Book Notification

C.J. Adrien Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kindred of the Sea Books

The Line of His People (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Oath of the Father (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Saga of Hasting the Avenger Books

The Lords of the Wind (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Shadow of the Beast (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Kings of the Sea (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Road to Malheur (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Patta's Empire: Have Faith in Me (With: Pattaraporn Lorwatcharasophon) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

C.J. Adrien is a published French-American author. He is known for writing historical fiction centered around Vikings and admits that he has a passion for the subject of Viking history.

C.J. was born on September 18, 1987, and is a best-selling author. Fans of his books are likely now also fans of the period of time where Vikings were conquering and active on the world stage. The research that he took on to get ready for his doctoral program centered around the topic of early medieval history is what inspired him to write his series, Kindred of the Sea, and The Saga of Hasting the Avenger series as well. The novels were also influenced by writers of historical fiction that he admired, which include writers such as Ken Follett and Bernard Cornwell.

The author is not only just a writer but a historian and a published one when it comes to the topic of Vikings. He has written several articles that are held in high regard that have been published in historical journals that include but are not limited to France’s L’Association des Amis de Noirmoutier. Adrien has written several novels on the topic and his experience, knowledge and total expertise on the subject have translated into the author being invited to several different international events to be present and address the audience as a speaker. These have included going to France to give Viking history conferences, to speak at the Oregon Museum of Science, and to make an appearance at the International Medieval Congress hosted by the University of Leeds.

He is well versed on the topic as he attended the well respected University of Oregon to study history and graduated with his bachelor’s degree. He would then go to Oregon State University to get his Master’s degree. He plans to move on to another university when he finds the right one so that he can finally take on his doctoral thesis and get it completed. Today he is a best-selling author and frequently is consulted about questions or topics regarding Viking history.

C.J. Adrien is the creator and author of the Kindred of the Sea series of fictional novels. The series first became available to readers in 2013. The book is set in France and takes place long before current times as the debut opens up in 799 A.D. The second novel in the series was titled The Oath of the Father and was released in 2015.

The Line of His People is the first novel to come out in the fictional series Kindred of the Sea by C.J. Adrien. This is a book that is perfect for people that are into history or Vikings and want to read a story that involves that theme! If you want something new to read or love historical novels, this series is a great read to pick up.

The time is 799 A.D. and Vikings are out and active. They struck quickly and moved fast, going at dawn to sack the monastery. Then they took the village that surrounded it and began burning it. When they saw villagers or anyone come across their way, they simply cut them down. Countless people in the Vikings’ path were slaughtered.

As a result, Saint Philbert’s relics were also lost to time and the monastery on the island was also lost, abandoned by the people that formerly lived there as they fled from the invading warriors. Now some time has gone by, but there are those that still remember when the Vikings came in and caused chaos.

The raid also generated several orphans, including one called Abriel. Years have gone by, but now the orphan is looking to get back the relics so that he can hopefully put them in their rightful place. All that he wants to do is get Saint Philbert’s bones and have them restored. It will take him going on a perilous journey to do so, one that does not guarantee that he will survive it.

When he comes across the Vikings, he finds that have taken over the island now that the monks have left. He knows that they have the answers to how he can find the relics. Abriel does not yet know it, but he must go North if he wants to discover his fate. Can he get the relics back and restore them to where they belong? Will he make it through this journey? Read the first novel in this series to find out!

The Oath of the Father is the engaging second novel in C.J. Adrien’s Kindred of the Sea series! This sequel is set in the year 822 A.D. in France. The story picks up where it left off with Abriel Haraldsson, the orphan that grew up to become a man.

He may be an adult, but he’s also an adult that’s now on the run. He went through combat and some kind individuals transported him to a monastery close by so that he could heal. They also do him the favor of faking his death and getting him to a distant island so that he can recover as well as convert his faith.

When the people hear rumors that the king has passed, a new problem arises. Suitors come to Herius and swarm the island, all with the goal of asking Queen Kenna to marry them. The goal is not love but to get the power and the kingdom that she has access to.

Out of all the men is Turgeis, a strong man and a warlord that is known by many for his powerful ability in battle and also the taste that he has for violence and blood. He stands out as he focuses on the queen and his intentions to marry her.

But when Abriel’s recovery becomes news thanks to a distant messenger, this warlord is infuriated. He takes to the water and sets a course, sailing to make sure that this king never gets the chance to come back. Will he be successful, or is Abriel too strong to take down? Read this ninth-century action and adventure packed book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » C.J. Adrien

Leave a Reply