Book Notification

Bruno, Chief of Police Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bruno, Chief Of Police Books

Bruno, Chief of Police / Death in the Dordogne (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dark Vineyard (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Black Diamond (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Crowded Grave (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Devil's Cave (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bruno and the Carol Singers / Bruno and le Pere Noel (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Resistance Man (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Children Return / Children of War / Death Undercover (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Market Tale (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dying Season / The Patriarch (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fatal Pursuit (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Templars' Last Secret (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Taste for Vengeance (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Chocolate War (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Body in the Castle Well (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Birthday Lunch (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Oystercatcher (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Shooting at Chateau Rock (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Coldest Case (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bruno's Challenge and Other Stories of the French Countryside (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
To Kill a Troubadour (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Chateau Under Siege (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Chief of Police is an engaging series of books on the intrigues and captivating plots of an investigator who has to find a murderer with the pressure coming in from different higher ups. The investigator, Bruno whose real name is Brunoit gets to a new small town where as he begins to settle down and get accustomed to the ways of the peaceful town a murder of one of the local takes place.

The character Bruno whose past shows us an orphaned boy as a result of abandonment then joins the military service for over 10 years and gets a medal of courage later on. After he leaves the army he chooses to carry his retirement in the small town in St. Denis where he is the chief of police and the only policeman present in the village. He is the only reliable person to solve the murder of one of the town’s residents.

He becomes involved in almost all the towns cultures and understands its culture. The time he spends with the war veterans who cannot speak, he is a mentor to the kids in the town and has a rapport with the bakers and cheese makers as we soon find out he is a great chef with quite the culinary skills. Apart from this general outlook he knows the secrets of the town. He gets to know the families that don’t get along and why, the people having an affair and their political views.

His role before the murder is to stop illegal activities between the farmers and the traders. He is a charming arbitrator and he knows practically everyone in the village. He takes part in the community life being in dances, playing tennis with the Baron and playing with the kids. The town has a population of 2000 or less and everyone knows each other.

After the murder of the Algerian national and the arrival of detectives and the national police to help solve this crime Bruno has the advantage of knowing who would most likely be the suspect. The fact that it was a foreign national demands the attention of the national police as the foreign countries put pressure on France to solve the murder as it might be seen as a racial attack. The series follows the trail Bruno takes in finding the truth and includes a lot of plots and twists that make this law enforcement series worth reading.

Bruno gets to this part of the world after being recommended by a friend to the Mayor of the town. His past love life ended badly for him with the lady ending up dead and this affects his sense of duty and shapes his character to always fight injustice and enforce the law to protect those who can’t protect themselves.

The series follows Bruno as he solves different crimes and tries to safeguard the culture and life of this small town. The crimes he has to solve range from murder to burglary to rescue mission. This series also has an international framework related to other countries involvement. It also talks about the time in the army giving a real picture of history through one person’s eyes and experience. It also includes the experiences of the French North Africans during the De Gaulle period in time.

The reader will resonate with the character of Bruno as he is not portrayed as a man with superheroes but merely an easy going guy trying to find the truth in each series. He is charming and you will find yourself feeling what he feels and trying to protect him from any harm from the would be perpetrators and the politicians putting pressure and demanding cases to be closed toute de suite.

The series will also introduce a different side of France apart from the glamour and flashy lights of Paris. The book will take you to the quiet village where the real culture of France is shown. The tastes, sounds and colors are revealed in the opening chapters of the book and create a mental picture of the place and of its people. You also get to learn the attitudes of the people not all of them get along due to the war and the resistance. Everyone picks a side and some people avoid each other completely based on their beliefs.

The series may represent an old town with not too much development but it does include topics that are quite relevant today. Gayism, racialism, effects on war then and presently. These topics will change your beliefs and understand how Bruno accepts all of this and tries to be a friend to all.

The Chief of Police series is quite informative on all the aspects of France and Bruno represents a character that has gone through the country’s tough times with personal loss and endurance and finally leaves the intrigues and fast life to settle in this small town where he hopes to find a love interest and settle with children of his own. Coming to this village he finds different people who have already accomplished all he has ever wanted in a serene environment and he is incorporated into the community with everyone coming to know him and like him. He makes friends and occasionally cooks for them. Being so involved and the only policeman and police chief in the village he is willing to protect the values of the people he has come to love fervently. With this attitude and the things he has learnt from the people around he is able to go through evidence in various crimes with a unique understanding that helps him follow a certain investigative path to find the culprit without bias or sensationalism.

Basically the Chief of Police series centers around a man, Bruno willing to get justice for the victims and keep this new place he calls home safe from anyone who would want to break that peace apart. The France setting of the village shows a people independent from the fast life but still capable of the evils found almost everywhere in the world and it’s up to the policeman to put a stop to these crimes. The series will keep you interested from one book to the next.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Bruno, Chief of Police

One Response to “Bruno, Chief of Police”

  1. Natalie: 1 year ago

    I have been enjoying reading about Bruno and am now on book 5 and looking forward to reading lots more.


Leave a Reply