Book Notification

C J Carver / Caroline Carver Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dan Forrester Books

Spare Me the Truth (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tell Me a Lie (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Know Me Now (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Harry Hope Books

Publication Order of India Kane Books

as Caroline Carver

Publication Order of Jay McCaulay Books

Gone Without Trace (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Honest Assassin (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Back with Vengeance (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Beneath the Snow (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Over Your Shoulder (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Snow Thief (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scare Me To Death (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

C J Carver is a pseudonym used by Caroline Carver, a British mystery author. She was born in 1959 and raised in the UK before relocating to Australia. Her father was a fighter pilot in the Aussie Fleet Air Army. She was raised on a dairy farm, and at the age of 18, she went to London. Four years later she went on a holiday in Australia which turned to be a ten-year- stay as she worked in the Sidney arm of major publishers.

Caroline Carver has also worked as a travel writer and a rally driver of long distances, and she is founder judge of Women’s World Car of The Year Award. Her debut novel, Blood Junction, won the CWA Debut Dagger, shortlisted for the Barry award in the USA and listed by Publishers Weekly as among the best novels of the year. Her book, Spare Me the Truth, was selected in the Ngaio Marsh Award in 2017. Carver has written nine more books which were published in the UK, USA and have been translated into 16 different languages

Blood Junction

Blood Junction is the debut novel in Indian Kane’s series. The story starts with an event that occurred earlier when a group of men is attacked and killed in a town in the Australian outback. This marks the beginning of a series of bloodsheds in that area some years later when a pharmaceutical company brings racism to another level. A character named India Cane who is a journalist is thrown into this while she is on a mission to find her lost family in the Australian outback. Her car breaks down far from her destination and becomes stranded on the way. Several hours later a man who mentions his name as Tiger an ex-cop picks her.

Tiger takes India in the hotel where she is to meet her long term friend, Lauren, but she doesn’t find her there Tiger then takes her to another hotel, and they don’t find her there either, and India opts to sleep. She has no idea of the town’s dark history and forty years back when her whole family was massacred there. The next morning she goes to Cooinda to check her car, and she finds that it has not been taken for repair yet. Group of people appears accusing her of killing the cop and arrested. Another body is found with that of the police, and her identity shows that she is Lauren Kennedy. India is accused since she was the last person to see the cop alive.

India has to prove herself innocent since she is aware that there someone behind it who has framed her for the murder and she also plans to know why her friend Lauren was killed. She goes to the morgue to see Lauren’s body a lady they have been friends since childhood and she feels very sad. India finds that Lauren was being investigated which might have led to her death. Several law enforcement officers interrogate her, but they find no evidence to keep her behind bars. While in jail she meets Mikey whom they become friends. Mikey is released the following morning, and later the police decide also to release India since there is no evidence against her. She ends up relating the deaths to the massacre and later discovers awful yet beautiful truth about her past of what happened to her family and finds more information about her family tree when dealing with the charges and the power of the pharmaceutical company assisted by Mikey.

The author created a sophisticated but readable story which is realistic as such things occasionally happen in the real world. The story is thrilling with twists and turns which keep you flipping pages while gripping the book tightly eager to see what will happen.

Spare Me the Truth

Spare Me the Truth is the debut novel in the Dan Forrester series about three characters; Dan Forrester, Grace Reavey, and Lucy Davies. Dan Forrester is putting his life back together after the sudden death of his son when he is approached by a lady who informs him everything concerning his past life and tells him about his son was just a lie. Since Forrester is suffering from a memory loss, he is assisted by Grace Reavey, the daughter of the woman who approaches him. He soon finds out that he was more than a civil servant in his past life as he assists Grace to unveil her mother’s secrets. Grace is still mourning at her mother’s funeral when she is threatened to pay her mother’s debts or lose everything she owns.

Lucy Davies is trying to work on murders and trying to bring together the victims. She hunts for the killer in this small town now that she has to prove herself capable in her new post. She has been a loner and doesn’t relate well with other people, and that’s the reason she is trying to change.
The three characters seem connected in their desperate cases. They come together while each is looking for the truth without minding what it will cost them. Their investigations become entwined as the story continues.

The book is fascinating with charming characters who we determined to find the truth about them keeping you entertained as you read between the lines of the story.

Tell Me a Lie

Tell Me a Lie is the second book in Dan Forrester series and has characters similar to those in Spare Me the Truth. Lucy and Dan are involved in other cases again but each with a different one which comes to converge eventually. The converging this time happens earlier after their partnership though they spend very little time together. The story shows how evil things happen to one family. The author points out that Dan’s investigation is because of his wife’s involvement since she does not seem useful in the case he is currently working on.

The author uses twists and turns in the story which keeps you guessing while flipping pages the book has a lot of actions and then author introduces complexity in the course of the story keeping the pace in motion.

Book Series In Order » Authors » C J Carver / Caroline Carver

Leave a Reply