Book Notification

Caroline Hanson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Valerie Dearborn Books

Love is Darkness (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love is Fear (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love is Mortal (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love Is The Beginning (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love is the Beginning is the original beginning to Love is Darkness. The author strongly recommends that you read the entire series prior to reading this alternate beginning to the series.

Publication Order of Megan Stephens Books

Bewitching the Werewolf (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Betwixt a Wolf and a Hard Place (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Helen Foster Books

A Lady Out of Time (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Lady Most Dangerous (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Rebecca Finner Books

Forgotten (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Remembered (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood and Infinity (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Coveted by the Infinite (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Mistresses of Mayfair Books

Caroline Hanson is a renowned author from the United States. She is best known for her Valerie Dearborn series, which has brought her much fame. The series has sold more than a hundred thousand copies. Other books she has written include Lady Out of Time and Bewitching the Werewolf. Since she was young, she has always been a fan of vampires. As a result, her book, especially the Valerie Dearborn series, are a reflection of what she loves most about vampires.

Hanson was born in California but moved to the United Kingdom where she spent much of her youth. After a number of years partying hard and dancing in the London pubs, she decided to return to the US. However, she did not return empty-handed; she came with a husband, with whom she has had two kids. Apart from parenting and writing novels, she managed to pass her bar exams. She is a now a lawyer, mom and she plays tennis during her free time.

Before she became an author, she loved reading vampire stories in her teenage years. These stories definitely inspired her to write her own vampire stories. At the time, she loved reading books by authors such as Jude Deveraux and Anne Rice. She is a romantic at heart and this can be seen in her stories. She always manages to come up with captivating novels that are full of romance. In addition to that, the books by this author are not the typical fight between good and evil, where the good triumphs in the end.

The first novel in her Valerie Dearborn series was named ‘Love Is Darkness’. The book mostly portrays what she loves about vampires. She once claimed in an interview that she thinks of vampires as being powerful and in control. She decided to give her vampire characters emotions and see what might happen if they were no longer in control. The book follows the life of a young girl, Valerie Dearborn. The girl wants to live a quit away from the life of vampire hunting with her father and her almost boyfriend ex. She moves to London and believes that those days in California are finally gone. However, things do not exactly pan out as she had planned. In London, Lucas, a 1600-year-old vampire King feels drawn to her. Besides having fangs and sucking the life out of his human victims, he happens to be very hot.

The Vampire King, Lucas makes Valerie an offer that is hard to refuse. He tells her helps him find out if other paranormal creatures such as Fey, Empaths and were wolves still exist. In return, he tells her he will continue giving protection to those she cares for. According to Lucas, all these creatures were quite harmful to the vampires. At one time, they had been engaged in a struggle for survival but the vampires won. However, among these creatures, Empaths were the most dangerous. These could totally cripple a vampire for eternity by messing with its emotions. All this they could do with just a though. Lucas tells Valerie that the Empaths are now thought to be extinct. However he leaves out a crucial detail, which is that Valerie is an Empath. For Valerie, the struggle is trying to lead a normal life, which had made her escape to London in the first place. However, now she has to juggle with trying to save the lives of those she cares for. In addition, Lucas has fallen for her. After spending about a century and a half without emotions, he yearns for Valerie’s love. Her dream for a boring, normal life now seems nothing more than a mirage. However, Valerie is not one to give up that easily. In her first book, there is no clear line between good and evil. Everything is left in the gray area. This is what absolutely sets the novel apart from the other vampire novels. Lucas in the end manages to seduce Valerie. However, this is far from what Valerie always wanted. This relationship is unlikely to last between the two. To Valerie, Lucas is too stone cold and emotionless. However, deep down Lucas will always be madly in love with Valerie.

The second novel in the series is titled ‘Love Is Fear’. However, this book is unlike anything ever written before. It manages to combine awesome action scenes with some sizzling romantic scenes. In the book, one falls in love at some point with the good guy then again with the bad guy. It is exhilarating to read and is full of emotions and romance. In this second book of the series, Valerie has finally given up chasing her emotionless crush, Lucas. Instead, she decides to pursue a more healthy relationship with Jack. They even manage to run away to Hawaii, where they can live a normal, boring life that Valerie always wanted. However, this is unlikely to work out in the end. Valerie is a free spirit, but Jack is too controlling, he is always trying to make Valerie be a certain way. His major advantage over Lucas is that he can breathe and he actually wants her.

An emotional love triangle spans the entire book. Although at some point Empaths had a purpose, now they just exist. In past times, the Empaths were crucial in maintaining peace between the werewolves, Vampires, and Fey. However, Lucas still needs Valerie. He thinks he may have found a Fey, whom he believes is crucial in controlling the vampires. However, he knows approaching them by himself is not an option. He believes that Valerie, an Empath is crucial to this entire peace deal. As the book progresses, Valerie is faced with the same old issues. Does she have a duty to humanity or does she owe herself a chance at a normal life. However, she is not sure if she will even be alive long enough to enjoy her normal life. In the end, it does really work out between her and the human boyfriend Jack. However, this is far from the end of the romantic turbulence. The love triangle continues in this four-part series by the author Caroline Hanson.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Caroline Hanson

Leave a Reply