. She is no stranger to adventure and is currently having fun bar-hopping across the country.

Anna is having fun seeing the sights across America, but when she receives a strange phone call in the middle of the night to her hotel room all the way in Kermit, Texas, things are about to get turned on their head and her life on the road as she knows it is about to be put on pause. She finds out that her sister Cheri was driving when the brakes on her car failed.

Now Cheri is lying in a hospital bed in some hospital in Ottawa and she’s all banged up. But the thing is, her sister tells Anna that unless she comes home immediately then she will be dead by the time that Christmas is here. Anna has every reason in the world to stay away and far away from the hometown that she grew up in, but the terror relayed to her by her sister is something that calls to her. She just can’t turn her back on it.

Anna can’t help but wonder whether her sister really is in danger for her life or this is a dramatic stunt designed to get attention– or something like that, anyway. Cheri has been known to want a little extra attention. What does it all mean and what will ultimately happen? This ex-cop is about to find out. If you want to find out too, then you’ve got to pick up the dynamic novel My Sister’s Keeper from Brenda Chapman!

The Hard Fall is the second novel in the engaging Anna Sweet mystery series of books! Anna is back and better than ever. Still, she is totally unprepared for what’s about to fall into her lap. She’s got a gig now with Storm Investigations taking on cases and now she’s going to take on another case with no idea of the chaos that it’s going to bring.

Paul Taylor is a businessman who made a lot of money while he was working. Now he’s in jail thanks to being accused of murdering Laura Flint, who was also his lover. They always suspect the boyfriend or lover or spouse, and that’s exactly what’s happened in Paul’s case. Laura was discovered dead in his bed on a hot August morning, so of course, it looked bad for him. But was the wealthy businessman capable of murder, or was he set up for her death?

The killing of Laura was coldblooded, that’s for sure. Ironically, the only person to stand behind Paul Taylor is his wife, a former swimwear model. But even his wife has her doubts about it. He’s about to go on trial for the murder of Laura Flint as the only current suspect in the case.

Anna Sweet is an ex-cop that’s now working Storm Investigations. She takes on the case even though she privately thinks that there might be a low chance of getting a good result. However, a trail of clues is starting to pop up. Little does she know that some clues are good and some are better left alone.

Will the clues lead Anna down a devastating trail of secrets deeper into the rabbit hole? What will she find out and will she ever find the evidence out there that could clear Paul Taylor of any wrongdoing when it comes to the untimely death of his lover?

Or will Anna Sweet be the one that ultimately is toiling away to help to free a killer that might not be as innocent as he appears to argue? You will have to pick up this thrilling second novel in the Anna Sweet series by talented writer Brenda Chapman in order to find out.

If you love this novel, you should also check out the other novels in the series. The next book is To Keep a Secret and there are three more books in this series to read after that!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Brenda Chapman

5 Responses to “Brenda Chapman”

  1. Sandra Doris Park: 2 years ago

    I really enjoyed the Stonechild Rouleau series. Can’t find them in our library in Knowlton QC. Can’t understand why as they are really excellent.

  2. Edi Thomas: 2 years ago

    I really enjoyed reading the Stone held and Rouleau series. I first read them on Libby, the online library site. In looking for Closing Time, I find that only one library in the USA has it. I guess I’ll have to buy it and then donate it.
    I look forward to you continuing the series.

  3. Rebecca Miller: 2 years ago

    Found your books through Louis Penny’s fan club and they’re amazing. Thank you. San Francisco library doesn’t carry them all. Especially not in audio books. Looked for the audio books on Maybe your publisher can help. Thank you and happy holidays.

  4. Kathleen McLean: 3 years ago

    Loved reading Cold Morning and Butterfly’s Kill. Looking forward to reading more of Brenda’s writing’s.

  5. Lucinda Young: 3 years ago

    I’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading Brenda Chapman’s novels. They’re well thought out, believable and full of mysteries within the mystery story. I’ve learned about people and places, customs and human nature itself. Always a good read!


Leave a Reply