Nick Petrie Series

C.S. Friedman Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of In Conquest Born Books

In Conquest Born (1987)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Wilding (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of The Coldfire Trilogy Books

Black Sun Rising (1991)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
When True Night Falls (1993)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Crown of Shadows (1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Vampire: The Dark Ages Books

The Erciyes Fragments (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of The Magister Trilogy Books

Feast of Souls (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wings of Wrath (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Legacy of Kings (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Dreamwalker Books

Dreamwalker (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dreamseeker (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dreamweaver (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Alien Shores Books

This Alien Shore (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
This Virtual Night (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Madness Season (1990)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Please Note: An earlier edition of this bio incorrectly stated that C.S. Friedman had given a vinegar bath to her cat. This is incorrect and was due to a misinterpretation from Quora and we apologise to Celia for this.

C.S. Friedman is a successful American novelist, who is popular for writing science fiction and fantasy books. Her books of speculative fiction are very popular all over the world. Author Friedman has contributed around 10 novels so far in her writing career, along with a few short stories. She has even penned a Sourcebook. Among the famous novel series of author Friedman, there a couple of trilogies named The Coldfire Trilogy and The Magister Trilogy, as well as two other book series. The Coldfire novels are very famous and successful in particular. Author Friedman was born on January 12, 1957 in New York City. She found her interest in fantasy and fiction stories at a very young age. However, she was not able to pursue a career in the writing field because of some other commitments. After getting done with her studies, author Friedman started working as a designer of costumes.

She used to deal in trades related to costume designing and earn her livelihood. Finally, it was in the year 1986 that she thought of giving a try to her career in publishing books. However, Friedman continued with costume designing on the sides until she went on to establish herself as a successful full time writer. Initially, Friedman used to write only in her spare times and focus more on her primary profession of costume designing. And eventually when she got hold of the proceedings of the writing world, Friedman said goodbye to her former profession and started writing full time from 1996 onwards. In addition to her immensely popular novels, her career was also noteworthy for the prestigious award nominations and honorary mentions that she received throughout for her books. Friedman was once nominated for a John W. Campbell award in the category of the Best Debut Writer in the year 1988. Also, one of her books, This Alien Shore, was labeled as the year’s most notable book by the NY Times in 1998. Even her Coldfire Trilogy book series was chosen as a finalist for the Fantasy & Science Fiction Vote by the NPR. Apart from using her original name of for writing her books, author Friedman also uses the pen names of Celia Friedman and Celia S. Friedman for publishing her books.

The Coldfire series written by author C.S. Friedman is comprised of a total of 3 books, which were released between the years 1991 and 1993. The debut novel of this series is entitled ‘Black Sun Rising’. It was released in the year 2005 by the Daw Books, after its original publishing in 1991. Friedman has done the setting of the story in a fictional named Erna. The main characters include four people – Adept, Apprentice, Priest, and Sorcerer respectively. As the story moves ahead, these characters are shown getting drawn into a battle against the evil forces. A demonic Fae is the one that leads them and is believed to be a soul destroying predator of the human race. At the start of the book’s story, Damien Vryce is introduced as a priest of a church called the Human Unification Church. He makes an entry into a great city called Jaggonath, where he is tasked with the mission of teaching and informing the residents about the existence of Fae as the true God. However, he finds that they are forced to worship personal gods and follow pagan religions. Later, Damien comes across an Adept named Ciani. The two enter into a courtship light-heartedly. Before their romance could blossom, they get separated after Ciani’s shop gets exploded in an unfortunate event. Thinking that Ciani has died, Damine becomes very sad.

But, Ciani’s assistant, Sensei Reese, informs Damien that she is alive. But, she has received mortal wounds spiritually and mentally. Several unknown creatures have assaulted her and ripped her of her memory. Damien promises Ciani that he is going to hunt down the creatures and help her get back her memories. So, he sets off on the trail of those sadistic creatures along with Sensei Reese and Ciani.

Another very interesting book of the series is called ‘When True Night Falls’. It was also published by Daw in 2005, after its first release in 1993. The lead characters of this book are depicted as Hesseth, Tarrant, Damien Vryce, and Jenseny. The story describes that a couple of men, who are absolute enemies, are required to form a team a conquer a great evil. One of the men is a priest named Damien, who is ready to give up everything and anything he possesses in the cause of the progress of humanity, while the other is a sorcerer, who is known to have survived for many centuries for submitting totally to the evil. Both are expected to undergo an irrevocable change in their quest.

At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Tarrant, Hesseth, and Damien arrive on the Eastern Continent shores, where they learn that the Fae’s unconscious working has been subdued by the Church Order. They also learn that corruption has taken deep roots all over the continent. They think of tracing the roots of the corruption to south in order to get rid of it completely. During their journey, they come across many obstacles and difficulties in their path. But, they manage to overcome each one of them and proceed towards making their mission a great success.

Book Series In Order » Authors » C.S. Friedman

Leave a Reply