Book Notification

Callie Parrish Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of A Callie Parrish Mystery Books

A Tisket, A Tasket, A Fancy Stolen Casket (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Casket Case (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hey Diddle Diddle, the Corpse and the Fiddle (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star, There's a Body in the Car (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mother Hubbard Has a Corpse in the Cupboard (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Corpse Under the Christmas Tree (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder is on the Clock (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Skull Full of Posies (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Callie Parrish Mystery is a set of novels written by American bestselling author of Mystery series Fran Rizer. The books feature the lead character, Calamine Parish, popularly known as Callie who works as a morgue cosmetologist operating in South Carolina.

The series made its debut in the publishing world in 2007 after the publication of the first novel in the series, A Tisket, A Tasket and A Fancy Stolen Casket. The second novel is Hey Diddle…….and the Fiddle published in 2008.

A Tisket, A Tasket……. Stolen Casket

In the debut novel, we are introduced to the Parish family including the lead character, Calamine famously known as Callie. She works as a mortuary cosmetologist and a part-time investigator. However, before long, she is tossed into the line of danger as a killer suspects that she knows too much. If she must survive, she must set off the detective wheels in motion and figure out the identity of the killer before she becomes the next victim.

The first novel introduces, the part-time detective Callie Parish whom you will find not an extremely likable character nor is her friend Jane. She was for two identical brothers at the morgue who are protective of her, and they will remind you of the understanding workplace bosses you have always wished for.

Her brothers are seemingly overprotective, and her dad does not like the idea of her daughter drinking beer despite the fact that she is 30+ years old. The main characters and the supporting cast are enjoyable.

You will find Callie making incredibly dumb decisions that you will know despite how naïve someone is. At one occasion, her love interest insults her, her supposed best friend, and acts like a total jerk. However, despite all these, she proceeds to ignore all that simply because she has all been waiting to out with him since high school periods.

When she is attacked, and a casket stolen, she starts snooping around, until when the Town Drunk ends up getting a bullet in his head. She is determined to establishing the person behind the killing who is apparently threatening her as well.

Hey Diddle Diddle, …….. & the Fiddle

In the second novel, Calamine L. Parrish decided to have some company to a Blue Glass Festival, and this time she chooses her best friend, Jane. Calamine has borrowed her brother’s motor home, and it is expected that both Jane and Callie are in for a fabulous weekend. That is until the body of Fiddlin Freddy who had joined up with the Second Time Around Group is found in an instrument case by Kenny Strickland.

So how could he fit in an instrument case? Freddy was a dwarf, so it was easy for him to fit into the case. On the other hand, Sheriff reminds her to keep off from the investigation. However, Callie finds it impossible.

What happens next is that the body of Kenny is found in Callie’s Motorhome and soon Jane, Callie’s best friend goes missing. Despite Jane blindness, she is self-sufficient, but Callie only worry is that the festival is held on a strange island and Jane does not know her way around.

Callie’s family and the musicians set out to locate Jane; they organize a vigil that turns out successful. Everyone seems willing to assist, but Callie is not so sure on whom to trust. On the one hand she has to deal with Freddy’s wife, and on the contrary, she has to deal with Freddy brother in law who calls himself a water witch who can locate anything.

Soon, Riz, who operates the Gallah Restaurant, turns out to be a help to Callie but eventually Callie is on her own in search of Jane.

This is another exciting adventure and the second novel in Callie Parrish Mystery by Fran Rizer. The main character is Callie while Jane, Callie dad, her dog, Big Boy, the local sheriff and her twin bosses Otis and Odell make up the supporting cast.

Casket Case

In the third installment of Callie Parish Mystery, Callie continues in her investigative journey while working as a mortuary cosmetologist.

When the town’s famous pharmacist body is found floating in his hot tub, many think that it is a suicide, but only Callie suspects foul play.

While she feels that her investigative inquiries lead her nowhere, someone else tends to think she knows too much. All the clues point to a con game gone wrong, and now it is upon Callie to reveal the killer identity before she ends up in her casket as well.

The characters are vividly described. For instance, Callie is a sensible young woman. She only dresses in Kindergarten cuss and strictly adheres to her personal code. However, this does not stop her from wanting more in her life.

Mother Hubbard Has a Corpse in the Cupboard (2013)

In the 5th novel of Callie Parrish Mystery series, Callie escapes from her usual routine as a mortuary cosmetologist to have some good times with her friends, Rizzie and Jane at the county fair. However, things opposite of what they expected when Rizzie Maum breaks her hip.

Shortly after, Callie discovers the body of a young in storage nearby. Graffiti then pops up all over the town even on coffins at the morgue. The painted sprays are a warning to her and her new man as well but what concerns her most is the person who could have killed Dr. Sparrow. Could his nasty bedside manner justify his death? His wife is flattened by the doctor’s death for many wrong reasons.

However when Rizzie teenage brother is accused of murder, Callie is forced to carry out her investigations, one that could land her to her casket.

The 5th novel in Callie Parrish Mystery series will keep you hooked from the first sentence. There is much of mystery solving going on in this novel like all other novels. As usual, Calamine Parrish tosses herself on her part-time investigative work and manages to put on the table all the possible clues that she can gather. The characters, plot development, have been well crafted. If you love murder mysteries, you will find Callie Parrish Mystery an ideal match for you.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Callie Parrish Mystery

Leave a Reply