Book Notification

Carol McGrath Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Daughters Of Hastings Books

The Handfasted Wife (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Swan-Daughter (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Betrothed Sister (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Rose Trilogy Books

The Silken Rose (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Damask Rose (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Woman in the Shadows / Mistress Cromwell (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stolen Crown (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Sex and Sexuality in Tudor England (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Castles, Customs, and Kings(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Castles, Customs, and Kings Volume 2(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Carol McGrath is an English published author of fiction.

She used to be a teacher and now is a well recognized author! Carol used to work at Bicesters Cooper School teaching her students about history. She would feature the Bayeux Tapestry as part of her lessons, showing the students pictures of this piece of this Norman Conquest Art. When Carol took a trip to France and saw the tapestry in real life, she got to thinking, particularly wondering about the scenes it had with three women. It would prove to be a basis of inspiration for her first novel.

Carol then decided that she wanted to pursue a Masters of Philosophy in creative writing and research at the University of London. She had finally stumbled upon a story that she would like to write. She first attended Queens University Belfast, where she studied and graduated with her degree in English and History. She would then attend the Seamus Heaney Centre at Queens University Belfast and get her MA in creative writing. Ultimately she would then get her degree from University of London at The Royal Holloway. today she is married to her husband and they reside together in Oxfordshire.

McGrath’s first novel to be published in print for readers to enjoy was titled The Handfasted Wife. It was published in 2013. It would prove to be the first story out of three in the Daughters of Hastings trilogy. The historical fiction takes place years back in the past in 1066 in the first story, with the tale being told from noble women’s perspective. It was a best seller, as were the two novels that came after.

The author writes historical fiction and nonfiction in addition to romance and when she isn’t busy writing something new, she likes to travel and speak. She is an in demand speaker for conferences and events. In September of 2016, she served as the coordinator for the Historical Novels’ Society Conference in Oxford. She also reviews books for the Historical Novel Society, as she is an active reader with a passion for books in addition to being an author. Carol belongs to the Romantic Novelists’ Association as well as the Historical Writers Association.

Carol McGrath created and wrote the Daughters of Hastings series. These fictional novels make up a trilogy about royal women from 1066. The first novel made the short list for the RoNAS in 2014. The second installment of the trilogy was titled The Swan-Daughter, with the third novel The Betrothed Sister making this series complete.

The Handfasted Wife is the first novel in the Daughters of Hastings series by author Carol McGrath. If you love historical fiction, then be sure to give this debut story in a moving trilogy a try!

This is the tale of the Norman Conquest, told through the eyes of main character Edith Swanneck. Also going by Elditha, she is the common law wife of Harold. When Harold is made the king in 1066, Edith is put to the side for the purposes of an upcoming political marriage. She wants nothing more than to try and manage her own future and act as a shield to her children if she can.

Edith is moved to William’s camp after her estate is ransacked, right on the Battle of Hastings’ eve. Later, tragedy strikes and things get even worse when she learns that Harold may have died. She goes to the battlefield and confirms that the body there is indeed that of Harold’s. She also despairs when her youngest son falls into a bad situation as the Normans take him hostage.

Elditha is also lured with the promise of her son possibly being imparted into the care of a Breton knight, but does not trust the promise and sidesteps an arranged marriage. Forced to rely on her own strength of will to rescue her son, she makes her way through England to try and reach Dublin. There she will attempt to make contact with her other sons and recruit them to help her. But even the best-made plans of humans can go awry.

Gytha is Harold’s mother and she lives in Exeter along with other women of the aristocracy. This includes Elditha’s oldest daughter, who is currently in danger. Will Elditha return to Exeter to see her, where a resistance is burgeoning? The women are prepared to stand up to a siege by William, and while the burghers are initially behind them it all starts to fall apart after three bad weeks, whereupon they negotiated for their treasure’s exile and removal.

Elditha goes to a convent to be safe, and while taking sanctuary she will find that she unexpectedly may have a chance to see her youngest son again. Will things turn around for this woman in a time marked by so much strife? Read this historical novel to find out what happens!

The Swan-Daughter is the best selling second novel in the Daughters of Hastings series by Carol McGrath. If you loved the first book or just enjoy historical fiction, look into getting a copy of this tale set in the 11th century.

When it comes to arranged marriages, sometimes you just have to roll with the punches. In this case, the year is 1075. The Dowager Queen Edith has officially passed away, and Gunnhild wants nothing more than to get out of here and leave the place known as Wilton Abbey behind.

Meanwhile, she is being courted by Count Alan of Richmond, the Breton knight that is surely going to ask for her hand in marriage. He certainly seems interested enough, but is it in the inheritance she has from her father King Harold and from Edith Swan-Neck, or is he infatuated with her for who she is? It’s likely that it’s the riches, but only time will tell.

Meanwhile, Gunnhild must figure out whether she has feelings for the Count, or whether she’s made an error in thinking that this was a love for the ages. A romantic tale woven in high stakes times, can Gunnhild make the right decision? Or will everything quickly go wrong? Read this exciting second installment of the series to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Carol McGrath

One Response to “Carol McGrath”

  1. Margaret Lavender: 2 years ago

    Please Carol, more novels set in the medieval times!! Love the Silk and Damask Roses books and looking forward to Isabelle of France as the 3rd She-Wolf. The people of any years from Eleanor of Aquitaine in the 1100s to Elizabeth Woodville in the 1460s etc. Please!


Leave a Reply