Book Notification

Camilla Trinchieri Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Simona Griffo Mystery Books

as Camilla Crespi
The Trouble with a Small Raise (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trouble with Moonlighting (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trouble with Too Much Sun (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trouble with Thin Ice (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trouble with Going Home (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trouble with a Bad Fit (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trouble with a Hot Summer (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Tuscan Mystery Books

Murder in Chianti (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bitter Taste of Murder (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Vine (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Road to Murder (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Price of Silence (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Breakfast Club Murder (As: Camilla Crespi) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Seeking Alice (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Malice Domestic 3(1994)Description / Buy at Amazon

Camilla Trinchieri is a bestselling thriller and mystery author that is best known for the “Simona Griffo Mystery” series of novels.

She penned “The Trouble with a Small Raise,” her debut novel in 1991. Since then she has published more than a dozen novels across several series and single-standing titles.
The author was born to an American mother and an Italian father in Prague and hence she loves to call herself an Italian American.

Since she was born to a father that worked as a diplomat among many other prestigious roles, by the time she turned twelve, she had lived in six countries and more than half a dozen cities in Europe and the United States.
She also got the chance to learn at least four languages and remains fluent in most of them. Camilla has said that she believes it was the many experiences of her childhood that made it possible for her to become a writer.
Camilla moved to the United States as a twelve-year-old, and after graduating from Barnard college moved back to Italy.

In Rome, she got employed in the movie industry and worked in several roles including as a dubbing director and producer with Lina Wertmuller, Luchino Visconti, and Federico Fellini among many others.

In 1980, Camilla Trinchieri moved to New York City, where she went to college in the Graduate Writing program at Columba University. It was also during this time that she became an American citizen and got married.
After graduating with her creative writing Master’s in Fine Arts from Columbia, she published a range of works in “Trouble With” Series. These featured nosy Italian immigrant Simona Griffo who happens to be a foodie.
The stories have been so popular that they have been published in different languages across Europe such as German and Italian.

As Camilla Trinchieri, she authored “The Price of Silence” in 2007 under Soho Press. The work has also come out in Italian and paperback editions.

An interesting thing is that Camilla prefers to speak and write in English rather than Italian as she finds English less bothersome.

She has also published a novel titled “Seeking Alice” which is loosely inspired by her mother’s experience living in Europe during the Second World War.

In addition to his novels, he has had several of his short fiction published in several anthologies such as the Feminist Press.

“A String of Beads,” which was a personal essay was included in the 2004 anthology “Unrooted Childhoods,” which was published by Intercultural Press and edited by Faith Eidse.

Camila Trinchieri’s novel “Murder in Chianti” is a beautiful novel with a setting in the heart of the wine country of Tuscany.

This work introduces former New York Police Department homicide detective Nico Doyle. All he wants is to be allowed space to grieve when he is thrust into a local murder investigation.
Mourning the loss of Rita his wife, Nico Doyle decides to move to Gravigna her hometown in the wine region of Chianti.

Half Irish and half Italian Nico manages to get by as he leans on his wife’s many relatives, even if he often feels out of place and alone. He is not so sure if all he wants is peace even though that is not exactly what he finds.
Early one morning he hears the cries of a dog and a loud report of a gun near his cabin and goes out to find that someone in gold tennis shoes had been killed in the woods.

When the cops arrive at the scene Nico adopts the white dog that belonged to the victims and proceeds to distance himself from the murder.

However, the local maresciallo Salvatore Perillo learns about Nico’s professional background and wants him to help with the investigation.

It turns out that there is one man that knew the dead man and with a very short list of suspects, Nico will need to dig up every secret he can find to resolve the case.

Camilla Trinchieri’s work “The Bitter Taste of Murder” is a brilliant novel that follows the events of the first work. Nico Doyle the lead was just recruited by Italian authorities to look into the killing of a popular and very famous wine critic.

A year after he moved to Gravigna the Tuscan hometown of his late wife, Nico Doyle has gotten used to life in the Italian countryside and works testing and serving recipes at a restaurant that belongs to his in-laws.
However, the town is driven into a frenzy by the arrival of Michele Mantelli, a wine critic who comes in driving a flashy jaguar. The man holds his influential blog and culinary magazine over Gravigna’s restaurateurs and vintners.
Some of the residents in Gravigna are awed by his reputation, even though many others are enraged. One of these is Nico’s landlord who is furious as he believes Mantelli intends to ruin his vineyards.
It does seem that Mantelli’s vindictive and larger-than-life personality has not made him any friends.

When he gets poisoned, Perillo the local maresciallo finds himself having to once again resolve a high-profile murder. He will need to engage the services of Nico once again.

“Murder on the Vine” by Camilla Trinchieri follows Nico Doyle, the homicide detective who is currently looking into the murder of an octogenarian bartender.

One Sunday morning in late October, Perillo the local maresciallo was enjoying himself eating breakfast with Nico Doyle the former NYPD detective when he is summoned to the station.
La Bella Vista Hotel’s young manager Laura Benati is worried as Cesare Costanzi her eighty-year-old friend and bartender has not been seen for three days.

The following morning Jimmy who coowns Gravigna’s local cafe named “Bar All’Angolo,” where Nico often goes runs out of petrol while heading back home from Florence.
When Nico saves him by bringing him some petrol, OneWag who is Nico’s dog reacts instantly to what seems to be in the trunk of the car.

Inside the trunk is discovered a dead body with stab wounds that turn out to be Cesare Costanzi. Why would anyone kill the sweet old man and dup him in Jimmy’s vehicle?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Camilla Trinchieri

One Response to “Camilla Trinchieri”

  1. Daniel Tabak: 1 year ago

    I enjoyed reading Camilla Trinchieri’s book “Murder on the Vine”. I would like to know the author’s e-mail address so I can write to her directly my impressions of her book.


Leave a Reply