Book Notification

Carol Burnett Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

What I Want to Be When I Grow Up (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
One More Time: A Memoir (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Carrie and Me: A Mother-Daughter Love Story (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Such Good Company (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Art of Bob Mackie(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Carol Burnett is an actor, comedian, talk show host, and bestselling memoirist from the United States.

The author was born in San Antonio Texas in 1933 to Ina Louise and Joseph Burnett. Following the divorce of her parents during the 1930s, she moved to Hollywood California, where she lived with Mabel Eudora her grandmother.
Burnett went to Hollywood High School where she graduated in 1951 before proceeding to the University of California, where she studied English and theater arts since she aspired to be a playwright.
Upon graduating from university, she moved to New York City with Don Saroyan her boyfriend hoping to break into acting.

She got much of her popularity through specials and TV guest appearances before she was offered her comedy-variety program in 1967 popularly known as “The Carol Burnett Show.”
The latter would become so popular that it aired for more than a decade before it was scrapped. Burnett has also been featured in several Broadway feature films. She published “One More Time” her autobiography in 1986.
In 2013, she was honored with the most respected awards for creativity in American art and culture in the Kennedy Center Honors.

It was in the 1950s that Carol Burnett made her first appearance on TV when she had a short stint on the children’s television program “The Winchell-Mahoney Show.”

Soon after she got a role on the Stanley sitcom where she starred alongside Buddy Hackett. In 1959 she started appearing more regularly on “The Garry Moore Show” and over the years she has been on several CBS specials.
When she started gaining much popularity she got an offer to launch “The Carol Burnett Show” in 1967. The typical show was usually a question-and-answer question session with the audience followed by broad comedy sketches and skits combined with humor.
After the show was cancelled in 1978 she returned in 1990 with the show Carol & Company. In addition to her TV show, she was featured in several films from the 1970s to the 2000s.

Burnett has also been involved in stage work which she started doing in 1959 with “Once Upon a Mattress” the Broadway musical.

“One More Time” her autobiography which came out in 1986 would become the source material for the Broadway-performed play “Hollywood Arms.”

Over several decades, she won many awards including the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2006, Golden Globe and Emmy Awards, and the American Comedy Awards.

As for her personal life, Carol Burnett is a three-time married woman who first got married in 1955 and split up with Joe Hamilton in 1962.

She would then marry Joe Hamilton in 1963 with whom she had three daughters Erin, Jody, and Carrie before they divorced in 1984. Since 2001 she has been married to Brian Miller.

In 2002, Burnett’s daughter Carrie died leaving her devastated. It was after this that she established the Pasadena Playhouse-based Carrie Hamilton Theatre in her daughter’s honor.

More than a decade after her loss, Burnett began exploring her relationship with her daughter, which would result in “Carrie and Me: A Mother-Daughter Love Story,” a memoir that she published in 2013.
The work detailed her struggles with addiction and how she fought valiantly against cancer.

Carol Burnett’s “This Time Together” is a hilarious and touching memoir that can also be irreverent, funny, and irresistible.

In this work, Carol lets down her hair to tell one touching or funny or memorable story after another that it feels like sitting down to swap stories with an old friend.
She throws in engaging anecdotes as she discusses the beautiful friendships she has with the likes of Julie Andrews, Jimmy Stewart, Cary Grant, and Lucille Ball.
She tells the stories of the background happenings behind famous scenes from skits such as “Went With the Wind.”

Some very interesting things have happened to the author such as the Julie Andrews prank, which happened right in front of the First Lady.

Carol also tells of the time she got out of a mugging by making the famous “Tarzan Yell” and the time she pretended to have a fake leg so that she would get served first in a packed ice cream emporium.
It is a poignant look that lets us into her life as we share her success and her sorrows and get to laugh with her.

In “Such Good Company” Carol Burnett the author tells a laugh-out-loud behind-the-scenes happenings of “The Carol Burnett Show.”

In this work, she pulls back the curtain on the Emmy Award-winning show that was one of the most popular during its decade-long run.

She reminisces about the outrageously tender and funny moments that made the series as fun watching it as it was working it. Burnett dives into little-known stories of the improvisations, sketches, and guests who made the show what it was.
It also includes some popular tales that were too good not to be relived.

The author rewatched more than 200 episodes and made screen grabs of her favorite video stills to showcase the improvisational magic and the chemistry of the actors that made the show popular.
Carol puts the spotlight on everyone from the impressive list of guests and her costars and puts forth a lively portrait of the creativity and talent that went into making each episode exceptional.
With typical wit and comic timing, she tells of how she hired Tim Conway, Harvey Korman, Lyle Waggoner, and Vicki Lawrence.

She also shares anecdotes about her close friends and guest stars such as Betty White, Lucile Ball, Rita Hayworth, and Roddy McDowell.
Burnett also offers her take on the unpredictable moments and her favorite sketches that took both viewers and cast by surprise.

Carol Burnett’s novel “Carrie and Me” introduces Carrie Hamilton an extraordinary young woman. She was the daughter of one of the most beloved and recognizable television stars Carol Burnett.
Just like her mother, she won the hearts of just about everyone with her quirky sense of humor, kindness, and unconventional approach to life.

Living during a time when personal struggles were kept under wraps even in the spotlight of celebrity, Carola and Carrie showcase incredible honesty and love by going public about Carrie’s recovery from drug addiction.
Carrie lived much of her life as an adult fully sober and achieved a successful career as a director, actress, musician, and writer enjoying determined independence and happiness.
Her humor and passion for life would never wane even as she fought cancer and died aged 38.

The work is a poignant tribute to her Carrie and a moving and funny memoir about parenting a young but very extraordinary woman through the triumphs and struggles of her life.
She shares her personal correspondence, photographs, and diary entries as she traces the journey she took with her daughter through some of the sweetest miracles and toughest challenges.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Carol Burnett

Leave a Reply