Book Notification

Carmel Harrington Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Beyond Grace’s Rainbow (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Life You Left (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Every Time a Bell Rings (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Things I Should Have Told You (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Woman at 72 Derry Lane (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Feet: The Lost Years (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Thousand Roads Home (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Pear-Shaped Life (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Moon Over Kilmore Quay (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Mother's Heart (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lighthouse Secret (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Carmel Harrington is a bestselling romance novelist from Wexford, Ireland, whose novel won the Kindle Book of the Year Award. The author was born to an English mother and an Irish father in London but moved to Wexford when she was ten. It took quite a while before she got used to it as the culture shock was too great.

She would move away from Wexford as an adult to go earn a living in the city, where she worked for 3M, an international sales and marketing company for years. When that no job no longer felt fulfilling, she quit and relocated from Dublin back to Wexford to start a family and become an author.

Harrington has made a name for herself writing uplifting and warm stories with hope, heart and humor. They are usually stories of life, love, friendships and family within twisting complex plots. She has won the Romantic ebook of the year and the Kindle Book of the year for her debut novel “Beyond Grace’s Rainbow.”
Aside from her writing, she has appeared regularly on the Elaine show as a panelist and is also the cofounder of the writing and coaching retreat “The Inspiration Project.”

Working for a sales and marketing company, Carmel Harrington used to work long hours. This is to be expected given that she worked for one of the largest sales and marketing firms in the world. She used to manage accounts all across Ireland and spend much of her week visiting clients.
It was a demanding job as she hardly spent more than a few days in one place. She knew that when she eventually decided to start a family with her boyfriend Roger, that the job would not work for them.

She wanted to be a parent and hence with the backing and support of her husband, she became an aspiring writer and mother all at the same time. Initially, she wrote in secret and never took it too seriously.

But then one night watching Amelia her baby daughter sleep, she vowed to make her dreams come true. She needed to show Amelia how to be fearless when she grew up and there was no way she could do that if she did not follow her dreams.

Even though Carmel Harrington has gone on to become a very successful author winning several awards, she has never had any kind of writer training. However, she used to and still does practice her writing in one way or another every single day. She has found that blogging helps a lot in improving her style.
Just like many authors, she always dreamed of one day becoming an author. Still, she let her life get in the way of pursuing this ambition but once she started she could not stop. Harrington got inspired to write her debut from the story of her best friend who happens to be adopted.

Talking with her friend about the dynamics of not knowing one’s biological family medical history, triggered the idea of exploring the relationship of an adopted child and her birth mother. She surprised herself when her debut novel became a bestselling and award winning title.

Even though she got away from the hectic world of traveling and busy life, she finds herself back in it. Ever since she signed with Harper Collins, she has become a very busy woman juggling family and her career as an author.

“Beyond Grace’s Rainbow” the debut novel by Carmel Harrington is a book of extremes that will have one either crying with sadness or with laughter. The lead in the novel is a thirty something single mother named Grace. The father of Jack, her son, is an alcoholic that never provides for him and has never set his eyes on him.

When Grace gets a leukemia diagnosis, all her friends step in to help her with her son. She has a lively bunch of friends that include the nurse and doctor couple Tara and Sean who are trying for a baby; the gay couple Gerry and Tom; and the desperate for love artist Abby.

This is a novel that covers the emotive issues of adoption and cancer. What is great about it is that it provides an emotional story even as she just gives enough medical information without overwhelming its readers. Harrington also handles adoption in a very sensitive manner, which makes for a great combination of thrill and emotion.

Carmel Harrington’s novel “The Woman at 72 Derry Lane” follows three characters that include Rea, a woman that cannot leave her house, Stella who is in a terrible marriage and a young girl named Skye. Stella and Rea are neighbors who are concerned about Stella’s marriage.

At the start of the novel, the women do not know each other but when they finally become friends, things start moving very fast. Stella Green lives in the suburbs of Dublin with Matt, her successful husband and outward appearances indicate that they are the perfect couple who have it all.

Next door to her is Rea Brady who is a bad-tempered and gruff woman that is hardly seen except for when she is adjusting her net curtains. Most people believe she has lost her marbles but appearances can be deceiving.

When Rea and Stella’s worlds collide, they realize they have a lot more in common as they are both trapped in a prison they made for themselves. They both realize that they had all along had help next door.

“A Thousand Roads Home” by Carmel Harrington opens with Ruth Wilde fleeing to Dublin from Wexford. In Dublin, She bakes a minecraft for DJ her son that comes out really bad. But he does not care and appreciates what his mother does for him.

But things get worse when Seamus Kearns, their landlord, evicts them from their home and they are forced to apply for council housing. Erica, a kindly woman, offers them temporary housing at her hotel, where they meet all manner of people with similar housing challenges.

There is a former doctor from Wexford named Tom O’Grady now homeless in Dublin alongside Bette Davis, his devoted dog. DJ and Ruth cross paths with the doctor and their lives are changed forever.

But Ruth is an obsessive woman who has a lot of anxieties but her son is her focus as she is determined to do her best for him.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Carmel Harrington

Leave a Reply