Book Notification

Captain Alatriste Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Captain Alatriste Books

Captain Alatriste (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Purity of Blood (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sun Over Breda (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King's Gold (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cavalier in the Yellow Doublet (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pirates of the Levant (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Captain Alatriste (Series by Arturo Perez-Reverte) is one of the best historical novels that you will love reading. Arturo Perez-Reverte was born on 25th November 1951 in Cartagena. He is a Spanish nationality who once worked as a war correspondent for RTVE. He was also a war corresponded as from 1973 to 1994 which is a period of 21 years. He did his first novel in in around 1986 and it was entitled “El hussar” that was set in the wars of Napoleonic. Besides being a novelist, he is also a journalist. Currently, he is a member of the Royal Spanish Academy since the 12thJune 2003. He has done several novels that have greatly impressed all his readers. As a journalist, he wrote for the now-defunct newspaper and also for the Television Espanola. He decided to quit journalism when he became very weary of the internal affairs at the TVE. This gave him the chance to fully dedicate his entire life as a writer. Carlota, his teenage daughter was announced as the co-author of his pioneer Alatriste novel. He resides in between his native Cartagena and La Navata which is close to Madrid. They are allies with Javier Marias who gave the title of Duke of Corso to Perez-Reverte of the micro nation known as Kingdom of Redonda. He has also attained several awards like the Premio Gregor Von Rezzori award for foreign fiction that was translated into Italian, hence he became the winner in 2008 with the book “The Painter of Battles”.

After dedicating his entire life to writing, he has always ensured that all the novels meets the required standards by the readers. Most of his novels have their settings around the Mediterranean and in Spain. Captain Alatriste (Series by Arturo Perez-Reverte) has a total of seven novels with the earliest book being published in 1996 and the latest being published 2011. These pioneer and the last books of the series are entitled “El Capitan Alatriste” and the “El Punente de los asesinos’ respectively. The books are very entertaining and I case you need something to keep you busy, then this is the perfect series that will make your day. The second book of the series is known as “Limpieza de sangre” that was published in 1997.

El capitan Alatriste

This is the genesis novel of Captain Alatriste (Series by Arturo Perez-Revert). The book was published in 1996. The main characters in the book are Diego Alatriste and Gualterio Malatesta who is an Italian sword for hire. They have just been paid to commit a murder. They have been given some cash by two mysterious masked character so that they can finish two visitors from England who have just arrived in the city of Madrid. This just comes at the time that news reaches in the city that the Spanish Siege of Bergen –op- zoom has been currently repelled. They two ruthless men are very determined to carry out the murder of the two English men. This is because they have to pay for the penny that have just been handed by the two mysterious masked characters. The book talks about how the two carried out the murder and once investigation begins, it is quite difficult to find the murderer of the two English men. All these happens during the height of Spain’s celebrated golden century. During this era is when the Invincible Armada has just been defeated. This makes the shadow of the inquisition to appear larger. This therefore makes the 30 years of war rages on in Flanders. It is in this army that captain Diego Alatriste has just been forced to retire. This is because he has been wounded in the battle and he therefore returns homes so that he can stay the comparatively tame. Once he gets in the city, he is hired together with his friend. On the night they carry out the attack, it turns about that there are no more ordinary travelers. It is now clear that someone is after killing them. The next thing that happens is that in a series of reverting twists, there are so many questions that remains unanswered in the courts of Europe.

This is just but an overview of the book that provides you with what happens in the begging. To enjoy the story, you need to find your own copy at the nearest bookshop or library. The books are also available online where you will be able to find both used and new books at quite affordable prices.

Limpieza de Sangre

This is the second book of the series Captain Alatriste. The book was published in 1997 and up to date, it has highly been rated by its readers. In the book, we find about a mysterious story of a woman who is found dead. On her body, they find some coins that should be used on the messes for her fault as mentioned on the note found together with the coins. On the other hand, a great friend of Captain Alatriste is in need of his help about a dangerous enterprise. Things are not very well during this moment and the son of the dead woman who is known as Inigo is caught on the net of the Holly Inquisition. All these are taking place in around 17th century in the city of Madrid. This is the time king Phillip IV is trying to reign despite being the time of intrigue, higher percentage of money being handled by few people and also a time of sword fighting. Captain Alatriste therefore stands in for his people to ensure their safety. Despite him being ruthless, faithless and ironic, he is also described as kind hearted and wants to ensure that each and every person gets what he or she deserves. He ensures that none of the unarmed people are killed during this time of difficulty in the city of Madrid.

The above summary is just for giving you some hints about what the book entails. To get and read the entire story, go online today and make your order for the book. You can also read these smart novels online. These are the books you don’t want miss reading.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Captain Alatriste

Leave a Reply