Book Notification

Bruce DeSilva Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Liam Mulligan Books

Rogue Island (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cliff Walk (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Providence Rag (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Scourge of Vipers (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dread Line (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Staten Island Noir(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Providence Noir(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Down to the River(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Bruce DeSilva is one of the Edgar Award winning authors from The United States. He is well known for his successful crime fiction books, which have helped him to win several prestigious awards. The other prominent awards won by him other than the Edgar Award include the Macavity Award. The books written by author DeSilva have been listed as finalists on multiple occasions for Anthony, Barry, and Shamus Awards. They have even been translated and published in more than 10 foreign languages worldwide. Apart from the crime fiction novels, DeSilva has also written several short stories which have appeared in a few anthologies like the award winning urban noir series of the Akashic Pres. Author DeSilva has also worked as a reviewer and has given numerous reviews on crime fiction books in the Sunday Book Review, The Strand Magazine, The New York Times, and the Publishers Weekly. The book reviews that he has written for the Associated Press have featured in more than a hundred online and print publications. Before going on to become a novelist, DeSilva used to work as a journalist. He has spent a total of 40 years in this field and was most recently associated as a writing coach with The Associated Press on a worldwide scale. During the earlier days of his career, author DeSilva used to work as an editor. He even used to work as an investigative writer for The Providence Journal and as a national writer for The Hartford Courant.

The stories that author DeSilva has edited have helped him to win almost all the major prizes in journalism such as the Polk Award, the Robert F. Kennedy, the Livingston, Batton Medal, as well as the Ernie Pyle award. Author DeSilva has helped edit a couple of Pulitzer Prize finalists and even a winner of the same award. While working as a consultant, author DeSilva was associated with more than 50 news channel organizations. He has also had a short teaching career in which he used to teach at the Graduate Journalism School at the Columbia University and the Michigan University. DeSilva has also delivered guest lectures at the Nieman Foundation of the Harvard University. At a number of professional gatherings taking place around the city, author DeSilva used to be the most sought after speaker. These included the Bouchercon, the National Writers Workshops, the Thrillerfest, and the Conference of Abroad Writers. Author Bruce DeSilva was born in Taunton, Massachusetts, United States. He spent most of his growing up days in his tiny mill town. From very early in his life he was influenced by the popular written works of some of the famous writers like Dashiell Hammett, Raymond Chandler, and James Ellroy. DeSilva was so much intrigued by the mystery and thriller genre novels that he also wished to become an established crime writer after growing up. He is married Patricia Smith, who is an award winning poet by profession. As of today, author DeSilva lives in Howell, New Jersey, along with his loving wife and a couple of pet dogs. One of them is a huge Bernese Mountain Dog called as Brady and the other one is a loveable mutt known as Rondo. Author DeSilva likes to spend most of his time writing crime novels. Whenever he gets any spare time, he likes to spend them with his wife and dogs.

A successful novel series written by author Bruce DeSilva is titled as ‘Liam Mulligan’ series. It is comprised of 4 books in total, which were published between the years 2010 and 2015. An early book released in this series is titled as ‘Rogue Island’, which was published by the Forge Books in the year 2010. The introductory plot of this book introduces Liam Mulligan as an old fashioned man. He is often compared to the likes of a typical newspaper man and lives in Providence, Rhode Island. Liam is described as having the knowledge of each and every alley and street of his town. He seems to have contacts with the prostitutes, priests, local thugs, as well as the police officers. Author DeSilva has also depicted that Liam Mulligan knows several politicians and mobsters, whom he considers to be the same. As the novel progresses, Liam Mulligan comes to know that someone is trying to burn down the neighborhood in which he grew up, in a systematic manner. The flames of the fire have caused a number of his loving and caring to perish away. The situation grows so much tensed that the people of the town begin to panic. In such testing times, Liam Mulligan is required to search through the colorful group of characters to uncover the truth. In the process, he has to prevent the city of Providence from getting burned down to ashes. The novel opened to great reviews from one and all. It went on to become extremely successful all over the world. The success helped author DeSilva win the Edgar Award for this novel. This motivated and encouraged him to write a few more mystery & thriller books in this series as well as in others. It resulted in writing down 3 more equally interesting books in the Liam Mulligan series.

The next book of the Liam Mulligan series was published under the title ‘Cliff Walk’. It was also released by the Forge Books publication in the year 2012. The story described in this book by author DeSilva is set in Rhode Island, United States. As the story begins, it is depicted that prostitution has been made a legal profession in Rhode Island for over a decade. Liam Mulligan, who is once again introduced as an investigative reporter working in a Providence newspaper agency, suspects that the government is drawing huge amounts of commission for keeping it that way. Along with this, some other stories make the headlines in Providence. One of them is the discovery of a severed arm of a child from a garbage pile at a local pig farm. After that, the dead body of a pornographer is discovered at the base of the popular Cliff Walk in Newport. Initially, both the killings appear as random ones, but when Liam Mulligan continuously keeps digging into the sex business of the state, he finds some strange connections. He gets several warnings from the culprits and a promise of sexual pleasures if stops the investigation. The discoveries of Liam make him question his sexual morality, beliefs and shake his religious faith. The novel turns out to be a hard boiled mystery that explores religion and sex in the pornography age. Its success emerged as a giant leap in author Bruce DeSilva’s writing career.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Bruce DeSilva

Leave a Reply