Book Notification

Cap Fog Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Alvin Dustine 'Cap' Fog Books

Cap. Fog, Texas Ranger, Meet Mr. J. G. Reeder (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
You're a Texas Ranger, Alvin Fog aka Alvin Fog, Texas Ranger (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
Justice of Company Z (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rapido Clint (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Return of Rapido Clint and Mr J.G. Reeder (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rapido Clint Strikes Back (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon

This series of novels written by John Thomas Edson features the grandsons of members of the Floating Outfit are in a special unit called Company Z that consists largely of Texas Rangers during the prohibition era. Company Z is an extra legal company formed by the Governor of Texas. Besides the Texas Rangers, there are other members who were chosen for their skills and abilities that are special to them.

One of which is Alvin Fog, who is the star of the series, is the grandson of Dusty Fog (who is also known as the Rio Hondo Gun Wizard). This gives him a lot to live up to and some big shoes to fill; especially since that he is one of the few who was not, at any time, a Texas Ranger. He shares the series with two Edgar Wallace characters (the Three Just Men and J. G. Reeder). These two appear in some installments of the series alongside some original characters that Edson created himself for the series.

This series takes place around 1918 until somewhere around the late twenties. Like some of Edson’s other series, novels set in the “Cap Fog” series were re-released to reignite the spark of popularity that Edson saw in the early part of his career. Some installments, to the dismay of his fans, were previously released novels just with new names; this made it hard to distinguish between truly new material that he was putting out at the time and these already released novels.

“Alvin Fog, Texas Ranger” written by John Thomas Edson is the first book in the “Alvin Dustine ‘Cap’ Fog” series that was released in the year 1979. Company Z, is formed by the Governor of Texas to combat the growing lawlessness. Almost everyone in the group had been, at one time, Texas Rangers. Except for Alvin Fog that is, who must prove that he has the talent, the muscle at fighting with bare hands like his grandfather, who was the legendary Dusty Fog. Alvin has quite a lot to live up to, whether or not he can do it, remains to be seen.

Fans of the novel this series of novels is great for fans of novels about Texas Rangers, and westerns. This novel is one that was so good, that fans will keep coming back to this series, and other series that Edson has written. Fans have found themselves wanting to buy more and more of these books in this series, and even some from other series by Edson.

“Rapido Clint” written by John Thomas Edson is the second book in the “Alvin Dustine ‘Cap’ Fog” series that was released in the year 1980. Rapido Clint is an outlaw that rides into a “chicken ranch” in Texas with Texas Rangers on his trail and women on his mind. Him and Comanche Blood (who happens to be Clint’s half-breed partner) plan to make the move across the border into Mexico, after they have shot a Ranger in the chest and left him for dead. They find themselves holed up in the posh palace that is owned by an American crime czar and ready to fight the Rangers.

Fans of the novel found that the novel has a good story line to it that kept them reading through the morning hours. This novel features a lot of interesting characters that are well developed and explored really nicely in this novel. Some liked all of the characters in this novel, and not just the good guys that are found in the novel. Some wish that the west was like this, finding Edson’s version better than the real thing. These novels are a great way to spend reading time, and serve as a way to escape from the monotony of daily life.

“The Justice of Company Z” written by John Thomas Edson is the third book in the “Alvin Dustine ‘Cap’ Fog” series that was released in the year 1991. Company Z likes to let the law take its course, but sometimes they have to step in and take care of business at times. Like when Eloise Charmain was brutally murdered and left to bleed out in the dust. Handsome Phil Foote, the suspect, gets himself a nice and slick lawyer who runs a crooked practice. This crookedness is in evidence this time, as well; as some things happen that are odd. The witnesses to the crime begin to disappear, and money changes hands. People are paid off. A bogus alibi is given by some drifters who have been rode hard and put away wet quite a few times. It looked like an easy case at first, but no one saw Company Z coming to save the day.

Fans of the novel found that this was a killer novel, in more ways than just one. It shows you the lengths some will go to avoid paying the price for something that they have done. You get to see some very good characters do some very bad stuff in this novel. Well worth the price of admission was this novel. The characters were well drawn and felt realistic this time out. You root for the good guys, and feel that what they do is for the good of everyone and that the antagonist gets what he had coming to him in the end.

This series is another thing that Edson did quite a bit in his storytelling. He would take a character, give them a relative and do a new/ spinoff series about the relative. At the same time, though, the original character would be involved somehow, some way. Either they would appear or their legacy would be present, even if they themself were not. He also liked to incorporate real and fictional people into his stories as well, into a sort of crossover thing. Some wish that the series had more novels to it, and that Edson’s later publisher would have re-issued books with the original titles intact to ensure that they would not re-buy novels that they already had. Or at least show that they were once released showing that at one time they were released with their original title.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Cap Fog

Leave a Reply