Book Notification

Bridget Hart Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bridget Hart Books

Aspire to Die (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killing by Numbers (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Do No Evil (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Love And Murder (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Darkly Shining Star (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Preface to Murder (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Toll for the Dead (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Bridget Hart series by M. S. Morris
Authors Margarita and Steve Morris write the “Bridget Hart” series of mystery novels under the pen name of M. S. Morris. The series began publication in the year 2019, when “Aspire to Die” was released.

Detective Inspector Bridget Hart works on murder cases in Oxford. She attended Oxford college once upon a time, and is a single mom doing her best to balance work and parenthood. Often disparaged because of her small stature, she is a tenacious bulldog that’s determined to solve cases.

“Aspire to Die” is the first novel in the “Bridget Hart” series and was released in the year 2019. Ambition, murder, and lust.

A wealthy and beautiful student is discovered dead in her room in the most prestigious college in Oxford, Detective Inspector Bridget Hart gets called into investigate. The murdered woman seemed to have no enemies, but was murdered in a bloody and savage assault.

Driven and haunted by a personal tragedy of her own, the newly promoted Bridget Hart has got a lot to prove while leading her very first murder investigation. Her investigation uncovers a tangled up web of lust, lies, and ambition, and also leads her into a conflict with some powerful interests.

But nobody can actually be above suspicion within the claustrophobic and closed confines of an Oxford college, where academics and students work and live next to each other. And one ruthless murderer waits to strike again.

This is a thoroughly enjoyable and well written crime book with some engaging characters and realistic interactions between the different detectives. The novel is a great whodunit that keeps you guessing the entire time and right when you believe you have things figured out, some twist pops up to throw you off of the trail.

“Killing by Numbers” is the second novel in the “Bridget Hart” series and was released in the year 2020. A secret worth killing for, a work of art, and a mysterious number.

Gabriel Quinn, a reclusive artist, gets gunned down outside of a gallery on Oxford High Street, Bridget Hart investigates the contemporary art world, where paintings can change hands for millions of dollars in the auction. She is certain that the final words the artist spoke, which was a mysterious code of eight digits and one letter, are the key to unraveling the mystery surrounding his death.

But Ben, her ex-husband and who is now a senior detective with the Metropolitan Police in London arrives with some new info about the murdered guy, Bridget’s professional and personal lives collide with dramatic consequences.

Morris delivers characters and a plot that are both outstanding, with a mystery that is intriguing, clever, and keeps you hooked the entire way through. These characters are worth caring for, and the mystery they must solve is wholly engaging. The twists and turns help keep this one exciting from beginning to end.

“Do No Evil” is the third novel in the “Bridget Hart” series and was released in the year 2020. Dark secrets, old friendships, and lethal lies.

Detective Inspector Bridget Hart goes back to her alma mater Oxford college for a reunion dinner, she hopes for a fun weekend catching up with some of her old friends. However the reunion takes on a macabre turn when some body parts are served up at the college feast, and a friend is discovered having been killed.

With Baxter, Bridget’s arch nemesis inspector leading this murder inquiry, and she herself a possible suspect, Bridget’s forbidden from investigating. That doesn’t stop her, however, from carrying out private inquiries of her own.

Bridget quickly realizes that the killer is somebody known to her. And while the weekend carries on and more bodies are discovered, it starts becoming clear that they will stop at nothing in order to get what they want. Will Bridget reveal all the dark secrets from the past in time to stop the killings? Or is she going to be next on the murderer’s list?

This is a superb read, and fans enjoyed all of the intrigue as they kept wondering who could have done it. These characters are developing nicely, as are their relationships with one another.

“In Love and Murder” is the fourth novel in the “Bridget Hart” series and was released in the year 2020. Death, deception, and a deal with the devil.

Dr. Nathan Frost, who is a lecturer in German literature at Oxford University, gets invited to a lavish party at the country house of one wealthy businessman. He is certain there will be a price for him to pay. After all, since he’s an expert in the legend of Mephistopheles and Faust, he is able to recognize a deal with the devil easily enough. Even he is not expecting such a sinister end to this evening.

Detective Hart is called in to investigate a suspicious death at the country house and is surprised to find that one of the guests is a government minister. Her team has to navigate some powerful interests in order to learn the truth. However, in a world of backhanders, corruption, and favors nothing is like it appears and no one can be trusted.

There’s suspense to be found in this one from beginning to end with a shocking conclusion. Each of the major characters are very engaging, and once again, it’s their interactions that serve as a big part of the reading enjoyment.

“A Darkly Shining Star” is the fifth novel in the “Bridget Hart” series and was released in the year 2020. Murder, Christmas, and ghosts.

Christmas is coming in Oxford and Bridget’s enjoying a rare day off at Oxford’s Christmas Market. A ghost tour appears to be a fun way to round off her day. Until a savage murder brings her evening to an abrupt and tragic end.

Torn between family commitments and work during the holiday season, she quickly finds that the ghost of Christmas past reaches into the present with some lethal repercussions. Not everybody believes in the season of goodwill to all men, and with this real-life, flesh-and-blood murderer on the loose in Oxford, Bridget races in order solve this case so that more people aren’t murdered.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Bridget Hart

2 Responses to “Bridget Hart”

  1. Jayne Leonard: 2 years ago

    Wonderful series, can’t wait for
    Book #8! Any idea when it’ll be
    out please?

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      They said on social media on December 2021 that they have ended the series at this time – they may return to it one day. They are working on a new series the Tom Raven series currently.


Leave a Reply