Book Notification

Byrnes Family Ranch Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Byrnes Family Ranch Books

Texas Blood Feud (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Between Hell and Texas (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood on the Verde River (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brothers in Blood (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ambush Valley (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Good Day To Kill (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Arizona Territory (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pray for the Dead (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Is the Night (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Valley of Bones (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sharpshooter (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rage for Vengeance (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Byrnes Family Ranch” series by Dusty Richards is a historical fiction series following Chet Byrnes, a patriarch of the Byrnes, who is trying to keep his family together, and trying to get them through one more winter and one more cattle drive. Chet’s top priority is to keep his family safe at all times; even if it means that he must put his own needs and desires aside. The Byrnes family came to Texas long ago and carved out their own piece of land in the territory. Three generations of Byrnes have worked on the land and paid to keep it with blood, tears, and money. The series is set in the old west (1800s), in Texas. The novels are of the western genre.

Over the course of the series, the Byrnes family will be tested. They will succeed at times, and fail at other times. The Byrnes will be forced to make certain sacrifices that they never thought that they would ever be required to make. They will be forced to start over and begin again due to certain things that happen over the course of the first novel.

“Texas Blood Feud” is the first book in the “Byrnes Family Ranch” series. After Chet Byrnes hangs three men for stealing horses, a blood feud happens that will destroy Chet’s life. The family of the men Chet hanged do not take kindly to what he’s done (even though the hangings were just) and both sides suffer and more family members die as a result. The other family murders the Byrnes family’s livestock, and from there, the bodies start piling up. Chet has a chance to get married once again to his fiance.

Fans of the novel say that the characters found in the book are real, there is no problem loving them or hating them, and you can’t help but want to know more about them. In the book, you will find a lot to like, with good and bad times that come with being a rancher. Some fans liked the way the author goes into detail about the ins and outs of the ranching lifestyle. Readers feel that Richards does a great job of capturing the old west (dialogue that captures the speech of the time, strong characters- both men and women, and it captures the atmosphere of the time period).

Some readers did not like the book, and felt that the writing was bad in places; robbing the reader of a full experience. Parts of the novel felt like Richards was rushing through them, and did not devote enough attention to them. Some felt that the editing could have been better in the book; they felt that the book could have been great but the writing also held it back.

“Between Hell and Texas” is the second book in the “Byrnes Family Ranch” series. After Chet Byrnes life falls apart, after a bloody feud destroys his homestead and his woman leaves him, he goes to find a new place to hang his hat. It will not be easy for him to start fresh. He takes his clan to New Mexico (with the plan to settle in Arizona), where things are harsh and haunted. Cagle, Chet’s brother who has been missing for fifteen years, returns after living with the Comanche reappears. He is not the only one to pop back up in the Byrnes’s life. Chet finds the path of a killer that he wants to see answer for all his crimes.

Some fans liked the way Richards writes his novels and fills them with romance, the depth of the characters and their relationships with the other characters, fighting, the old west time period, and details on how cowboys used to live. Readers love the page turning tales that Richards weaves with this series. Some like the aspect of the novels that show Chet taking responsibility for his family.

Some of the writing, some feel, is poor; conversations running together causes people not to know who is even talking. This makes them struggle to get very far in the book. More readers complain that RIchards needs to do a better job with his writing, they felt he is an amateur.

“Blood on the Verde River” is the third book in the “Byrnes Family Ranch” series. Six hundred miles from where the Byrnes clan used to call home, they have started building their new life. They have been through a lot, with all that they can create for themselves. The Arizona landscape has opened its arms to Chet and the Byrnes family. Just because they are in a new state, does not mean that all is well and that everything is without danger. They still are deep in danger. There are outlaws trying to kill everyone they come across, and a rancher trying to start a war with Chet by running his herd on Chet’s land.

Fans of the book liked that the book is not just simply a romance novel masquerading as a western novel. Fans love the way Richards blends romance, drama, history, and humor all into a nice package that keeps readers turning the pages long into the wee hours of the night. Plenty of entertainment and action; giving readers a taste of what it was like to live in those times out on the frontier. The novels are fast paced and require readers to buy the new installments right when they come out.

Some fans felt the book dropped the ball on this installment, and leaves the fans hanging after the first two quality books in the series. They also feel that Richards writes with a simplistic vocabulary (but that’s how they talked back in these times). Some did not like that a lot of characters around Chet are getting fatally wounded whereas he has not.

The author, with help from his wife, has developed an encyclopedic knowledge of the old west (as well as a pretty nice library). He grew up on farms, raising livestock, riding horses, and enjoying the life that comes with living on the range. He also enjoyed reading every western novel his library had and watching western movies. All this contributes to creating very accurate and precise novels set in the old west.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Byrnes Family Ranch

2 Responses to “Byrnes Family Ranch”

  1. Gerry Power: 1 year ago

    Hi I am a Louis L’Amour fan.Ihave read every book.I read Between Hell and Texas and I was well entertained.Dusty captured the simple and the honest way a person should leed there lives.Well done.I will read the next book.cheers

  2. SARAH E PARSLOW: 2 years ago

    Are there going to be more in the Byrnes family series after Rage of Vengeance?


Leave a Reply