Book Notification

Capital Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Capital Mysteries Books

Who Cloned the President? (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kidnapped at the Capital (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Skeleton in the Smithsonian (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Spy in the White House (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who Broke Lincoln's Thumb? (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fireworks at the FBI (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trouble at the Treasury (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery at the Washington Monument (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Thief at the National Zoo (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Election-Day Disaster (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret at Jefferson's Mansion (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghost at Camp David (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trapped on the D.C. Train! (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Turkey Trouble on the National Mall (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Capital Mysteries book series is an amazing series of children’s books and mystery stories. It is written by a renowned American author of children’s fiction named Ron Roy. The series is comprised of 14 books, released between 2001 and 2012. In each book, Ron Roy has described mystery stories for young readers. He started the series in 2001 by successfully publishing its first book called Who Cloned the President? The illustrations given in this book were done through the expert hands of Liza Woodruff. Golden Books, a popular publisher, had released the novel to worldwide success. Starting from the third book, the illustration work was handed over to Timothy Bush and the publishings were carried out under the name of Random House Books.

The novels of this exciting series follow the adventures of a couple of child detectives named Marshall Li and KC Corcoran. They are depicted as best friends living in Washington D.C. Marshall and KC spend most of their time trying to solve mysteries around the capital’s monuments. Ron Roy has created a fictional character in the form of the United States president named him Zachary Thornton. He goes on to marry KC’s mother in the fourth installment of the series. So, in the later installments, KC is depicted as the ‘First Daughter’. Because of the marriage, both the junior detectives are able to access the White House easily. They also get a free pass to visit other monuments whenever they like.

KC and Marshall use all the liberty and freedom only to solve cases. They don’t take any undue advantage of the situation. Random House had acquired the publishing rights of the series from Golden Books in 2001 itself, but it continued to publish the first couple of books under the latter’s name. In one of the other series written by Ron Roy, A to Z Mysteries: Super Editions, Marshall and KC are depicted as teaming up with other junior detectives named Josh Pinto, Ruth Rose Hathaway, and Donald David Duncan from that series. They feature in just one book of that series, called White House White-Out. Ron Roy has rated his Capital Mysteries novels as suitable for readers between the ages of six and nine.

Most of the plots throughout the series feature the US president himself. This series and its books are widely popular for their interesting storylines, wonderful characters, excellent narration, engaging illustrations, intriguing mysteries, and overall story of each book. Ron Roy received a wide appreciation for his work in the series. He was praised by many renowned critics and reviewers. Most of the fellow writers also came forward to congratulate him on the success of the series. Right from the first novel, Ron made fans in large numbers, who continued to support him up to the last book. The success of this series in different parts of the globe helped Ron Roy to establish himself as a popular name in the children’s fiction genre. He went on to write more exciting novels in the same genre and achieve more popularity.

An excellent novel written in the Capital Mysteries series by author Ron Roy is entitled ‘The Secret at Jefferson’s Mansion’. It was released in 2009 by Random House. This book opens by showing that Marshal Li and KC Corcoran have taken up the task of painting one of the closets in the White House. While carrying out this task, they discover a long-forgotten cubbyhole. As the two junior detectives explore it, they find an old box hidden inside the cubbyhole. Inside the box, they find some homemade horses in the form of toys. They are shocked to find that the box and the homemade toys belonged to the grandchildren of Thomas Jefferson.

As they decide to hand over the box and its contents to its rightful owner, KC & Marshall take a trip to the home of Jefferson, Monticello. But, to their utter shock, the toys and the box get stolen as soon as they reach the destination. The junior detectives are not able to digest the fact that someone snatched the toys right under their noses. They decide to investigate the matter and not rest until they have caught the responsible person. Just like in every other book of this series, Ron Roy has given the highlight of a famous monument from the Washington, DC area in this book as well. Also, he has included a map and some fun facts covered in two pages along with photographs. Many teachers, librarians, and parents believe that this chapter book and the other from the series are perfect for young readers.

Another wonderful installment of this children’s book/mystery series is called ‘Trapped on the D.C. Train’. It was also published by Random House in 2011. This novel opens by depicting that KC Corcoran & Marshall Li purchase train tickets from Union Station for an express train. They are amazed to discover that the express train has a VIP car for the country’s vice president at its back. This VIP car can also be used by kids and the agents of the secret service to travel as per their convenience. Marshall and KC are accompanied by a few secret service agents during their travel. When the train takes a halt at a station, the kids decide to explore the region by sneaking away from the agents.

While they are gone, someone plays mischief and tampers with the express train. After that, the culprit begins to search every car to look for the two junior detectives. He desperately wants to get hold of the two kids and cause them harm. When the kids learn about this, they think that there is no place to run. But, being dedicated detectives, they know how to handle a difficult situation like this. Also, they can take help from the agents to get rid of this man. This book too received a great love from parents, librarians, and teachers all over the world. They gave excellent reviews on various literary platforms and helped it to become widely successful.

Ron Roy is a noteworthy American writer of mystery books and children’s fiction stories. He is particularly famous for writing the Calendar Mysteries, Capital Mysteries, and A to Z Mysteries series. Author Ron was born as Wallace Ronald Roy on April 29, 1940, in Hartford, Connecticut, United States. He was brought up in East Hartford. Throughout his life, he has resided in Connecticut. Prior to beginning a career in the field of writing, Roy used to teach 4th-grade kids at school. He left the teaching profession in 1978 when he published his first novel. Since then, he has been working as a full-time author. The first few books of his career were picture books.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Capital Mysteries

Leave a Reply