Book Notification

Caroline Fardig Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lizzie Hart Mysteries Books

It's Just a Little Crush (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
That Old Black Magic (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bad Medicine (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Funny Valentine (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wedding Bell Blues (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of A Java Jive Mystery Books

Death Before Decaf (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mug Shot (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Whole Latte Murder (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brew or Die (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Over Mochas (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Ellie Matthews Books

Bitter Past (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Eye for an Eye (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Sprint (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Parted by Death (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sins of the Father (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Southern B&B Mystery Books

Southern Discomfort (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Southern Harm (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Southern Double Cross (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Year-Round Trouble(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Caroline Fardig, author of the USA Today Bestelling Java Jive Mysteries Series as well as the Lizzie Hart Mysteries books has had a bit of an odd career. Having grown up in a small town in Indiana, Fardig worked has a schoolteacher, church organist, insurance agent, funeral parlor associate and with the most difficult job in the world to finish – being a stay-at-home mom – all before becoming a writer. At present, Caroline Fardig still lives in that same small Indiana town with her husband, two kids, two dogs and one cat.

Her two most popular series, as mentioned before, are the Lizzie Hart Mysteries and the Java Jive Mysteries series. Aside from that, Bad Medicine was named one of the “Best Books of 2015” that was published by Suspense Magazine.

The first book in her earliest series, the Lizzie Hart Mysteries series, is It is Just a Little Crush. Taking place in the sleepy town of Liberty, It’s Just a Little Crush is the first appearance of the huge gossip and amateur sleuth Lizzie Hart, a copy editor with a huge crush on the new investigative reporter, Blake Morgan. Once the two find a co-worker dead in an odd turn of events, Lizzie Hart must gossip, sleuth and work her way into finding her way to the truth. It is Just a Little Crush is the first time readers of Fardig’s were introduced to the dark humor and quirky nature of the world of Lizzie Hart and the characters they contain.

After the events of It s Just a Little Crush, Lizzie Hart returns in That Old Black Magic. This time, Lizzie Hart finds herself wrapped up in another murder mystery that her newspaper, the Liberty Chronicle, is quick to pounce on. With another murder, a romantic subplot and a coven of Wiccans all in the mix, That Old Black Magic is another return into Fardig’s style and the second in the Lizzie Hart Mysteries series.

It brings back Lizzie Hart in the best of ways with her humorous and sassy dialogue really running the show. Readers have commented that they always root for Lizzie Hart, not just to solve the mystery or reveal the truth behind her beloved gossip, but to find the man of her dreams. With four total books in the Lizzie Hart series at present, each new adventure puts Lizzie Hart right back into the hot seat with a murder mystery to solve and shows off her dynamic and clever personality, especially when contrasted to the diverse cast of characters she is often working with or pinned up against. Whether she gets the hunk, gets the killer, does her job well or bumbles it, she is always an entertaining and sympathetic figure to readers. Since Fardig’s introduction of Lizzie Hart in It is Just a Little Crush, she has proven to be a dynamic and entertaining character and one that will hopefully appear in more Fardig novels in the future.

Fardig’s second mystery series, the Java Jive series, features another walk into Fargig’s sense of humor and world of murder mysteries left to the titular female protagonist to solve. Death Before Decaf, the first book in the Java Jive mystery series, introduces readers to Juliet Langely, a burned out musician who is forced to return to food service to land on her feet. Unfortunately for her, Juliet’s unfaithful fiancé ends up robbing her of most of her money and running off with her best waitress. This has Juliet heading back to Nashville to manage a good friend’s coffeehouse while she tries to get back on her feet – the titular Java Jive. Of course, as is the case with most Fardig novels, it is not long before a corpse is found outside the coffeehouse and Juliet Langley must do what she can to solve the mystery. It is another look into the witty dialogue and a strong female lead taking care of the business while the world falls apart around her.

Mug Shot, the second work of the Java Jive series, features Juliet Langley as the lead once again. Managing a coffeehouse once owned by her best friend, the former musician finds herself tangled up with managing the coffeehouse, preparing for an annual Holiday 5K Race that is arranged by her best friend’s somewhat unlikable girlfriend and then a murder mystery with damaging implications for all involved. Juliet Langley now finds herself fighting against the law, the debutantes and every other power in Nashville to help free her best friend and find the real killer. Juliet Langley now finds herself fighting against the law, the debutantes and every other power in Nashville to help free her best friend and find the real killer.

All of Fardig’s novels have received praise for witty dialogue, dark humor and truly good mysteries that keep readers guessing until the last page. Reviews for both of her series and individual books on sites like Amazon praise her cast of diverse and hilarious characters and the quality of the mysteries that she sets forth.

Like with Lizzie Hart, Juliet Langley proves to be a phenomenal character. With a great sense of humor and all the world falling on her shoulders in the most sympathetic of manners, each of Langley’s experiences in the Java Jive Mysteries series is not only entertaining but has readers hoping she will succeed in her endeavors. The dynamic cast of characters that she has to play off of as she finds her way through each situation and mystery bring the world of the Java Jive series to life in the best of ways, and readers continue to praise her character the further the series develops.

Caroline Fardig started out not knowing she wanted to be a writer, but has been praised as one that brings something interesting to the table. Whether it is her unique, entertaining and sympathetic female leads, the high quality mysteries she presents in each new installment of her series, or the general humor and intrigue behind her writing style, Fardig has earned many fans and accolades for some of her novels. More releases for both Lizzie Hart and the Java Jive series are planned for the future, and fans are excited to see more.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Caroline Fardig

Leave a Reply