Book Notification

Bruce Robert Coffin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Detective Byron Books

Among the Shadows (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beneath the Depths (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beyond the Truth (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Within Plain Sight (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Turner and Mosley Files Books

with LynDee Walker
The General's Gold (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cardinal's Curse (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pirate's Secret (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Impediment (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Writers Crushing COVID-19(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Masthead(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Great Filling Station Holdup(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bloodroot: Best New England Crime Stories(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Nightshade: Best New England Crime Stories 2022(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Cat Weekly 127(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Bruce Robert Coffin

Bruce Robert Coffin is an American mystery, crime, and thriller writer and an Agatha Award Winner for the Best Contemporary Novel 2018. He writes from his experience working in law enforcement for close to 30 years. Before retiring from the Maine Police Department, Coffin worked for four years with the FBI in counter-terrorism. All of Coffin’s experience in law enforcement becomes clear as in his thriller series Detective John Byron where experienced detectives take on lawbreakers and high-rank individuals who feel that they are above the law.

Among the Shadows

Among the Shadows is the first book in the Detective John Byron thriller series. The book features second-generation police officer, Detective Sergeant John Byron. It’s set in Portland, Maine, where the sweltering temperatures of summer have gone down, and the residents are looking forward to a return in normalcy as the tourists leave. However, there is disruption of calm after retired cop is murdered.

Detective John takes the lead in investigating this case. Despite the storms in his personal life, John is determined to find the killers and bring them to book. As the pieces of information he gathers begin to make sense, another ex-Portland PD officer loses his life under suspicious circumstances. Investigations show that these two deaths are linked to a bank robbery that happened 30 years ago. John discovers that most of the people involved in that case are not willing to talk or share vital information that could help solve the murder puzzle. He will have to do all the work and go back in time to find all the bank robbery details on this own. The case turns personal when John discovers that the bank robbery and the current happenings are somehow linked to his deceased father. From this point, it does not matter that his relentless search for the truth puts his life in great danger.

From the findings, it is clear that Detective John was not wrong in suspecting that the two cases are somehow related. The more he works on these cases, the more it becomes apparent that his life is in danger. Away from detective work, John’s life is in shambles. His father’s suicide still haunts him mainly because he was the one who found his lifeless body. John’s marriage is no more, and all the signs point to a nasty divorce. John drinks a little too much, and this is understandable, given the circumstance. However, his weaknesses do not prevent him from doing his job and completing all tasks related to his role to perfection.

Reading this book, it is evident that Coffin is knowledgeable on police procedures, the character of detectives, and the politics surrounding police departments. Every investigative process is described in great detail, making it easy for the reader to imagine what is happening at any given point.
Among the Shadows is a fast-paced read with interesting twists that will have you questioning your conclusions on these cases. The writing is descriptive so readers can not only visualize the surround but also feel the characters’ emotions. The cast is colorful, and the lead character is strong yet flawed enough to draw readers in and make them invest in his fate. If you are a fun of police procedure thrillers, Among the Shadows will have you hooked and leave you yearning for more of Coffin’s writing.

Beneath the Depths

Beneath the Depths is the second book in the Detective John Byron series. The book picks a few months after the last. Detective John Byron is at it again, and this time, he’s determined to prove that no one is above the law.
The first chapter starts with the death of one of Portland’s hotshot lawyer. Paul Ramsey’s body was discovered dumped in Cusco Bay. The circumstances leading to his death show that there is no way that Paul drowned accidentally. There must be a connection with the multimillion-dollar trial that Paul lost recently.
Before his death, Paul was having one hell of a day. For one, he had just lost a case where he expected to reap millions. He goes to the bar to drown his sorrows and picks a fight with some random guy. What he does not know is that he picked the wrong guy to fight with, and his body will be the next thing to be fished out of the ocean.

This journey gives a glimpse into the dark side of Portland. At the center of the case is a prominent legal firm in the area involved in some shady dealings and strippers who do more than entertain their guests in the strip clubs of Maine. The story also shows the challenges that good law enforcement officers are faced with both in the workplace and at home. At a point during the investigation, it will become politically incorrect for Paul Ramsey to continue digging. However, this does not deter this talented detective from looking for the truth. No stone is left unturned, and new evidence is gathered from the most unlikely quarters.

If you have a knack for police investigation procedure, character development, and scene description, the Beneath the Depths thriller will not disappoint you. You will not only get to follow experienced detectives through their investigations, but you will also get a chance to see how they live. The lead character, John, is everything but perfect. He is having a taboo relationship with his junior Diane, and it is clear that his life is a mess. Despite all this, John is a lovable character. His imperfections make it easy for readers to identify with him despite him. The rest of the cast is equally intruding, and it is interesting to learn about their strengths, weaknesses, and life as a whole.

The plot in this book is intricate and intriguing, and it helps that it unfolds organically. The dialogue flows, and the strategically placed twist will catch you by surprise. The story is beautifully written, and it is safe to say that this is a page-turner that will keep you up and night and excite you from start to finish.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Bruce Robert Coffin

One Response to “Bruce Robert Coffin”

  1. Gail Blanton: 2 months ago

    Just finished In Plain Sight. Bruce, I want more!


Leave a Reply