Book Notification

Candas Dorsey Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Epitome Apartments Mystery Books

The Adventures of Isabel (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
What's the Matter with Mary Jane?: An Epitome Apartments Mystery (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Black Wine (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Paradigm of Earth (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Story of My Life Ongoing, by C.S. Cobb (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
He Wasn’t There Again Today (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Machine Sex: And Other Stories (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vanilla and Other Stories (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ice and Other Stories (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Penguin Book of Modern Fantasy by Women(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tesseracts 5(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tesseracts 7(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tesseracts 8(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Land/Space: An Anthology of Prairie Speculative Fiction(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tesseracts Eleven: Amazing Canadian Speculative Fiction(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Firebirds Soaring(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Penguin Book of Erotic Stories By Women(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Playground of Lost Toys(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Food of My People: The Exile Book Of Anthology Series Number Nineteen(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Candas Jane Dorsey is a Canadian published author.

Candas Jane Dorsey was born on November 16, 1952 in Edmonton, Alberta. She is not only a science fiction, postmodern novelist but also a poet. She resides where she grew up, in Edmonton.

Candas got into writing when she was young. As a writer from an early age, she has worked across genre boundaries, including everything from poetry to mainstream and speculative fiction as well as short form, long form, and arts journalism and advocacy.

Dorsey has also written scripts for the stage and for television, as well as for magazines and newspapers writing articles and reviews. She continues to teach writing and holds workshops and readings. She has been doing freelance writing since 1980.

Dorsey has been on the executive board of Writers’ Guild of Albert. She also founded SF Canada, a science fiction group for Canadian authors. She served as editor in chief for The Books Collective, which was made up of River, Slipstream, and Tesseract Books for 1992 to 2005.

She received the Prix Aurora Award in 1998. She has appeared on Total Write-Off in 2007. This is a quickly paced television series that is really fun to watch where two groups of writers go up against each other in a showdown of writing where they make their own short stories based on suggestions from the audience.

Dorsey has salso won the Tritree and Crawford Awards for her 1997 novel Black Wine. She is a publisher in addition to being a teacher, writer, and editor.

The Adventures of Isabel is the first novel in Candas Jane Dorsey’s Epitome Apartments Mystery series. If you have been searching for a fun new detective book to read that’s rather modern, take this novel for a spin!

This is the first book in a mystery series written by Candas Jane Dorsey. Trope-bending and described as playful, this series features an amateur detective that is queer and nameless. Check out the book that author Sarah Smith praises as what would happen as the result of a Raymond Chandler and Frank N. Furter collaboration on cozies and the resulting heroin were ‘a pansexual private detective’ with heart and smarts.

The social worker protagonist of this story has a cat named Bunnywit. She’s helping a close friend contend with her feelings over her granddaughter’s murder. But she has no idea that she is about to come out of poverty into something far darker. The main character is catapulted along with her cat into the harsh world of the streets, filled with everything from sex to betrayal and lies.

She’s taking them all and responding back with intelligence, irony, and wit. The cat is excluded from this of course. The protagonist has a keen eye for deception, and is known for using the Oxford comma along with mystery tropes and pop culture trivia to find her way. As the reader follows this main character thorugh a Canadian city’s tough streets, it appears that this mystery is even bigger than it was at first sight.

Follow along with the protagonist and her cat as she investigates what at first sight appears to be a small street killing but gives way to something much larger and darker. She’s been scratching at the surface of criminal schemes, and now she’s about to find out just how deep the rabbit hole goes.

Will our protagonist be ready for the grandiose criminal schemes that she uncovers? Will someone be ready to take her down for sticking her nose where it doesn’t belong? You are just going to have to read this novel to find out! Pick up a copy of The Adventures of Isabel to find out!

What’s the Matter with Mary Jane? is the second novel in the Epitome Apartments Mystery series by Candas Jane Dorsey. If you liked the first book in this series or just enjoy a good mystery, be sure to check this sequel out.

Everyone’s favorite pansexual amateuro detective is back in yet another mystery from Candas Jane Dorsey. The wise cracking young woman that is known for being grammatically has returned, along with her adorable cat Bunnywit.

This time around, she has entered into the world of the super rich elite when her famous friend from childhood comes back into her life looking for her help. She’s dealing with a stalker, and she feels threatened. She turns to her pal to try and help her deal with what appears to be a dangerous situation.

The amateur sleuth is still dealing with the fallout from what happened with her first foray into playing detective. The last thing that she ever thought would happen is that Priscilla Jane would come back into her life. But come back into her life she has, and Priscilla Jane Gill is asking for her help. Not just ask– she’s begging for it.

Priscilla is now a famous travel writer, but she’s worried. She was attacked by a delusional fan a year before, and now she has concerns that she’s being stalked again. She is rightfully shook up over these things and needs someone to look into them. She’s part of the world of the wealthy, privileged elite, but she’s scared that her stalker might just cross the line. Some things you can’t protect against.

Thus the nameless detective meets various characters of this world. Such as Nathan, a tech billionaire that is handsome but dangerous. Or his sidekick, Chiles, who has a similar disposition.

Compliciations ensue when the person stalking Pris is killed right outside of her book launch. Maybe that will be the end of it all before. Or she may find out that the troubles are just beeginning. Priscilla can’t trust anyone except the nameless detective. The nameless detective looks into things, knowing fuly well she may not like what she sees.

Can our heroine figure out whether Priscilla is safe once and for all? She has to go deep into her pal’s past to find out who is behind all of this. The cat may know, but no one else speaks cat. Can the nameless detective find who is responsible? Pick up a copy of What’s the Matter with Mary Jane? to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Candas Dorsey

Leave a Reply