Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

Caper Court Books In Order

Publication Order of Caper Court Books

The Pupil (1993) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Judicial Whispers (1995) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
An Immoral Code (1997) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Hallowed Place (1999) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Perfect Obsession (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Calculating Heart (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Breath of Corruption (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Errors of Judgment (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

The Caper Court series is a series of interesting books based on the legal stories. It is written by one of the renowned novelist from The United Kingdom named Caro Fraser. This series is comprised of a total of 8 books, which were published between the years 1994 and 2013. In the series, author Fraser has depicted what actually happens behind the closed doors of the elegant Caper Court, which is the elite chamber of barristers in London, England. The series begins with the book titled The Pupil, which is based on the time that author Fraser spent at the time of her own pupilage. She has described the story of her training period as a pupil, a mandatory training for becoming a barrister. The story was mainly written from the standpoint of a male, and shows that the fortunes and trials of one of the lead characters named Anthony Cross at the time of his 6 month pupilage at the Caper Court.

Numerous other characters are shown meeting him in the later parts of the story, which takes places in Inns of Court’s eccentric world, in London. One of the chief characters among them is Leo Davies. Author Fraser has shown him as a charismatic, talented, and a successful barrister. He is bisexual and under his spell, Anthony Cross falls quickly. The first book can very well be interpreted as a novel that comments upon the discrimination and inequities that exist in the world of legalities. The central theme of the story is Nepotism and old boy network. Author Fraser has depicted the family of Anthony as not a wealthy one or having any privilege. Anthony has a single parent in the form of his mother, who raises her two sons with the help of her salary from teaching. As Anthony lacks money to go out and eat in restaurants or take taxis for traveling, he has frequent arguments with his girlfriend. He is a brilliant lawyer and has a degree in first class. But, he got it from a small, unpopular university, rather than Oxford or Cambridge. The Pupil laid the foundation for all the other stories of the series. Leo Davies goes on to become the hero in the later parts and also becomes the center of attention of the whole series.

One of the most popular books of the Caper Court series written by Caro Fraser is titled as ‘Judicial Whispers’. It was published by the Phoenix publication in the year 1998, after it was initially released in 1995. In the starting plot, Leo Davies is depicted having the hope of getting elected as one of the Queen’s Counsel. But, a rumor campaign begins which threatens to destroy all his hopes to get elected in this rarefied strata of the hierarchy of the British legal system. It seems that the rumors are based on a truth about the sexual life of Leo. His sex life does not seem to be conventional. To explain this situation, author Fraser has said that it become a matter of murder or blackmail, or both in a normal mystery book. However, the drama depicted in the book does not appear to be a mystery nor typical. The drama related to the character study of the interesting protagonist comes from the interior struggle of Leo Davies with his issues of love, class, ambition, and sex. It does appear mysterious that the book was cast in the form of a legal thriller. In order to take care of the rumors, Leo is advised to get a wife. Subsequently, he tries to get involved with a beautiful, emotional, and rigid solicitor named Rachel Dean. She seems to have some very good reasons to remain guarded.

Later, Leo comes to know that his best friend named Anthony also has feelings for Rachel. Author Fraser has used the relationship of men in a brilliant manner to illuminate the complicated nature of the sex life of Leo. This is enacted in Leo’s courtship of Rachel and her sexual passions inadvertent wakening by him. And when Anthony alleges that Leo is using Rachel to fulfill his own ambitions, he tells him that he has a lot of fear in him. He also says that he knows a lot of things that he does not want to remember about himself that would spoil the things for him if he brings them up. Leo further implies that there are a lot of things about Rachel that Anthony would never understand. He adds that he is devoid of things that could prove to be helpful to Rachel in any way. It is only he who has reached that part of himself to find out the worst and best things, and not Anthony. But, Leo does not mind any of the charges that Anthony lays on him. He advises him that he is young and has a lot of things to learn in life and career. The journey of Leo Davies through the torturous landscapes of his mental inferno makes this book a compelling, engrossing, and sophisticated read.

Another compelling novel written in the series by author Fraser is titled ‘An Immoral Code’. The Phoenix publication released this novel also in 1998. In the plot of this book, an emotional turmoil is shown taking place in the barristers’ chamber of Caper COurt. The Queen’s Council, Leo Davies, gets a big case as he is asked to represent a Llyod’s Names group. This group seems to have staked everything on the performance of Leo in the court. But, they do not seem to be aware of the turmoil going on in his personal life. This lays a great threat to the case. At his home, the facade of the marriage of Leo and Rachel is crumbling. In spite of being married, the bisexual Leo does not stop to make a make a play for a feckless and handsome plaintiff named Charles Beecham. This poses another threat to the married life of Leo. In the middle of this turmoil, Leo seems to be unaware of the fact that while he has his eyes set on Charles, he has started pursuing his wife Rachel. Author Fraser has made the story progress in a slow manner. And for most parts it remains slow only. But, as it approaches its end, it picks up speed and achieves an abrupt end. The ending makes way for one more case to be depicted in the next book, that promises more courtroom interactions and intrigue. Along with the personal life turmoil of Leo, the author has also shown Anthony indulging in a romantic relationship with one of his new pupils. But, she seems to be in two minds to put her feelings for him before her career.


Book Series In Order ┬╗ Characters ┬╗ Caper Court