Nick Petrie Series

Brent Weeks Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lightbringer Books

The Black Prism (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Blinding Knife (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Broken Eye (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Blood Mirror (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Burning White (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Night Angel Books

The Way of Shadows (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shadow's Edge (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Beyond the Shadows (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Perfect Shadow (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Night Angel Nemesis (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Brent Weeks is so passionate about words-it’s not only a hobby but a career and life to him. He was born on March 7, 1977 in Montana and raised in the same area. He studied English at Hillsdale and successfully graduated with flying colors. However, he did not go into full-time writing after graduation but did some other jobs before eventually settling as a professional novelist. Brent weeks once worked as a bar tender and later as a teacher. This is something that helped sharpen his writing skills in such a way that he defined his unique niche, developed unique descriptive abilities, and tremendously improved his creativity. He has been nominated on numerous occasions for highly coveted award including the Goodreads choice awards and David Gemmell Legend Award.

He started writing about bar napkins before moving to lesson plans. Thereafter, he focused his energies on writing his first novel that was released in the year 2008. He is married to Kristi and live in Oregon. Kristi is also a writer and has been quite supportive-a pillar that Weeks love to mention. He has said before that what really motivates him is passion for his genre, of which he developed when he was only but 13 year old. Nevertheless, he cultivated it when he was a grown up. The one thing about Weeks is that he loves reading fantasy novels and history. He clearly states that these topics help him break from any monotony he might have developed in the course of his writings, as well as helps him get insights in some things that he does not understand.

Brent Weeks has written several books under two series and these are the Night Angel Series and the Lightbringer series. One of the books under the Light Bringer series is The Black Prism. This book can simply be described as awesome! It is has a per-industrial era setting and grpahically describes the gunpowder weapons and well as simple war machines like pulleys and others that fall in this range. The story in this book revolves around The 7 satrapiece, of which are seven independent countries but are under a lose federal government (Chromeria). The main theme is magic-colorful of which is also controlled at Chromeria. The plot is about intrigues revolving around Gavins son kip, Liv Gavin, Karris, and a prism that has more magical powers. In other words, its all about the use of power and magic in order to rule, revenge and counter revenge. It’s one of the books that defines creativity in true essence.

The Way of Shadows is another popular novel written by Brent Weeks and was released in 2008 under the Night angel series. It has unique characters, and one of the best plots that Weeks has ever come up with., And above all a setting that is unmatched in many ways in regard to novels in this genre. To begin with, the setting is in Cinaria city the capital of Midcyru. This particular city has two opposing sides; the East side and the Warrens. This city is governed by a monarchy and this means that leadership is passed from one generation to the next without question. However, the real powers rest with the Lord of the-Shadows who are known for their extortion, merciless executions and other acts that are know to instill fear into the population.

The plot of Ways of shadows revolves around the orphan Azoth, and friends Doll and Jarl, who later disagree on pertinent issues of apprenticeship while they are still young. Their differences grow, the scars remain, and revenge is inevitable as stage is set for bloodshed. In this novel, death, power, and cruelty are some of the main themes that Brent Weeks graphically describes carrying you through some of the most difficult decisions you can make. This is definitely one of the best things that takes Bret Weeks work to the next level-unending vicious attacks ensue as the novel draws to a close.

Bret Weeks has always been known to stretch himself beyond limits in order to craft the best possible fantasy novels. He has dedicated his time to writing timeless books that will definitely stand the test of time. The fact that he is a Reddit stabby award-winner and a finalist of David Gemmell’s Legend-award is a clear indications that he is professional in all ways as far as writing novels is concerned. He nurtured his talent through thick thin and learned more from the mistake he made and responses he got over time. In most of his interviews, he has clearly stated that he is not thinking to retire any soon- only but death will stop him. This is only the beginning of his career and more is to come his way.

In most cases, he writes for a target audience that is well versed his kind of story line. When asked whether he has any of favorite charters in any of the many novels he doesn’t hesitate to mention that almost all are the best. He has also stated that in most cases he writes for a target audience that is well versed his kind of story line. Bret Weeks has mastered the art of rising tensions in his novels and this is something that has definitely made him stand above head and shoulder above the rest. He tries his very best to write things that are complex in nature in order to get better novel after novel.

There is also an element of humility as that Bret tends to show in his books and also personal life. He aims at giving something that works for his readers and when it doesn’t work with any section then he leaves it out. In fact, he has confessed if given chances there are some things he would change in his earlier books. Nevertheless, Bret Weeks has enjoyed success with the novels he has written so far. This is only what few writers can achieve, especially if you at the number of years he has been writing as a professional.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Brent Weeks

Leave a Reply