Camilla Lackberg Books In Order

Publication Order of Fjällbacka Books

The Ice Princess (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Preacher (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Stonecutter (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Gallows Bird / The Stranger (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Hidden Child (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Drowning (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Lost Boy (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Buried Angels (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Ice Child (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Girl In The Woods (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Scent of Almonds (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Fayes hämnd Books

The Golden Cage (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wings of Silver (German only currently) (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Camilla Lackberg Biography:

It was on August 30, 1974 in Sweden that Camilla Lackberg was born. He father was apparently a fan of crime novels because it was the discovery of his personal collection of books that got young Camilla interested in the genre that would someday become the focus of her writing career. Those novels found on the shelf in her home became dear to her. She developed a real passion and sense of excitement from the thrilling storylines that novels of crime are so well known for. Lackberg began writing at an early age. Her enjoyment of the books she read inspired her to do her own writing. As a Christmas present one year, her family showed their support of her favorite hobby, in which she was already demonstrating a great deal of talent, by presenting her with an enrollment for creative writing classes. It seemed from that point on, Lackberg’s future was set in stone. However, it was not writing that she choose for a major when it was time for her to attend college, in spite of how much of her world revolved around the art. When Lackberg graduated from Gothenburg University, she proudly held a degree in economics.

It would be a while before Lackberg actually took her passion for crime fiction seriously as a career. After graduating from college, she worked in the career field granted her through her major, serving as an economist for several years. Nevertheless, her dreams of being a professional writer never faded away. By 2003, Lackberg’s first book was published, entitled Ice Princess. Finally having a book published seems to have made all the difference in her life, because after that first book hit store shelves, her writing career took flight and she was having books published on a regular basis. From that point, new Lackberg crime novels were being released every year. First being published in Sweden, her books have been translated into approximately 33 languages and spread throughout the world.

When Lackberg speaks about her writing process, she says the stories always begin in her mind as a snapshot of a scene. Different images arise and slowly begin to come together in an interesting and perplexing story that Lackberg becomes excited to capture into text and her fans become eager to experience. Some suspect that, due to the complexity and high level of detail when it comes to the depth of the characters’ personalities, her writing process all truly begins when she has a theme in mind, be it greed, jealousy, anger, or hatred. It is the signature twist at the end of her tales that has won Lackberg such a high level of notoriety. Although the majority of the story is played out from one point of view, there is always some light shed near the end of the book that brings a completely new way of perceiving the events that took place throughout the earlier parts of the story. It is this twist Lackberg fans have come to expect and look forward to as they immerse themselves in each and every page of the book. This is also the reason why she was honored in 2006 with a People’s Literature Award and in 2005 was named by the Sweden Union of Local Government Offices as the author for that year.

Exploring the Writings of Camilla Lackberg

The second book Lackberg had published was released in 2004 and called The Preacher. Much like the opening of her first book, Ice Princess, this book opens with the discovery of a body. In Ice Princess, the body was a young woman found naked and in a bathtub of frozen water. This time, the body is that of a young women, discovered somewhere in the Swedish countryside by a child. When the police arrive at the scene of discovery to investigate, they uncover the bodies of two other females lying underneath the first. All of the deceased were found to be teenagers who had been reported missing several years earlier. There were some clues uncovered which formed a trail back to a family called the Hults. Later on, yet another young girl is reported missing and the race against time begins in an effort to rescue her from an untimely demise. Unfortunately, the investigator on the case must face many hindrances in his path, including a heat wave, the pregnancy of his mate, and some very unhelpful relatives.

The book that was published after The Preacher is The Stone Cutter, which came out in 2005. Stepping away from an opening that includes the discovery of a body, The Stone Cutter is a story told through a cluttered plot of times past, times present, and several side stories in-between. The connecting line between all the events is not drawn until near the book’s end. Still, the two main characters of The Preacher, Erica and Patrik, are involved in the tale. While Erica was with child in The Preacher, by The Stone Cutter, the child has been born and the couple is having trouble with providing means for parenting, even recruiting the highly incompetent police chief for the job at some point. In the meanwhile, there is yet another crime that has to be solved. An eight year old that the couple knew quite well was murdered horrendously. Now they have the gruesome task of tracking down the killer.

Stories by Camilla Lackberg Shown on Film

None of the stories featured in Lackberg’s twelve published books have yet made it to the big screen. However, there has been a television series called Fjällbackamorde, having been created and broadcasted in Sweden that is based on her books. The story is broken up over 12 episodes, most being approximately 90 minutes long. The first two episodes of the series were aired in 2012, despite the fact that filming of the show had to suddenly and ironically cease in 2011, due to the disappearance of Daniel Lind Lagerlöf, the director. The search for him lasted only two days and many suggest he fell off one of the steep cliffs and into the water at the Tjurpannans nature reserve, where the filming was taking place.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Camilla Lackberg