Book Notification

Carrie Fisher Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Suzanne Vale Books

Postcards from the Edge (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best Awful (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Surrender the Pink (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Delusions of Grandma (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Wishful Drinking (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shockaholic (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Princess Diarist (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Emperor's New Clothes: An All-Star Retelling of the Classic Fairy Tale(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Carrie Fisher

The inimitable American screen icon Carrie Fisher had this unique way of drawing people in, whether she was on the big screen, on the TV at home, or leaping off the pages of her books. Everybody remembers her as Princess Leia from ‘Star Wars’—that role wasn’t just a career highlight; it turned her into a permanent fixture in the world of film. And film fans know, she kept on captivating viewers as Leia even after she was gone, an impression few manage to leave.

Whenever discussing films with die-hard followings, Carrie’s name comes up because of her parts in ‘Shampoo’ and ‘The Blues Brothers.’ Then she’d appear on a show like ’30 Rock’ or ‘Catastrophe,’ really making a name for herself in the process.

But Carrie was so much more than her film roles. She wrote—the kind of writing that turns the heads of critics and readers alike. She had her book, ‘Postcards from the Edge,’ and for those who saw ‘Wishful Drinking’ live, they understood she could hold a room like nobody’s business. She wore her heart on her sleeve, tackling her mental health and addiction battles head-on, especially in ‘Bright Lights,’ her intimate doc with her mother, Debbie Reynolds.

When 2016 saw her passing, she would get plenty of recognition. She was recognized as a Disney Legend, got a star on the Walk of Fame, and people from every corner of the world celebrate her life and her honesty. Her story isn’t just remembered—it’s a living, breathing inspiration that reminds everyone of the sheer force of her personality and talent.

Early and Personal Life

Carrie Fisher arrived in the heart of Hollywood on October 21, 1956, daughter to stars Debbie Reynolds and Eddie Fisher. She quickly made a name for herself with her own artistic gifts as a writer and actress. From Broadway’s bright lights to Hollywood’s cinematic canvas, Fisher infused her creative passion into every endeavor. Her vivid personal life—marked by liaisons with the likes of Paul Simon and Bryan Lourd—was brightened further by the arrival of her daughter, Billie Lourd.

An outspoken advocate, Carrie bravely shared her struggles with mental health and addiction, lending a powerful voice to destigmatize these issues and championing the causes she held dear. Her candid nature brought honesty to her art and advocacy, deeply influencing both communities.

With a legacy defined by creativity, bravery, and influence, Carrie Fisher’s life was celebrated with a Hollywood Walk of Fame star – a lasting tribute to her spirited journey and the indelible imprint she left on the world. Her legacy endures, echoing her unique spirit and the scope of her accomplishments.

Acting Career

Carrie Fisher’s breakthrough came with ‘Shampoo’ in 1975, but it was her role as Princess Leia in 1977’s ‘Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope’ that catapulted her to stardom. She played Leia across multiple ‘Star Wars’ films and took on diverse parts in other movies like ‘The Blues Brothers’ and ‘Hannah and Her Sisters.’ Fisher was also an accomplished writer; her novel “Postcards from the Edge” topped bestseller lists.

Her creative range included screenwriting and her acclaimed solo show ‘Wishful Drinking.’ Fisher revisited her iconic Leia role in ‘The Force Awakens,’ was seen in ‘The Last Jedi,’ and appeared posthumously in ‘The Rise of Skywalker.’ Her writing prowess continued with ‘The Princess Diarist,’ which won her a Grammy.

The documentary ‘Bright Lights: Starring Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds’ gave an intimate look at her life. Her final projects included the 2023 film ‘Wonderwell’ and a pending appearance in ‘Urban Myths.’

Writing Career

Carrie Fisher’s flair for writing shone as brightly as her acting talent. Her literary debut with the raw, autobiographical ‘Postcards from the Edge’ in 1987 set the stage, which she later adapted into a screenplay. Her sharp wit and openness resonated in her fiction work, including titles like ‘Surrender the Pink’ and ‘Delusions of Grandma.’

Turning to memoirs, she captured audiences with ‘Wishful Drinking,’ drawn from her successful stage production, and her candid nature pervaded later works such as ‘Shockaholic’ and ‘The Princess Diarist.’ Fisher’s voice could also be heard breathing life into Shakespearean sonnets, showcasing the breadth of her contributions to the arts.

Postcards from the Edge

‘Postcards from the Edge,’ authored by Carrie Fisher, was first published in 1987 by Simon & Schuster. This novel introduced readers to the character Suzanne Vale. Fisher revisited Vale’s story in her 2004 follow-up novel, ‘The Best Awful There Is.’

Carrie Fisher entices readers with a glimpse into the Hollywood lifestyle, weaving humor and candidness throughout her narrative. The story focuses on Suzanne Vale, a thirty-year-old actress grappling with drug addiction. As Suzanne works to reclaim her place in the industry, she experiences the ups and downs of romance.

Fisher’s portrayal encapsulates the chaos and charm of Hollywood through Vale’s journey.

Wishful Drinking

Carrie Fisher’s memoir ‘Wishful Drinking’ was published by Simon & Schuster in 2008. The book provides Fisher’s foray into the non-fiction genre, drawing from her own experiences. The publication offered an introspective look, penned by Fisher herself, into her unique life.

Carrie Fisher delivers a candid recount of her life, marked by humor and stark honesty. Thrust into fame as Princess Leia in ‘Star Wars’ at 19, she navigated more than just intergalactic battles. Her journey through addiction, bipolar disorder, and stints in mental health facilities intertwines with personal anecdotes of star-studded family dynamics, relationship challenges, and waking up beside a deceased friend.

Fisher’s narrative captures the complexities of her life beyond the screen and stage.

The Princess Diarist

‘The Princess Diarist,’ penned by Carrie Fisher, was released in 2016 by Blue Rider Press. This memoir marks the final addition to Fisher’s collection of published works. It stands as a testament to her ability to captivate readers with her literary voice, leaving an important and powerful legacy.

Here Carrie Fisher unveils her youthful journals from the “Star Wars” set, filled with poignant poetry and frank reflections. At the time, Fisher was a teenager experiencing an intense crush on co-star Harrison Ford. The memoir shares behind-the-scenes moments from the iconic movie, blended with Fisher’s thoughts on fame and her life as Hollywood royalty-turned-galactic princess.

Her writing is infused with humor and honesty, providing an intimate glimpse into her early career and inner world. This book is the perfect final footnote to an already stellar career, marking Fisher as one of the all time greats of her generation.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Carrie Fisher

Leave a Reply