Book Notification

Brock and Poole Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Brock and Poole Mystery Books

Working Girl (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Light Fantastic (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whiplash (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kicking the Air (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whispering Grass (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Drumfire (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lost or Found (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jack in the Box (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Breach of Privilege (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Quiet on Arrival (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gunrunner (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Make Them Pay (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reckless Endangerment (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Exit Stage Left (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suddenly at Home (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadlock (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Naked Flames (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Brock and Poole series is a crime fiction that was written by a British writer Graham Ison. Graham Ison is an ex- policeman who has served for more than 30 years before he started to focus on writing novels.

The Brock and Poole series is about main character Harry Brock, a Detective Chief Inspector and Poole is his assistant and a detective sergeant who is only 28years of age. Even though they have wide age difference they have mutual respect. They both have been trying to stop smoking but they constantly find themselves smoking.

Brock is a bit slender and about 6ft tall, with a youthful look although he is about 45 years old. He is very keen with what he decides to wear.

Brock married a German girl when he was 24 years but later got divorced after 16 years in marriage. Brock later claims that the only benefit he managed to get from that marriage was learning how to speak German fluently. His father is dead while his mother Sheila Brock is alive and lives in Streatham.

Poole is of a Caribbean descent and went to the London University where he graduated in English. He also plays piano and has a really good voice. He is married to his wife Madeline who is 25 years and she is a principal dancer.

The Brock and Poole series features 14 books which Graham Ison wrote, which include Working Girl, Light Fantastic, Whiplash, Kicking the air, Whispering Grass and many more.

Working Girl.

This book being the first book in the series, it starts with a brutal murder of Monica Purvis. She was a young beautiful prostitute and her body was found inside her room.

Monica Purvis was a nymphomaniac as well as a convent girl. She used to keep handcuffs and a whip for some of her special customers. Brook and Poole are assigned this case. They start off investigating Monica’s murder which grows even more intense, when more corpses start to turn up but still they do not have any major lead on the case.

As you go on reading it becomes more interesting since the case takes them in circles, they think they have finally discovered what truly happened but to their surprise they come to realise that they are heading the wrong direction.

At some point they eventually manage to arrest a suspect though they are not that certain whether he is the person who is responsible for Monica’s murder. In this book you can tell the author is very familiar with how a detective mind works and what they really go through in order to find the main criminal, based on Grahams experience as an officer he has managed to put it well in this story which makes it look so interesting, classy and authentic.

The most enjoyable part of this book is the fact that, it has nice suspense and for those readers who love crime fiction books they would find it even more interesting to read.

Light Fantastic.

This is the second sequel in The Brock and Poole mystery series. It also starts when a lady is found to have been murdered in a Hampstead townhouse at Notting Hill at her marital home, and right beside her is another body of an unknown person. The lady is the wife of a barrister

The police at first, assume that the two are husband and wife that is, the successful lawyer Andrew Light and his wife but they later on come to find out that the woman’s husband Andrew Light is in Sweden on a business trip.

This case is assigned to Brock and Poole who is his loyal sidekick. Brock and Poole finds it difficult to figure out who is the man who was shot dead beside Andrew Light’s wife and who the killer might be. After further investigation they later on come to realise that the woman used to be a nude dancer and the man found dead beside her was a former homosexual actor.

This case forces Brock and Poole to go into depth and visit the criminal underworld of drug smuggling, prostitution, sex clubs to investigate the murder.

This book shows how far detectives have to go and what they have to go through in order to obtain evidence, clue and a lead to help them solve their cases.

The book is engaging and it makes the reader to keep guessing who the killer might be. The Brock and Poole series illustrates a police procedural that is very well-written by the author Graham Ison.

The rest of the books in The Brock and Poole series involve crime fiction of different stories being developed after every book, whereby Brock and Poole always have to find a way to solve the crimes no matter what it takes.

Graham Ison’s experience in the army as an officer and being involved in some espionage cases has made him be the great writer that he is now, since in this crime mystery book series of The Brock and Poole, he has managed to put across interesting twists and puzzles that keeps the reader guessing who might be the culprit.

He has also managed to demonstrate real life situations in this mystery books series of Brock and Poole book and interesting characters that are developed throughout the books.

The third book in this Brock and Poole mystery series is Whiplash. Whiplash being the third book in the series continues to engage the readers with more original crime mysteries and hard to solve cases.

Even though Graham Ison began his writing career later after serving for over thirty years as a police officer, he has managed to build his writing career by coming up with different crime fiction stories that involve mysteries and real life situations that you as a reader can be able to relate to.

In conclusion, Graham Ison only used to write just as a hobby when he was a police officer, and now that he is an ex-policeman he is able to come up with creative original stories on crime fiction based on his experience as a police officer.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Brock and Poole

2 Responses to “Brock and Poole”

  1. Jeanne Rushin: 3 years ago

    Are there 2 different writers for the Brock & Poole series?

    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      As far as I am aware it is just Graham Ison writing.


Leave a Reply