Book Notification

Cammie McGovern Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Amy and Matthew Books

Say What You Will / Amy & Matthew (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Chester and Gus Books

Frankie and Amelia (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Hard Landings: Looking Into the Future for a Child with Autism (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Art of Seeing (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eye Contact (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Neighborhood Watch (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Step Toward Falling (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Just My Luck (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chester and Gus (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Just Breathe (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Cammie McGovern is a reputed author from The United States, who is well known for writing contemporary, mystery, romance, thriller, fiction, young adult, and suspense novels. Her writing career consists of just 4 novels so far and all of them are widely successful. Author Cammie is particularly famous for her romance book Say What You Will. The other three books of her are adult novels. Author Cammie’s birth took place in Evanston, Illinois. Her father, William McGovern Jr was a professor at university, while her mother, Katherine Wolcott, was a high school teacher. Cammie has an older sister named Elizabeth McGovern. When author Cammie was 7 years old, her father accepted a job offer to teach at UCLA Law School. Due to this, she had to move to Los Angeles along with her parents. Cammie’s family consists of some very prominent personalities like William Montgomery McGovern, Ethelbert Watts, Charles Snyder, etc. As of today, author Cammie is happily married and is blessed with 3 beautiful children. She resides in Amherst, Massachusetts along with her family.

Cammie spends most of her time writing novels and looking after her family. During her spare times, Cammie likes to enjoy relaxing time with her sons, especially her autistic elder son. She says that she was influenced to take up writing novels as a career by the different experiences of life, autism, and founding Whole Children, which is a dedicated resource center that organizes after-school programs and sessions for children requiring special needs. All of Cammie’s books feature young characters dealing with different types of disabilities in their lives. Cammie has been honored worldwide for her work in advocating on abnormal people’s behalf. Her novels have been regarded as inspiring, unforgettable, and joyful. Her foundation, Whole Children, that she helped establish with several other partners, serves more than 600 children & adults having disabilities.

Being the parent of an autistic 19 year old son, author Cammie believes that she has gotten the opportunity of knowing many young people with various disabilities. She expresses dismay at the fact that the stories of such people are rarely seen in books, TV shows, and movies. Cammie goes on to say that these people belong to the largest group of minorities, but are least represented in the popular culture. By trying to tell their stories through her books, author Cammie hopes to make the readers understand how many common things they with the other young people. Cammie likes to believe the cornerstones of their personalities is similar to others’, and the only difference lies in the fact that they might act or look a little different because of their disability. And just like the normal individuals, they also desire love, connection, friendships, family, and success. In one of her stories called Eye Contact, Cammie has described the story a boy having autism. He becomes the witness of a murder during the school hours, after which he goes through a stressful experience. As the boy is unable to help the police solve the case because of his disability, his mothers takes it upon herself to decode what her son tries to convey. This way, the mother-son pair help the authorities in catching the murderer.

Author Cammie is thrilled in knowing that this story is used by librarians and teachers to discuss the topics of bullying of children with special care and their tolerance. In another book, Cammie has mentioned the story of 2 sisters, who through a lot of changes in their relationship as they grow up. Author Cammie takes great pride to know that her books have been liked and appreciated by readers from across the globe. She is grateful to her fans for supporting her in her great cause. As the number of fans has grown considerably over the years, it has made author Cammie extremely happy. She wishes to keep writing many more interesting stories in the years to come and hopes that her fans will continue to like her work and support her. As of now, Cammie is working on developing the next book of her career. She is expected to release it in the days to come.

A successful book of author Cammie McGovern’s writing career is entitled ‘Say What You Will’. It was released in the year 2014 by the HarperTeen publication. The book contains the main characters in the roles of Amy, Matthew, and a few others. At the start of the story of the book, it is shown that Amy has cerebral palsy from birth. Due to this medical condition, she needs the support of a walker for waling and a voice box for talking. Also, Amy is unable to keep her facial expressions under control fully. Matthew is introduced as a boy suffering from obsessive-compulsive disorder. This condition makes him have repeated thoughts, crippling fear, and neurotic rituals. Both Matthew and Amy desperately need someone’s help in reaching out to the world. They only realize it late that they are have a lot in common and can help out each other. When Amy begins senior year, she decides to get student aides. This is when Matthew comes in her life. They start spending time together and get thrust into the lives of one another. Soon after, they sense that their relationship has grown beyond friendship, but neither of them had expected it to happen. They wonder if they are ready to take the big step ahead and whether they are capable of supporting each other for the rest of their lives.

Another mind blowing book penned by Cammie is called ‘A Step Toward Falling’. It was also published by HarperTeen in 2015. In this particular novel, the primary characters are depicted as Emily, Belinda, Lucas, etc. At the beginning of the book’s story, it is depicted that Emily always tries to do right things in life. But, she begins to hate herself when she happens to do the worst thing. Emily has a classmate named Belinda, who has developmental disabilities. Apparently, Belinda was being attacked by someone and Emily witnesses it, but does not do anything. After the incident, Emily starts feeling guilty for not trying to save her classmate. Belinda somehow saves herself from the attack. This incident comes to the notice of the school authorities and they order Emily & Lucas to carry out service. Lucas too was present at the time of the attack of Belinda, but chose to do nothing just like Emily. As per the order, Lucas and Emily are required to visit a disabled people’s center and help them. While they are engaged in this duty, they start feeling that they are really making a difference. They wish they had gathered the courage that night and prevented themselves from breaking Belinda’s heart.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Cammie McGovern

Leave a Reply