Book Notification

Brighton Walsh Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Reluctant Hearts Books

Caged in Winter (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tessa Ever After (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Paige in Progress (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Our Love Unhinged (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Captive Books

Publication Order of Havenbrook Books

Second Chance Charmer (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hometown Troublemaker (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pact with a Heartbreaker (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Captain Heartbreaker (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Small Town Pretender (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Holidays in Havenbrook Books

Main Street Dealmaker (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Starlight Cove Books

Defiant Heart (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Protective Heart (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fearless Heart (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reckless Heart (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Possessive Heart (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rebel Heart (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Valley of Scales Saga Books

Daughter of Serpents (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Plus One (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Season of Second Chances (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Brighton Walsh is an American author best known for works in the Romance/New Adult genres such as ‘captive’ and ‘caged in winter’.


Brighton Walsh sunk a considerable portion of her life into pursuing her passion of photography before finally ‘seeing the light’. Spending nearly ten years in the profession, it would take Walsh some time to realize that photography was merely a manifestation of her primary interest which, in this case, was storytelling; a realization that brought her further understanding, specifically the fact that she did not have to restrict her career to one form of storytelling, not when there were so many other options to explore.

Brighton Walsh will, herself, admit that she has spent more time creating stories than anything else; with several decades’ worth of voices buzzing in her head, there was a point in time when she finally decided to let them out so that they could see the light of day, a decision that gave birth to many a popular novel.

Brighton Walsh loves love; it is a subject she simply cannot get enough of and, thus, jumped at the first opportunity to finally realize her dreams by penning romantic stories.

When Brighton Walsh is not creating stories, she is reading and can often be found buried in one steamy novel or another. She is also an avid shopper, sometimes unable to decide between her two favorite hobbies, in which case she combines them.

Brighton has, on several occasions, admitted the difficulties involved with writing about romance within controversial arenas like kidnapping and the importance of separating the harsh and inexcusable reality of such difficult ordeals from the romantic fiction in her novels.

Brighton has two children with her husband and has made note of the impact the laughter, chaos and dance parties in her home have had on her writing.

Plus One

Olivia does not like her current situation; something about the singles scene simply does not appeal to her. As such when Ian, her best male friend, offers to accompany her to a series of weddings she has no choice but to attend, she simply cannot pass up the opportunity for a date that is not only steady but which is free of typical dating complications.

What takes her aback is the new light within which she cannot help but see Ian.

Ian hasn’t thought about the crush he held for Olivia as a boy in some time; however it emerges with a vengeance; what begun as a no-strings arrangement takes an unexpected physical turn. Olivia doesn’t want to ruin their friendship and makes this desire known even as Ian struggles against his overwhelming feelings for Olivia. It becomes his mission to woo Olivia over in the short time they have together.

Fans of Brighton Walsh have been known to describe this novel as simply being right; the problem with so many romantic novels is they tend to lend themselves to one extreme or another.

Many are simply too unrealistic, with ridiculous heroes and heroines; this is not helped by the cheesy dialogue and flowery narratives. Plus one more or less finds the perfect spot to park Brighton’s attempts at creating a noteworthy love story. Being a novella and, hence, being limited in length, one shouldn’t expect too much in the way of complex storytelling or even character development; however Brighton tells her love story without rushing things unnecessarily.

Certainly there is nothing new to gush about in the novella; however the leads keep things fairly interesting. Olivia is smart and confident while Ian maintains an interesting sweetness to his nature. The story isn’t necessarily short and could simply be described as bring succinct, direct and to the point, which isn’t a terrible thing.

Many a reader has particularly complimented Brighton Walsh for penning a love tale that is not only intriguing but actually plausible, avoiding common and largely unrealistic tropes.


Madison Frost is the child of a successful and prominent businessman. And she has always had everything she could have ever asked for. None the less the absence of her family in her life has always left her feeling lonely and abandoned, and the fact that she has never had anyone to converse with, trapped in the confines of her home, has not helped matters.

The chance for freedom, to finally live life outside her prison comes, but at a great price. She is kidnapped. And the man holding her is not only frightening, and large in every way possible, but so very attractive.

Only known as Ghost, he is a stranger with many a secret, a mercenary as enigmatic as they come, and Madison is trapped with him. For all her prying she cannot figure out who hired him or the purpose for which she was kidnapped. However as she begins to spend time with him, the layers fall away to reveal something deeper and more interesting; Ghost isn’t quite what he appears to be, and Madison finds the gentle soul hiding behind a broken heart, one as bruised as her own.

Captive could be best described as a dark romance novel; while tackling the sort of material that some might consider controversial, it manages to captivate. The fact that the author avoids the sort of flowery descriptions common in many contemporary romantic novels only helps matters.

Many readers have been known to question the classification of this novel as a dark romance; despite the fact that the plot revolves around a kidnapping, the story of captive focuses primarily upon two lonely souls that, within this somewhat dark setting, come to find each other.

For many people this might prove to be the downfall of captive, mostly because it has been presented and advertised under the guise of a dark romance, with many an individual that purchased this novel for its dark aspects expressing disappointment with the typical romance story that unfolds within.

Admittedly, for most Brighton Walsh fans, this isn’t likely to hurt the novel in any drastic manner, as the characters are not any less captivating or compelling. Captive might not be for everyone, especially those readers seeking to consume dark romance in its truest form. Captive is none the less one of Brighton’s more impressive works.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Brighton Walsh

Leave a Reply