Book Notification

Caroline Stevermer Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cecelia and Kate Books

with Patricia C. Wrede
Sorcery & Cecelia, or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Grand Tour (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mislaid Magician (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of A College of Magics Books

A College of Magics (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
When The King Comes Home (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Scholar of Magics (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Duke and the Veil (As: C.J. Stevermer) (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Serpent's Egg (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
River Rats (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Magic Below Stairs (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Glass Magician (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Alchemist Books

as C.J. Stevermer
The Duke and the Veil (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Borgia (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Snow White, Blood Red(1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Coyote Road: Trickster Tales(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Caroline Stevermer
Caroline Stevermer is a young adult fantasy writer who began writing stories in her notebooks since she was eight. While she spent most of her childhood on a dairy farm, far away from civilization, her writing proved to be a good outlet for her creative energy. Stevermer went to Bryn Mawr university and graduated with a B.A. in history of art. Over the years, she has held different professional jobs but continues to write in her free time. The talented author also enjoys going to museums and libraries. Currently, Stevermer lives in Minnesota.

A College of Magics
A College of Magics is the first book in A College of Magics series. The book stars Faris Nallaneen, a teenage girl and heir of Galazon dukedom. Because she is still too young to claim her birthright, her uncle Brinker rules in her place. When the uncle demands for Faris to be sent to Greenlaw College, it is clear that he wants her out of the way. However, he insists that this is for her good. Faris goes to this college anyway only to discover that Greenlaw is no ordinary school. In this college, magic is taught as a major subject. Faris and her best friend Jane will soon learn that life in their new school is not all about magic and fun. When Faris becomes enemies with Menary of Aravill, it starts becoming evident that her life is in danger.

This feels like a three-in-one volume novel, and in a good way. The first volume cover life in Greenlaw college for Faris, Jane, and the rest of their friends. There is a lot of fun and adventure in this school, but for Faris, things get more intense when she leaves college. The second volume takes you through a travel adventure to Paris, among other outstanding destinations. This part is filled with intrigue, and it is fun reading about bombs that turn into hats with the right dose of magic. The third volume covers political machinations, a cover-up ball, and more magic. This third part of the book will draw you in and break your heart to a thousand pieces.

A lot about this book leans on responsibility and sacrifice. The author also lays a lot of emphasis on feelings, inner strength, and thoughts. All characters are lovable, even the not-so-good ones that only focus on their agenda. The characters will often surprise you, and the relationships they have with each other sound so deep and true. Friendship is a key theme here, and you will love how these relationships change as the girls get deeper into magic. However, the romance will destroy you, especially towards the end.

A College of Magics is an intriguing fantasy story filled with great characters, unforeseen twists and turns, and a bitter-sweet romance. The book is action-packed, so you can never have a dull moment. For Faris, college is just the beginning of her journey through political intrigue, friendship, family feuds, Europe, and magic. The book is skillfully plotted, well-balanced, and full of realistically faulted characters. With a narrative that flows smoothly, a rising pace and never-ending action, the author keeps you engrossed and glued to the pages from beginning up to the satisfying conclusion.

Magic Below Stairs
Magic Below Stairs tells the story of Fredrick, a young orphaned boy with magical hands and a heart of gold. Fredrick is raised in an orphanage before an opportunity opens up, and he becomes a footboy in the house of a famous wizard known as Lord Schofield. Here, he learns about cleaning boots, making perfect knots, and straightened wrinkled clothes. Everything Fredrick touches turns perfect, and his uncanny abilities earn him Lord Schofield’s attention. Does this boy have magical hands, or is this simply the work of Billy Bly, the man who raised Fredrick?

Well, because of how he does his job, and his kindness to everyone that crosses his path, Fredrick is promoted and given more responsibilities by his master. It is not long before his magical become noticeable. It continues to grow with each passing day. When the family moves to their country house as Thomas’s wife is about to give birth, they discover that the curse in this house is still active. At some point, Fredrick and Billy will have to save the Schofield family from this curse that threatens the family’s newest member. When they hear about the curse on the manor, they go to extra lengths to save the new baby and rid the family of the ancient curse.

Get to enjoy the awesome Schofield family. While the wizard banished magical creatures from his household, it is amazing that the same magic ends up saving his family in the end. The protagonist is easy to love, even though there is nothing unusual about him. Despite the harsh conditions he grows up in, he manages to stand out and tremendously improve his life. Billy and the rest of the cast is just as entertaining, and it is fun interacting with them throughout the story. The author has done a great job of fleshing them out, making it easy for the readers to identify with the cast. How does Fredrick break the curse? Will Thomas’s baby survive?

Magic Below Stairs is a perfect blend of fairy tale and magic creatures. The book is set in the Regency era when the rich took in slaves, and those who worked in these houses were happy doing so. The author focuses more on the servants than the masters, which makes the story even more interesting. There is never a dull moment in the Schofield household, and the characters are nothing but entertaining. Join Fredrick, Billy, and the rest of the cast on this adventure characterized magic and unending adventure. If you want a good children’s fantasy story perfect for middle graders, this book is perfect. The book is about 200 pages long and is ideal if you want a quick fun read that will transport you many decades in the past.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Caroline Stevermer

Leave a Reply