Book Notification

Carl Ashmore Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Time Hunters Books

The Time Hunters (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Time Hunters and the Box of Eternity (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Time Hunters and the Spear of Fate (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Time Hunters and the Sword of Ages (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Time Hunters and the Lost City (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Time Hunters and the Wraith's Revenge (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Time Hunters and the Odin Horn (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Time Hunters and the Blessed Isle (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Zak Fisher Books

Zak Fisher and the Angel Prophecy (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Night They Nicked Saint Nick (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bernard and the Bibble (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Rhyme and Reason (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Carl Ashmore was born in Crewe, Cheshire on August 17, 1968. He is a graduate of Bournemouth University.

Before he became a writer, he worked as a lecturer in media and film at Burslem College and for Granada Television.

In the year 2006, he penned the first draft of “The Time Hunters” while he was on a one year sabbatical to live in the South West of France.

Carl feels his novel “Bernard and the Bibble”, is probably the most important story he is ever going to write. He got the idea on the day his dad, Bernard Ashmore, died from a heart condition. Carl began writing it just two days after his funeral. In a way, it helped him cope with the first stages of grief, while creating the astonishing world that became the Lower Levels helped him distance himself from all the pain of the real world.

That being said, in no way is the novel a gloomy or sad story. He believes it is filled with optimism, fun, and hope, as well as reflecting his dad’s own philosophy about how life truly is for living.

Carl likes Marvel comics, Naan breads, alternative music, chives, and coriander. He is terrible at fixing stuff.

Carl writes the “Time Hunters” series and some stand alone work. His debut novel, called “The Time Hunters”, was released in the year 2010. He writes children’s fiction.

“The Time Hunters” is the first novel in “The Time Hunters” series and was released in the year 2010. Becky is your typical thirteen year old girl. She enjoys gossiping, Facebook, and getting plenty of sleep. When she and Joe, her brother, get invited to stay with their crazy Uncle Percy out at his stately home, she believes that it is going to be the worst summer ever.

What she doesn’t know yet is that Bowen Hall is also the home to two Sabre-tooth tigers, a baby Triceratops, and Will Scarlet (the mythic hero).

This takes our four heroes: Percy, Will, Joe, and Becky on a quest through time in order to locate the legendary Golden Fleece.

Carl does a magnificent job of creating an alternative history that is both engaging and believable. There is plenty of action and some outstanding characters. Readers were hooked right from the first page and didn’t stop reading until they had finished the entire thing.

“The Time Hunters and the Box of Eternity” is the second novel in “The Time Hunters” series and was released in the year 2011. Joe and Becky go back to Bowen Hall for the half term holidays to find that things are as unusual as ever. That is obviously to be expected when you share a stately home with a winged horse, a dinosaur, two Sabre-tooth tigers, a dodo called Deirdre (Bowen Hall’s newest resident), and Will Scarlet. Things get even more intriguing when Bruce Westbrook, an American time traveler, shows up with two gold doubloons that appear to possess some odd supernatural powers.

This starts a thrilling adventure that takes Joe, Becky, Uncle Percy, and Will to the eighteenth Century Caribbean, Victorian Edinburgh, and Chicago during the twenties. They battle pirates, gangsters, zombie sharks, and sea-monsters on a quest for the Pandora’s Box of legend.

The clock is still ticking.

Readers found this to be a fast moving and action packed tale and continues the story brilliantly. It is clear that Carl does extensive research in order to make these books as accurate as possible. There is a smart plot, unique premise, and a lot of fun to be had.

“The Time Hunters and the Spear of Fate” is the third novel in “The Time Hunters” series and was released in the year 2013. It is Christmas time and Joe and Becky Mellor have come back to Bowen Hall in order the annual GITT Christmas Party- The Enchantment Beneath the Sea Dance. But, the party comes to a horrifying and sudden end, they get thrust into a quest for the all-powerful Spear of Fate.

So starts a rather electrifying adventure that leads Joe, Becky, Will, and Uncle Percy into the depths of the Indian Ocean, to the deserts of Ancient Egypt, and the peaks of the Himalayas. All the while, they battle Yetis, Mummies, and even a villain that Uncle Percy refers to as ‘the vilest monster that’s ever walked around the earth’.

The clock ticks on.

This is another magnificent adventure packed with intrigue, action, and some captivating characters. For some, their favorite element of these books is the way Carl incorporates certain historical locations, characters, and events in the books. Carl is even able to incorporate them in a way that makes you believe these stories could be a part of his formerly untold life story.

“The Time Hunters and the Sword of Ages” is the fourth novel in “The Time Hunters” series and was released in the year 2014. After one horrifying encounter with Emerson Drake, Joe and Becky go back to Bowen Hall for the Easter Holidays. It all appears rather normal until they meet a young Irishman, named Shamus Cusack, with a stunning story to tell. They become pitched into a quest for the fourth Eden Relic, the Sword of Ages.

A thrilling story that sends our heroes to Medieval England, fifties Italy, and the subterranean caves at Loch Ness.

The clock is now winding down.

“Bernard and the Bibble” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2012. Bernard Williams, nine years old, has a very serious heart condition. He lives a lonely and sad life until he meets up with Fungal Durgeblatter, a most grouchy Bibble. He goes off on a quest in order to retrieve the stolen Bibble Gold. But is he going to be able to survive this adventure?

Join Fungal and Bernard while they crawl right through the Bumbletum Tree right into a magical underground kingdom. The Lower Levels: it is a world of Gutwangers, Manglewabbles, and Flufflevelly Pudgestackers. Here is world where a snail is able to sprint faster than a spider and flowers taste of pizza. It is a world where miracles happen.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Carl Ashmore

2 Responses to “Carl Ashmore”

  1. Mary: 3 years ago

    Is there a second book to the Zak Fisher novels?

    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      Not at this time.


Leave a Reply