Book Notification

Cackleberry Club Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cackleberry Club Mysteries Books

Eggs in Purgatory (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eggs Benedict Arnold (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bedeviled Eggs (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stake & Eggs (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eggs in a Casket (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scorched Eggs (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Egg Drop Dead (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eggs on Ice (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Egg Shooters (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Have you ever been caught doing the right thing at the right place but at the wrong time? Poor timing can be a fly in the ointment. Any hapless person caught up in such a predicament, especially where a series murders are involved, can swear that it is not anyone’s cup of tea. Such incidents, where, in this context, fate conspires to inconvenience the fledgling business of, worse still, single mothers, are the turning points in the various books contained in the Cackleberry Club Mysteries.

Suzanne and Tony, alongside Petra, who are all protagonists in their own right, are the central characters featured in the Cackleberry Club Mysteries. This series is penned by American woman of letters Laura Childs; incidentally, Laura Childs denotes the pen name of a writer whose birth name is Gerry Schmitt and is domiciled in Plymouth, Minnesota. The three women, who have similar pursuits, are in their forties and the proprietors of a club legally called Cackleberry Club. But there is more than their ambitions. The three of them are currently single women; the reasons for their respective estrangement ranges from being widowed, divorced, or with a husband who has been taken to a nursing home. There is a limited number of editions of the first book in the Cackleberry Club Mysteries; however, the first edition was initially published in December 2008, titled Eggs in Purgatory, and this series of whodunit novels is shelved under the psychological thriller and cozy mystery genres.

There are various events which kick start the seven books in the series. The launching pad of these books range from: a hired lawyer who has been shot dead in the vicinity of the Cackleberry Club; a funeral director who Suzanne has chanced upon, sprawled on the funeral parlor’s embalming table, while making a pie delivery; a person, aspiring for the mayoral seat, who has been killed while exiting their facility; a snowmobile accident near their club wherein some of their clients are fingered for the murder of a loathed banker; a County Services employee burnt to death; and a slain farmer who has been providing their club with a dairy product. All in all, the three protagonists are involved in these deaths by virtue of being in or near the scenes of crime, their association with the deceased, or merely because their business is a crucial part of the police procedures. To exonerate themselves and their business from the series of murders, the women become amateur sleuths.

The first book in the serialized Cackleberry Club, Eggs in Purgatory, is set in the backdrop of a fictitious town known as Kindred which is located in the Midwest region, the US. This book chronicles the protagonists’ quest for independent lives hard in the heels of being separated from their spouses. It is in this light that they start operating the Cackleberry Club. The club is an egg shop, yarn shop, and bookshop, all rolled into one.

Incidentally, Suzanne was previously married to a man who was a physician. Her husband doubled up as a planning board member wherein he allegedly took part in an underhand deal, receiving kickbacks, in a construction project undertaken during his tenure. Kindred town council has mentioned her then husband’s name in the scandal. Suzanne is informed that she may be forced to refund as much as a whooping two million dollars. Factor in a connection with a regional cult and this is a recipe for disaster. As such, Suzanne is now between a rock and a hard place. Expectedly, she sought legal redress but the lawyer she hired, Bonny Waite, has turned up dead. Waite was assassinated whilst in his vehicle, parked in Suzanne’s parking space. She does not trust the regional sheriff, Ro Doggie, and to make the matters worse, his office is broken into and files pertaining to her husband snatched. She starts sleuthing to exonerate her husband from any wrongdoing.

Cackleberry Club Mysteries Awards and Accolades
Author Laura Childs has had an illustrious career as an advertising writer before she sold her marketing firm and became a full-time novelist. During her stint in the advertising industry, she won many awards among them the Clio Award. Fast forward to writing books, Childs has won accolades and awards. For instance, her 2012 book titled Postcards from the Dead was not only a ‘Top Pick’ in the RT Book Reviews, but also clinched the Reviewers’ Choice Award in the Amateur Sleuth category.

Cackleberry Club Mysteries Books into TV Shows/Movies
The books in the Cackleberry Club Mysteries have not yet been adapted for the big screen. However, Laura Childs has written screenplays previously. Even though her screenplays have been optioned previously, their production was put off definitely. Childs has another series called Tea Shop Mysteries; this series, which has already been optioned, will be made into a television series. A production company based in Los Angeles is overseeing the production.

Best Books in the Cackleberry Club Mysteries
The first three books in the Cackleberry Club Mysteries are the best. The first book contained therein, Eggs in Purgatory, has already been described. The second one is entitled Eggs Benedict Arnold. Hereby, protagonist Suzanne comes across the corpse of Ozzie Driesden, who is a funeral parlor director; the Cackleberry Club proprietors are working against the clock to save Suzanne from an imminent death in the wake of being drugged after witnessing it. The third book is called Bedevilled Eggs and features the death of Chuck Peebler, an aspirant for the mayoral seat, who is killed in their club’s exit door, using a bolt, in the run-up to Halloween celebrations.

Other Book Series You May Like
Readers who liked the Cackleberry Club Mysteries also loved the following related series of books. The first one is the Candy Shop Mystery series authored by Sammi Carter; it features protagonist Abby Shaw, an unfaithful spouse and the then corporate lawyer who is returning to Paradise upon Colorado to manage her aunt’s candy store. The second one is the Cookie Cutter Shop Mystery written by Virginia Lowell; this series features protagonist Olivia Greyson, the proprietor of Gingerbread House in the fictitious Chatterly Heights, situated in the fringes of Baltimore. The third one, titled Gram’s Country Cooking School Mystery, is penned by Paige Shelton; this features protagonist Betts Winston who, alongside her grandparent, operates a culinary school in a fictitious place called Broken Rope.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Cackleberry Club Mysteries

2 Responses to “Cackleberry Club Mysteries”

  1. Mary Rogge: 5 months ago

    Loves Cackleberry Club Mysteries please continue series

  2. Nadine Bauer: 1 year ago

    Loved each and every one of these delightful books. Thank you for the hours of enjoyment you have given me.
    God bless you and keep writing!!!


Leave a Reply