Book Notification

C.S Challinor Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Rex Graves Mystery Books

Christmas is Murder (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Raw (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Phi Beta Murder (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Moor (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder of the Bride (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Dolphin Inn (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Say Murder With Flowers (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Say Goodbye to Archie (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Midnight (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Comes Calling (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prelude To Murder (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Judgment of Murder (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Upstaged by Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

C.S Challinor was born in Indiana. She did her schooling from Scotland and then attended university in England. She has always been extremely fond of traveling. Currently, she is living in South Florida. Many of her books are inspired from her travels. She is a huge fan of Agatha Christie. Agatha is considered as the best writer in the mystery genre and she wanted to follow that path. Many of her books pay homage to Agatha Christie. C.S Challinor also prefers to add a new location in each of her books. She believes that it makes her stories fresh and more appealing to the readers. She has visited all the locations mentioned in her books. She is also a bit of a perfectionist. She invests a lot of time in researching, so that none of the technical information provided is incorrect.

The ” Rex Graves Mystery Series” by C.S Challinor shot her to fame. It was extremely popular and was appreciated by thousands of readers. The first book of this series ” Christmas is Murder” was also in the Kindle Bestsellers list.

Her incredible writing talent has also earned her several nominations. She is a member of the Authors Guild. Her stories are also published in the Women’s Magazine in London.

” Rex Graves Mystery” by C.S Challinor is one of the best mystery series you will ever read. The first book of this series is titled ” Christmas is Murder”. Here we are first introduced to the central character of the series, Rex Graves. He is a barrister of Scottish origin who has now turned into an amateur sleuth.
While Rex was on one of his travels, an unexpected blizzard suddenly hit him. Somehow, he made his way to the Swanmere Manor. He was hoping to take some rest, enjoy some tennis and have a nice time. However, things didn’t go as per his plan. The name of the owner of that inn was Dahlia. She is a family friend of Rex. Her son was killed in Iraq and her husband also passed away. So, she decided to convert the house into an inn. When Rex arrived, there were also some other guests there. There was a World War 2 veteran, a literary agent from New York, a lady who just got divorced was also present along with her friend. Other than that, there was also an antiques dealer and a young couple. When they all sat down for tea, something unexpected happened. When the veteran took a bite from his tart, he instantly passed away. It seemed like a stroke or a heart attack at first. But when he was examined, it was found that that he did not die because of any natural reasons. Someone had poisoned him. After that, a series of bizarre events followed. The agent from New York was also struck by a candlestick on his head and then was pushed down the stairs. The divorced women was also killed in her sleep. Rex initially suspected that there must be something common between all the victims. However, he failed to find any common link. Because of the snow, Rex wasn’t also able to contact the police. It also wasn’t possible for anyone to leave the house in such weather conditions. Hence, the killer was one of them and living inside the house. It was up to Rex to utilize his detective skills and catch the killer before someone else died.

It is a very engaging book with a very good plot. The old remotely located country house serves as the perfect backdrop to the story. C.S. Challinor has also managed to make the characters very interesting. Each of them has a tinge of mystery to them. You will be eager to know more about the characters. The central character Rex is also very interesting and will soon become your favorite. The story is also full of twists and turns. You won’t be able to predict the killer until you have gone through the entire book.

The second book in this series is ” Murder in the Raw”. Rex has become a quite well known detective by now. He has received an invitation from Paul Winslow to fly over to a resort in the West Indies to investigate the sudden disappearance of an actress named Sabine. Rex accepted the offer and soon reached the resort. However, he was taken by surprise once he reached the resort. It turned out to be a nudist resort and he was welcomed by a complete naked Paul Winslow.

Rex was initially embarrassed at the thought of staying at a nudist resort. However, he was determined to find the reason behind her disappearance and hence decided to stay anyway. Just a while before she disappeared, Sabine went on for a solo walk. It was nothing unexpected, because she takes a solitary stroll every evening. During the investigation, the local cops found a mobile phone lying on the beach. The mobile phone belonged to Sabine’s husband. They also found a bracelet lying there which belonged to Sabine. Apart from that, some blood was also seen. It was believed that the blood was from her garments. It was a nudist resort, but during the time of dinner every guest generally put some clothing on. Rex was scared at the sight of the blood. It could have meant, that something serious had happened to Sabine. The local police believed that Sabine went for a swim in the sea and was attacked by sharks. However, Rex wasn’t convinced by that judgement. He knew that something was wrong and was determined to find it. He started his own investigation. He interviewed all the guests in the resort in the hope of finding some clues. However, he realized that he was going nowhere. The case was getting more complex gradually, and it was up to Rex to somehow come up with the reason behind the mysterious disappearance.

Like the previous book, this one was also very entertaining. There was a mysterious tone throughout the plot which will keep the readers hooked. Once you start reading this, you will end up finishing the book. It is impossible to stop midway.

Book Series In Order » Authors » C.S Challinor

Leave a Reply