Book Notification

Captain Heimrich Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Captain Heimrich Books

By: Frances Lockridge, Richard Lockridge
Think of Death (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Want to Go Home (1948)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spin Your Web, Lady (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spin Your Web, Lady (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spin Your Web, Lady! (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon
Foggy, Foggy Death (1950)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Client is Cancelled (1951)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death by Association / Trial by Terror (1952)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stand Up And Die (1953)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death and the Gentle Bull / Killer in the Straw (1954)Description / Buy at Amazon
Burnt Offering (1955)Description / Buy at Amazon
Let Dead Enough Alone (1955)Description / Buy at Amazon
Practise to Deceive (1957)Description / Buy at Amazon
Practise to Deceive (1957)Description / Buy at Amazon
Practice to Deceive (1957)Description / Buy at Amazon
Accent on Murder (1958)Description / Buy at Amazon
Show Red For Danger (1960)Description / Buy at Amazon
With One Stone / No Dignity in Death (1961)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Distant Clue (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon
First Come, First Kill (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Can't Wait (1964)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Roundabout (1966)Description / Buy at Amazon
With Option to Die (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Risky Way to Kill (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inspector's Holiday (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
Not I Said The Sparrow (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Run (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tenth Life (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Run (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Captain Heimrich” series by Richard & Frances Lockridge is from the mystery and suspense genres.

Captain Heimrich first appeared in the second Mr. and Mrs. North novel, called “Murder out of Turn”. He would guest star another Mr. and Mrs. North books (called “Death of a Tall Man”), before getting his own series. This is when “Think of Death” was published in the year 1947. The series ended in the year 1977, when “The Tenth Life” was published. He later gets the name of Merton, and starts out a lieutenant, before being promoted to captain.

“Foggy, Foggy Death” is the third novel in the “Captain Heimrich” series, which was released in the year 1950. Many officials focusing on the different happenings in Poundridge, New York as the Bromwells have a Cadillac and some jewels stolen from them. As well as a small son vanishing and a killing on their hands.

Captain Heimrich of the state’s criminal investigation comes in, to link each of the events together and solve another killing. Household hopscotch, troubled marriage, and a meddlesome mother make for a horrible weather problem.

These two always create some of the best characters you will read about in fiction. Fans of the novel found this to be an enjoyable and solid mystery. The atmosphere seems to match the surrounding neighborhood, since there is not as much humor present, as there is in much of the Lockridge books. These are some great light mysteries from the forties, fifties, and sixties, and show what mystery novels looked like at one time.

“Death by Association” is the fifth novel in the “Captain Heimrich” series, which was released in the year 1952. A young girl wriggles in her white dress in a tiny nightclub in Key West. The music thumps, and the wriggling gets more and more emphatic. The sailors in the dimly lit and smoky room start to chant.

The elite Coral Isles Hotel is packed with people on vacation. Bronson Wells (a former communist who turned a red hunter) is one of them, until they found him dead.

There is no obvious link between the murdered Wells and the girl with the snake hips. Captain Heimrich was able to find one, though. The sordid business that gave the girl a good reason to kill. Heimrich is able to find many others that hated the former communist.

Someone among these bitter and wronged people is the killer, and Heimrich is certain he can find the killer. It was actually the killer, with a knife in hand, who was able to find Heimrich.

Fans of the novel found this has some great descriptions of the territory that is not Heimrich’s usual stomping grounds. Like most great mystery novels, you are kept wondering who the killer is until the very end of the story.

“Stand Up and Die” is the sixth novel in the “Captain Heimrich” series, which was released in the year 1953. She was such a beautiful blonde that it was unfortunate that she was dead. Right when a good looking Marine, who was just out of the service, met her in Westchester County. She had an equally beautiful younger sister, and an invalid grandma; she was in the upper income tax bracket.

Naturally, there was a doctor who was prescribing for grandmother as well as a lawyer taking care of the mammon’s needs. Not to mention Captain Heimrich from the State Police investigating the murder.

The young Marine did not have the situation well in hand. Grandma forgot her pills and stood up to die. You will be surprised at whodunit.

Fans of the novel find every book that this pair writes to be a winner, and this is just one of the many examples of this. The books are stellar reads and some have a tough time putting them down for very long.

“Deathand the Gentle Bull” is the seventh novel in the “Captain Heimrich” series, which was released in the year 1954. Meet Deep Meadow Prince, who is worth six figures and an Aberdeen Angus, and supposed to be one of the gentlest bulls since Ferdinand. It would be hard to believe that he was actually a killer, and Heimrich is one that is skeptical too. Especially after Prince’s owner, Margaret Landcraft, is found the stall, after being trampled to death during a party that was in Westchester County.

He is wondering too about Harvey and Wade (Margaret’s two kids) who wanted to turn the bull into money than carrying on with Angus breeding. Others that are preoccupied with more than just bovine affairs are the sons’ ladies, Arnold Thayer (who is a rival breeder), different neighbors, and hands working on the Landcraft farm.

Fans of the novel found that these authors are incredible at delivering quirky characters inside of a fun mystery. This one features an ingenious killing method.

“Practice to Deceive” is the tenth novel in the “Captain Heimrich” series, which was released in the year 1957. Going to meet a possible client, Susan Faye (an interior decorator) has to stop at a motel because of the weather. She is surprised by a meeting that goes differently than she expected. The client is at the motel, but has been murdered.

Olive Senley is her name. She is a wealthy woman, and a sophisticated lovely. Her past unfolds like a many-splendored thing, all in the hands of Captain Heimrich’s capable hands. Heimrich gets called into action by Susan, the woman he is, at the very least, informally engaged.

Susan’s Great Dane, named Colonel, plays a very important role in things, as it is his barking that starts the uproar that leads to finding Mrs. Senley’s body. Her first two husbands have their suspicious parts to them, and her devoted third husband was stuck on his estate due to a washed out bridge during the murder.

Fans of the novel found this to be another compelling read that builds to an incredible reveal to who the killer is. Readers cannot stop reading these books until they have gotten to the very end, as they wind up just wanting to know the killer’s identity.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Captain Heimrich

Leave a Reply