Book Notification

Bridgerton Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bridgerton Books

By: Julia Quinn, Shonda Rhimes
The Duke and I (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Viscount Who Loved Me (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Offer from a Gentleman (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Romancing Mister Bridgerton (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Sir Phillip, With Love (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
When He Was Wicked (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
It's in His Kiss (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
On the Way to the Wedding (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Because of Miss Bridgerton (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl with the Make-Believe Husband (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Other Miss Bridgerton (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
First Comes Scandal (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wit and Wisdom of Bridgerton (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Queen Charlotte (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Bridgerton Books

By: Julia Quinn, Shonda Rhimes
Queen Charlotte(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Duke and I(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Viscount Who Loved Me(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Offer from a Gentleman(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Romancing Mister Bridgerton(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Sir Phillip, With Love(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
When He Was Wicked(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
It's in His Kiss(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
On the Way to the Wedding(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Because of Miss Bridgerton(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl with the Make-Believe Husband(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Other Miss Bridgerton(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
First Comes Scandal(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wit and Wisdom of Bridgerton(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
First Comes Scandal is a prequel.

Publication Order of Bridgerton Collections

Happily Ever After (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Julia Quinn is the pen name of Julie Cotler Pottinger, an American author born in 1970. She is a New York Times bestselling author and known well for her popular Bridgerton series. She enjoys writing romance novels and also putting the myth that intelligent women do not read or write these types of novels to bed once and for all. In addition to being an author, she came away with the $79,000 jackpot on the game show The Weakest Link in 2001 thanks in part to her correct answers on all things British, literary, historical and geographical.

Julia Quinn is recognized for her writing and her novels are so popular that they have sold worldwide and been translated into 28 languages at the moment. As an author, TIME Magazine and USA Today have both done profile pieces on her. She has been the 13th author officially inducted into the Romance Writers of America Hall of Fame. She won her third RITA Award in 2010, which made it three awards in four years. She is also the author of the Splendid Trilogy, the Lyndon Sisters series, the Agents of the Crown series, and much more in addition to her popular Bridgerton series.

The Bridgerton series started in 2000 with the release of the debut novel in the series, The Duke and I. It was quickly followed by The Viscount Who Loved Me, An Offer from a Gentleman, and five more books in the series, concluding with the 2006 release of the novel On the Way to the Wedding.

The first round of the Bridgerton series has eight novels in it, and each one focuses on a different child. There are eight children that have survived the late Viscount Bridgerton, and each novel features one of them. They are set between 1813 and 1825. The children of the Viscount are named alphabetically so it starts off with Anthony, Benedict, and Colin, then goes on to Daphne, Eloise, and Francesca, and finally ends with Gregory and Hyacinth.

Quinn says that she originally intended the Bridgerton series to be a trilogy. However, readers took to the family and the books and so did Julia Quinn, so she decided to write some more. She notes that fans also really liked the mysterious Lady Whistledown, who narrated the first four books in a sense through her gossip column. The Bridgerton series was so popular and readers were so interested in what happened to them that Quinn eventually wrote more books on the family. She calls this series the 2nd Epilogues and there are currently four books in the series, which were first released as e-shorts but now make up The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After, which were released in 2013 in e-book and print.

In the debut novel The Duke and I, the main character is Simon Basset. He is not only irresistible as the Duke of Hastings, he has come up with a plan that is going to finally spare him all the questions about marriage. They won’t stop coming from the mothers in the society that want him to see something special in their daughter so she will end up marrying the Duke and living well.

Simon has come up with a plan that’s going to avoid all of that with a pretend engagement. Daphne Bridgerton is young and beautiful, and the perfect fake fiancée for Simon Basset. What could go wrong? After all, he has no plans to get married for real. Even if there is something about Daphne that makes him curious and even makes his heart beat a bit faster.

Even though Simon doesn’t want to get married, he has to admit that Daphne has that certain something that makes her very attractive. With suitors lining up in the wings to date her, it seems that dating a Duke has made the young Miss Bridgerton more desirable than ever. It may be that she may find someone very easily after their false courtship comes to an end.

Daphne is in on the game, but it’s easy to forget that they are not really dating as she joins him for waltzes in the ballrooms and walks around town. Now she has to do the very thing that she promised herself she would never do– fall in love with the handsome Duke. Daphne keeps having to remind herself that their courtship is a scam and the Duke will never truly give up his relaxed lifestyle.

The Duke doesn’t really mind being in a fake engagement to Daphne. Although it started out as a plan to evade scrutiny, his pretend engagement to this young woman starts to make him question his plan. Simon starts to fall for the young woman and his feelings are enough to make this young Duke wonder whether a fake engagement is what he wants after all. Pick up this book to find out what happens between Daphne and the Duke for yourself!

The second book in the Bridgerton series is titled The Viscount Who Loved Me. It is the year 1814, and it promises to be an interesting year. Anthony Bridgerton is the most elusive bachelor in London, according to the gossip columnist Lady Whistledown. He shows no indication that he is ready to get married, and why should he? He is a bachelor in spirit and in reality, and no one is better at being an unruly rake than he is.

Anthony has decided at long last that he wants to get married and he knows just who the candidate in question should be. His intended wife is beautiful and intriguing. However, there might be obstacles in his path to getting engaged in the form of Kate Sheffield. She is the older sister of the woman he loves and is frankly quite meddlesome. She has found out about the betrothal and is doing everything that she can to stop it. But Anthony is starting to find the irritating woman attractive, and his dreams about her are getting increasingly more romantic in nature.

For her part, Kate is uncertain whether to pursue Anthony. She wants to protect her sister but starts to find out that her own heart is increasingly vulnerable along the way. She’s starting to fall for him, but can Anthony Bridgerton ever truly stop being a rogue? Read The Viscount Who Loved Me to find out!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Bridgerton

Leave a Reply