Book Notification

C. Hope Clark Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Caroline Slade Mysteries Books

Lowcountry Bribe (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tidewater Murder (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Palmetto Poison (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Newberry Sin (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Salkehatchie Secret (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Craven County Mysteries Books

Murdered in Craven (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Burned in Craven (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Edisto Island Mysteries Books

Murder on Edisto (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edisto Jinx (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Echoes of Edisto (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edisto Stranger (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dying on Edisto (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edisto Tidings (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reunion on Edisto (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edisto Heat (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Badge of Edisto (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edisto Bullet (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edge of Edisto (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Funds for Writers (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shy Writer (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shy Writer Reborn (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Build a Writing Team (With: Gina Marie Barlean) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best of FundsforWriters, Vol. 1 (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Writing Contests with Hope (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Romance and Mystery Authors on Writing: Tips on the Writing Process, Publishing and Marketing(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

C Hope Clark
C Hope Clark is a mystery writer who was born and bred in the South, starting with Mississippi to Georgia and South Carolina. Clark graduated with a B.S in Agriculture and has worked in the U.S Department of Agriculture for over two years. She is also a granddaughter to a cotton farmer in Mississippi. Her protagonist in the Caroline Slade Mystery series is a lot like Clark in real life, which explains how well this character is developed. Clark retired early after a long career to concentrate on her love for writing and creating stories.

Murder on Edisto
Murder on Edisto is the first book in The Edisto Island Mysteries series. The book introduces retired detective Callie Jean Morgan. Following the death of her husband, Callie is back in the idyllic small town in Edisto Beach, South Carolina, where the family owns a cozy cottage. Callie wants to mourn her husband and shield her son, Jeb, from further threats by the same men who killed his father. Edisto Beach would be an ideal hideout away from past horrors and detective work. However, when detective Callie gets to town, she discovers that an elderly neighbor and her childhood mentor has been murdered. Things get thick when the killer starts taunting her and repeatedly violates her home.

When the threat extends to the community, Callie is thrust back into detective work. What she doesn’t know is that the sinister killer is tied to her past. Callie is determined to turn Edisto Beach to the paradise it used to be before all this madness started. The town’s police chief warns her to stay away from the case, but Callie will not be deterred, even by a handsome detective. Once the police chief realizes that she will not back down, he decides to let her help in the investigation, and whatever they discover leaves them stunned. What will Callie find out about the break-ins in her home and neighborhood? Should Callie be worried for her life considering all that is going on in her life?

This tale is complex and makes a great story. Everything flows well, so you will not get lost trying to figure out what is going on. The suspense and the characters are enjoyable, and so is the beautiful setting. It is amazing how the author artistically intertwines the characters’ flaws and strengths, so you get to see them at their best and worst. At the heart of this story is a criminal with frightening boldness, multiple suspects, potential suitors for Callie, and eccentric neighbors. Why does the killer keep on taunting Callie? Will she manage to catch him/her in the end?

Murder on Edisto is a fast-paced, well-written southern mystery with a kick-ass Boston detective as the protagonist. The action starts from the first page, and the pace doesn’t ease up to the end. There are a lot of twists in the story, and each turn will come with enough surprises. With a killer who is always a step ahead of this Boston detective, the ending just is as explosive as the beginning. Fortunately, the author answers all the questions you may have, apart from what Callie will be doing in the future. This book is perfect if you are in the mood for a good mystery story.

Lowcountry Bribe
Lowcountry Bribe is the first book in the Caroline Slade Mystery series. The book stars Caroline Slade, a federal county manager handling loans for the farmers. Caroline is also a mother of two children, Ivy and Zack. When she is offered a bribe in the case involving an abandoned Williams Ranch, Caroline doesn’t know how to act. While she doesn’t take it, the detective wonders whether it is really necessary to report the incident, given the fact that the farmer seems like a good person. However, when she thinks about her job and how she needs it now that her marriage is on the rocks, Caroline decides to report the bribe case.

Immediately Caroline submits her report; two agents are sent to investigate, including the attractive Wayne Largo. Soon enough, Caroline starts getting threats from different people, and it is clear that the farmer knows that she told on him. The heartbreaking thing is that these threats are not just directed to her but also her children. Wayne is handling her case, and while every bit of her wants to feel secure in his arms, Caroline is not sure he can be trusted. What if he is a rogue agent, and he came to ensure that the people threatening her finish what they started? How far will Caroline need to go to protect her children?

Given all the attention this case is receiving from Atlanta, it is clear that there is more than bribery involved. Slade, who is used to sitting behind a desk and helping farmers get funds for their farms, is thrust into the investigative world where she has to prove that the pig farmer tried to bribe her. To make matters worse, the threats are directed to the people she loves most, so Slade also has to keep a close look at her children. It turns out this is not the first time the notorious farmer had tried this trick. Others have politely declined the bribe offer, but they never reported it.
This story is told in the first person, and while this may be limiting for some authors, Clark handles it pretty well. The suspense and danger keep on increasing, and it doesn’t ease up until the last page. Caroline is a likable character, and it is sweet how she is dedicated to ensuring a comfortable life for her children, even if that may mean leaving their verbally abusive father. The storyline will keep you turning the pages, and the writing is nothing but flawless.

Lowcountry Bribe tells the story of a hardworking, efficient, and smart government employee who is caught up in a huge mess. After innocently reporting a pig farmer who tried to bribe her, Slade ends up putting her and her loved ones’ lives in danger. The story flows well, the protagonist is lovable, and the rising tension will keep you turning the pages.

Book Series In Order » Authors » C. Hope Clark

Leave a Reply